Nobody Better, Better Than Nobody

by Ian Frazier (Author)
Excerpt
EPUB
Unlimited loans, 2 years, One at a time
Details
EPUB
Unlimited loans, 2 years, One at a time
Details

Nobody Better, Better Than Nobody is a collection of five extended essays that appeared in The New Yorker from 1978 to 1986. In the tradition of A. J. Liebling and Joseph Mitchell, Frazier raises journalism to high literary art. His vivid stories showcase a strange and wonderful parade of American life, from portraits of Heloise, the syndicated household-hints columnist, and Jim Deren, the urban fly-fisher's guru, to small-town residents in western Kansas preparing to celebrate a historic, mutual massacre, to which they invite the Cheyenne Indians' descendants with the promise of free bowling.

Publication date
September 30, 2003
Publisher
Page count
192
ISBN
9781466828773
Paper ISBN
9780312422851