The Detective & the Chinese High-Fin

by Michael Craven (Author)
EPUB
26 loans, One at a time
Details

Finalist for the 2017 Shamus Award

Michael Craven, author of The Detective & The Pipe Girl, delivers another mystery—for fans of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen—featuring private detective John Darvelle, who must crack a cold case that pulls him into the high-stakes world of exotic fish collectors.

Private Detective John Darvelle is back—drinking cheap beer, playing ping-pong and sharing his philosophy on everything from work/life balance to restaurants with bad air-conditioning. (He doesn’t believe in the former, he despises the latter.)

Darvelle is hired to find the killer of Keaton Fuller, a well-born Los Angeles man gunned down in his own driveway. The cops couldn’t solve the case, in part because everyone who came in contact with Keaton despised him. Translation: Anybody could have done it. Following a trail of the dead man’s betrayals, Darvelle finds himself in the exotic, high-stakes world of rare tropical fish. The fish are certainly valuable enough to kill for, but is there something more menacing going on?

As Darvelle relentlessly drives toward the truth, a showdown awaits that is at once riveting, visceral, and very, very dangerous. It’s a case only he could solve—just as long as he’s willing to put his life on the line.

Book details

Publication date
June 21, 2016
Publisher
Collection
Page count
336
ISBN
9780062439383
Paper ISBN
9780062439376