The Danger Within Us

The Danger Within Us

by Jeanne Lenzer (Author), Jeanne Lenzer (Narrateur)
AUDIOBOOK
unlimited loans, 2 years, One at a time
Details

Did you know...

Medical interventions have become the third leading cause of death in America.

An estimated 10 percent of Americans are implanted with medical devices -- like pacemakers, artificial hips, cardiac stents, etc.

The overwhelming majority of high-risk implanted devices have never undergone a single clinical trial.

In The Danger Within Us, award-winning journalist Jeanne Lenzer brings these horrifying statistics to life through the story of one working class man who, after his "cure" nearly kills him, ends up in a battle for justice against the medical establishment.

His crusade leads Lenzer on a journey through the dark underbelly of the medical device industry, a fascinating and disturbing world that hasn't been written about before. What Lenzer exposes will shock readers: rampant corruption, elaborate cover-ups, shameless profiteering, and astonishing lack of oversight, all of which leads to dangerous devices (from artificial hips to pacemakers) going to market and into our bodies.

In the vein of America's Bitter Pill and A Civil Action, The Danger Within Us is a stirring call for reform and a must-read for anyone who cares about the future of American healthcare.

"Before you get anything implanted in your body, read this book."-Shannon Brownlee, author of Overtreated

Book Details

Publication Date
December 12, 2017
Publisher
ISBN
9781478905226
Paper ISBN
9780316343763