The Very Thought of You

by Rosie Alison (Author)
EPUB
Unlimited loans, 2 years, One at a time
Details

“One of those books you’re likely to remember all your life.” ?Alexandra Shulman, Vogue (UK)

For readers of The Orphan Train and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes “not just a story of love but a story of loss, one whose voice will touch even the coldest of hearts.” ?BookPage

England, 31st August 1939: The world is on the brink of war. As Hitler prepares to invade Poland, thousands of children are evacuated from London to escape the impending Blitz. Torn from her mother, eight-year-old Anna Sands is relocated with other children to a large Yorkshire estate which has been opened up to evacuees by Thomas and Elizabeth Ashton, an enigmatic, childless couple. Soon Anna gets drawn into their unraveling relationship, seeing things that are not meant for her eyes and finding herself part-witness and part-accomplice to a love affair with unforeseen consequences.

A story of longing, loss, and complicated loyalties, combining a sweeping narrative with subtle psychological observation, The Very Thought of You is not just a love story but a story about love.

Book details

Publication date
July 05, 2011
Publisher
Page count
336
ISBN
9781451613988
Paper ISBN
9781451613971
File size
2 MB