Middle Eastern literature

Best Selling

Language

All

English (24)

French (9)

German (0)

Spanish (1)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (2)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (3)

 

Origin

Delete Middle Eastern literature

 

Fiction

Literary (13)

Mystery & Detective (6)

Thrillers (2)

Science Fiction (1)

Espionage (1)

Short Stories (1)

 

Audience

Adult (24)

 

Origin

Israeli (15)

Turkish (4)

Egyptian (2)

Persian (1)

 

Publisher

 

Total Loans

All (13)

20 - 40 (13)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 24 of 24 Sorted by : 

The Hilltop: A Novel

by Assaf Gavron Scribner (October 07, 2014)

Mordantly funny and deeply moving, this award-winning novel about life in a West Bank settlement has been hailed as “brilliant” (The New York Times Book Review) and “The Great Israeli Novel [in which]...


Tel Aviv Noir

by Assaf Gavron, Etgar Keret, Matan Hermoni & Silje Bekeng et al. Akashic Books (September 15, 2014)

Keret and Gavron masterfully assemble some of Israel's top contemporary writers into a compulsively readable collection.


Asylum City

by Liad Shoham Harper (December 09, 2014)

In this edgy thriller from the #1 international bestselling author of Lineup, which was described by New York Times bestselling author Joseph Finder as "a marvel of tight plotting, spare prose, and relentless...


Lily la Tigresse

by Alona Kimhi & Dalya Bilu Dalkey Archive Press (November 14, 2013)

The hilarious second novel from actress and bestselling novelist Alona Kimhi holds up a comically warped mirror to contemporary Israel, as well as the very notion of “chick lit.”  The hilarious second...


Death of Lysanda: Two Novellas

by Yitzhak Orpaz, Richard Flint & David Zaraf Dalkey Archive Press (April 02, 2013)

This volume collects two macabre novellas by one of Israel’s greatest authors: The Death of Lysanda, which tells the story of a taxidermist heading steadily into insanity, and Ants, about an invasion of household...


A Possibility of Violence

Avraham Avraham #2

by D. A. Mishani Harper (July 01, 2014)

Haunted by the past and his own limitations, Israeli Detective Avraham Avraham must stop a criminal ruthless enough to target children in this evocative and gripping tale of mystery and psychological suspense...


Children of the Jacaranda Tree: A Novel

by Sahar Delijani Atria Books (June 18, 2013)

New York Times bestselling author Khaled Hosseini says, “Set in post-revolutionary Iran, Sahar Delijani’s gripping novel is a blistering indictment of tyranny, a poignant tribute to those who bear the scars...


Lineup

by Liad Shoham Harper (September 03, 2013)

Liad Shoham, the #1 bestselling author in Israel, makes his American debut with Lineup—a superbly plotted, uncompromising crime thriller.

 

A brutal rape in a quiet Tel Aviv neighborhood has the police baffled....


The Missing File

Avraham Avraham #1

by D. A. Mishani Harper (March 19, 2013)

In The Missing File, Israeli detective Avraham Avraham must find a teenage boy gone missing from the suburbs of Tel Aviv in this first volume in a fresh new literary crime series by D. A. Mishani.

Crimes in Avraham’s...


We Are All Equally Far from Love

by Adania Shibli & Paul Starkey Clockroot Books (November 07, 2012)

A new award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of Touch

A young woman, asked at work to write a letter to an older man, does as she is told. So begins an enigmatic but passionate love affair conducted entirely...


Kin

by Dror Burstein & Dalya Bilu Dalkey Archive Press (November 13, 2012)

Emil, the unwanted child of two young parents, is adopted by Yoel and Leah, a childless couple. Yet, as the years pass, it becomes clear that Emil doesn't bear much resemblance to the parents who've loved and...


The Few

by Hakan GUNDAY & Alexander Dawe Arcade (March 27, 2018)

“I am here. Where are you?” These desperate words link the two protagonists of Hakan Günday’s raw and fearless novel The Few. Derdâ is an eleven-year-old girl pulled out of boarding school by her...


The Time of Mute Swans

by Ece Temelkuran Arcade (November 07, 2017)

Ankara, the capital city in the heart of Turkey at the crossroads of Europe and Asia, East and West, is a hotspot in the Cold War, torn between communism and conservatism, Western freedoms and traditional ways,...


The Pasha of Cuisine

by Saygin Ersin & Mark Wyers Arcade (September 04, 2018)

For readers of Ken Follett's Kingsbridge series and Richard C. Morais's The Hundred-Foot Journey, a sweeping tale of love and the magic of food set during the Ottoman Empire.

A Pasha of Cuisine is a rare talent...


A Spy in Exile

by Jonathan de Shalit Atria/Emily Bestler Books (February 05, 2019)

“Thrilling.”—The Wall Street Journal

From the author of the internationally bestselling “supremely effective, cunningly crafted” (The Providence Journal) thriller Traitor, a cerebral and suspenseful...


Death in Shangri-La

by Yigal Zur Oceanview Publishing (August 07, 2018)

Perfect for fans of Nelson DeMille and Daniel Silva

Ex-Israeli operative turned private investigator, Dotan Naor—to settle a bet—agrees to locate the missing son of former acquaintance, now ruthless Israeli...


Unholy Land

by Lavie Tidhar Tachyon Publications (November 06, 2018)

The author of the critically acclaimed, Campbell Award-winning Central Station returns with a subversive new novel evoking The Yiddish Policemen's Union and The City and the City.

When pulp-fiction writer Lior...


I Die by This Country

by Fawzia Zouari, Skyler Artes & Susan Ireland University of Virginia Press (April 11, 2018)

The first novel available to English readers by Fawzia Zouari, one of the most important North African authors writing today, begins with an emergency crew’s arrival at a Parisian apartment. Two emaciated...


The Lost Puzzler

by Eyal Kless Harper Voyager (January 08, 2019)

A brilliantly written, page-turning, post-dystopian debut from Eyal Kless, about a society hoping to salvage the technology of a lost generation, a mysterious missing boy who can open doors no one else can,...


The Man Who Wanted to Know Everything

Avraham Avraham #3

by D. A. Mishani Harper Paperbacks (November 08, 2016)

Inspector Avraham Avraham is back in this sequel to the acclaimed thrillers A Possibility of Violence and The Missing File—internationally bestselling author D. A. Mishani’s The Man Who Wanted to Know Everything...


Hotel Bosphorus

by Esmahan Aykol & Ruth Whitehouse Bitter Lemon Press (June 21, 2011)

A film director is murdered in Istanbul. The heroine and accidental investigator is the owner of a mystery bookshop.


The Yacoubian Building

by Alaa Al Aswany HarperCollins e-books (March 17, 2009)

August Book Sense Pick

A fading aristocrat and self-proclaimed ‘scientist of women.’ A purring, voluptuous siren. A young shop-girl enduring the clammy touch of her boss and hating herself for accepting the...


Lies, First Person

by Gail Hareven & Dalya Bilu Open Letter (January 19, 2015)

From the Best Translated Book Award–winning author, a novel of revenge, insanity, lies, and Hitler.


Alexandrian Summer

by Yitzhak Gormezano Goren, Yardenne Greenspan & André Aciman New Vessel Press (April 27, 2015)

Love, lust, and the convulsions of history surge through this dazzling novel about the vanished cosmopolitan world of Alexandria.