Masterworks of George Enescu

by Pascal Bentoiu (Author), Lory Wallfisch (Translator)

Often considered Romania's greatest musical force and a significant mind of the 20th century, composer George Enescu (1881-1955) achieved international fame and succeeded in incorporating Romanian spirituality into worldwide culture. Masterworks of George Enescu provides a profound and very detailed analysis of more than 25 of this important composer's most representative works. Translated from musicologist Pascal Bentoiu's Romanian publication, Lory Wallfisch presents this vital work for the first time to English-speaking audiences, providing the worldwide public with the tools to understand and enjoy Enescu's music.

Bentoiu presents a kind of travel diary through Enescu's creative legacy, offering a comprehensive, well-documented, knowledgeable, and generously illustrated analytical study of the composer's greatest masterpieces. Works such as the Romanian Rhapsodies, the Second Suite for Orchestra,
Vox Maris, Impressions d'Enfance, his opera Oedipe, and several sonatas and quartets are carefully examined and admired for their substance and their ability to add dignity to the musical world. The works are presented chronologically, considering their conceptual realization as well as their inception and completion. Illustrated with more than 400 musical examples, this impressive study is a perfect guide toward the thorough enjoyment of Enescu's masterpieces.

Book details

Publication date
September 16, 2010
Page count
Paper ISBN
File size
13 MB