Achieving sustainable cultivation of cocoa

There is a growing demand for cocoa. However, cultivation is dependent on ageing trees with low yields and increasing vulnerability to disease. There is growing concern about the environmental impact of cultivation in areas soil health and biodiversity. There is therefore an urgent need to make cocoa cultivation more efficient and sustainable to ensure a successful future. These challenges are addressed in Achieving sustainable cultivation of cocoa.

Part 1 reviews genetic resources and developments in breeding. Part 2 discusses optimising cultivation techniques to make the most of new varieties. Part 3 summaries the latest research on understanding and combatting the major fungal and viral diseases affecting cocoa. Part 4 covers safety and quality issues whilst the final part of the book looks at ways of improving sustainability, including the role of agro-forestry, organic cultivation and ways of supporting smallholders.

With its distinguished editor and international range of expert authors, this collection will be a standard reference for cocoa scientists, growers and processors.

Book details

Dr Ranjana Bhattacharjee (Collaborator), Dr Malachy Akoroda (Collaborator), Dr Brigitte Laliberté (Collaborator), Dr Michelle End (Collaborator), Dr Nicholas Cryer (Collaborator), Dr Andrew Daymond (Collaborator), Dr Jan Engels (Collaborator), Dr Albertus Bernardus Eskes (Collaborator), Dr Martin Gilmour (Collaborator), Dr Philippe Lachenaud (Collaborator), Dr Wilbert Phillips-Mora (Collaborator), Dr Chris Turnbull (Collaborator), Prof. Pathmanathan Umaharan (Collaborator), Dr Dapeng Zhang (Collaborator), Dr Stephan Weise (Collaborator), Dr Lambert A. Motilal (Collaborator), Dr Dario Ahnert (Collaborator), Dr Rob Lockwood (Collaborator), Dr Augusto Roberto Sena Gomes (Collaborator), Dr George Andrade Sodré (Collaborator), Dr Mark Guiltinan (Collaborator), Prof. Siela Maximova (Collaborator), Dr Richard Asare (Collaborator), Dr Victor Afari-Sefa (Collaborator), Dr Sander Muilerman (Collaborator), Dr Gilbert J. Anim-Kwapong (Collaborator), Dr Didier Snoeck (Collaborator), Dr Bernard Dubos (Collaborator), Dr Jorge Teodoro De Souza (Collaborator), Dr Fernando Pereira Monteiro (Collaborator), Dr Maria Alves Ferreira (Collaborator), Dr Karina Peres Gramacho (Collaborator), Dr Edna Dora Martins Newman Luz (Collaborator), Dr Ulrike Krauss (Collaborator), Dr David I. Guest (Collaborator), Dr Philip J. Keane (Collaborator), Dr Leila Bagny Beilhe (Collaborator), Dr Régis Babin (Collaborator), Dr Martijn ten Hoopen (Collaborator), Dr Samuel Orisajo (Collaborator), Dr Christian Cilas (Collaborator), Dr Olivier Sounigo (Collaborator), Dr Bruno Efombagn (Collaborator), Dr Salomon Nyassé (Collaborator), Dr Mathias Tahi (Collaborator), Dr Sarah M. Bharath (Collaborator), Dr M. A. Rutherford (Collaborator), Dr J. Crozier (Collaborator), Dr J. Flood (Collaborator), Dr S. Sastroutomo (Collaborator), Dr Mary A. Egbuta (Collaborator), Dr Darin A. Sukha (Collaborator), Naailah A. Ali (Collaborator), Dr Christian Bunn (Collaborator), Dr Fabio Castro (Collaborator), Dr Mark Lundy (Collaborator), Dr Peter Läderach (Collaborator), Dr Eduardo Somarriba (Collaborator), Dr Luis Orozco-Aguilar (Collaborator), Dr Rolando Cerda (Collaborator), Dr Arlene López-Sampson (Collaborator), Dr Amanda Berlan (Collaborator), Dr Verina Ingram (Collaborator), Dr Yuca Waarts (Collaborator), Dr Fedes van Rijn (Collaborator), Dr Paul Macek (Collaborator), Dr Upoma Husain (Collaborator), Dr Krystal Werner (Collaborator)
Publication date
August 09, 2018
Page count