The Heptameron

by Margaret of Queen (Author)
unlimited loans, One at a time

Published in 1558, ten years after the author's death, "The Heptameron" is an unfinished work inspired by the "Decameron" by Giovanni Boccaccio, containing seventy-two short stories written in French by Marguerite de Navarre, Queen of Navarre and sister of Francois I. The story begins with five gentlemen and five lady travelers who find themselves stranded in a small town in the Pyrenees, and decide to entertain themselves through story-telling, which rapidly evolves into an all-out verbal battle between the sexes. Shocking to many modern readers, "The Heptameron" is a fascinating glimpse into sixteenth century notions of love, lust, infidelity and other sexual matters. It is believed that many of these stories were taken directly from members of the court of Francois I; however, fictional or true, it is certain that this book will delight, offend and educate readers today as it has for centuries.

Book Details

Publication Date
January 01, 2010