Nurse, Come You Here!

by Mary J. MacLeod (Author)
EPUB
unlimited loans, 2 years, One at a time
Details

From the author of Call the Nurse, come new tales of a London nurse working to help and heal a community on a remote Scottish island. Lively, touching, engaging reading for fans of Call the Midwife and All Creatures Great and Small.

"Julia MacLeod shares unique and enchanting experiences as a nurse in rural Scotland. Her stories will ring true with every nurse?or anyone?who has ever cared for a family or a community, whether in Scotland or America. Call the Nurse is a delightful read.” ?LeAnn Thieman, author Chicken Soup for the Nurse's Soul

Mary J. Macleod and her husband left the London area for an idyllic place to raise their young children in the late sixties, and they found the island of Papavray in the Scottish Hebrides. There they bought a croft house on a "small acre" of land, and Mary J. (also known as Julia) became the district nurse. At the age of eighty, she first recounted her family's adventures in her debut, Call the Nurse, where she introduced readers to the austere beauties of the island and the hardy charm and warmth of the islanders.

The anecdotes in this new volume take us to the end of her stay on Papavray, after which the MacLeod family left for California. Once again, we meet the crofters Archie, Mary, and Fergie, and other friends. There are stories of troubles, joy, and tragedy, of children lost and found, the cow that wandered into the kitchen, a distraught young mother who strides into the icy surf with her infant child, the ghostly apparition that returns after death to reveal the will in a sewing box. There are accidents and broken bones, twisters that come in from the sea, and acts of simple courage and uncommon generosity.

Here again, a nurse's compassion meets Gaelic fortitude in these true tales of a bygone era.

Book Details

Publication Date
May 05, 2015
Publisher
Collection
Page count
320
ISBN
9781628725438
Paper ISBN
9781628728996
File size
1 MB