Germanophone literature

Best Selling

Language

All

English (39)

French (86)

German (0)

Spanish (2)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (2)

 

Origin

Delete Germanophone literature

 

Fiction

Literary (13)

Thrillers (10)

Mystery & Detective (9)

Fantasy (5)

Historical (1)

Horror (1)

 

Audience

Adult (39)

 

Publisher

Zaffre (8)

Bitter Lemon Press (5)

 

Total Loans

All (20)

20 - 40 (20)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 39 of 39 Sorted by : 

Zodiac Station

Zodiac Station #1

by Tom Harper Harper Paperbacks (May 26, 2015)

For fans of Dan Brown and Michael Crichton—an eerie, evocative thriller set in the unforgiving Arctic from the author of The Orpheus Descent.

Deep in the Arctic, the US Coast Guard icebreaker Terra Nova batters...


Whole of Life

by Jürg Laederach & Geoffrey C. Howes Dalkey Archive Press (December 05, 2013)

With tongue resolutely in cheek, saxophonist, critic, poet, and one-time enfant terrible of Swiss literature Jürg Laederach here pursues the ambition of forcing all of human existence into a single novel. In...


Snow Germans

by Dmitry Vachedin & Arch Tait Glas (September 15, 2013)

A repatriated Russian German soldier on a quest for vengeance must confront cultural and psychological problems in this metaphysical tale.


The Taste of Apple Seeds

by Katharina Hagena William Morrow Paperbacks (February 04, 2014)

Shimmering with the incandescence and irresistible magic of the novels of Alice Hoffman, Joanne Harris, and Aimee Bender, Katharina Hagena's smash international bestseller, The Taste of Apple Seeds, is a story...


Awakening to the Great Sleep War

by Gert Jonke & Jean M. Snook Dalkey Archive Press (December 27, 2012)

One of the loveliest riddles of Austrian literature is finally available in English translation: Gert Jonke's 1982 novel, Awakening to the Great Sleep War, is an expedition through a world in constant nervous...


Intrusions

by Ursula Hegi Touchstone (October 01, 2012)

Brilliantly stretching literary conventions, Ursula Hegi, author of the best-selling Stones from the River, creates a funny and original novel within a novel to explore the doubts, decisions, and "might-have-beens"...


The Russian Passenger

by Gunter Ohnemus & John Brownjohn Bitter Lemon Press (August 31, 2012)

A Russian mafia thriller, a road-movie adventure and an elegantly written love story.


The Fatherland Files

by Volker Kutscher Sandstone Press (May 09, 2019)

July 1932. When a drowned man is found in a freight elevator in Haus Vaterland, the giant pleasure palace on Potsdamer Platz, Inspector Gereon Rath is called in to investigate. It’s not that Rath hasn’t...


Hooligan

by Philipp Winkler Arcade (April 03, 2018)

We've all got two families: the one we're born with, and the one we choose ourselves. Heiko hasn't finished high school. His father is an alcoholic. His mother left. His housemate organizes illegal dogfights....


Elefant

by Martin Suter & Jamie Bulloch Fourth Estate (May 31, 2018)

The international bestseller about friendship, second chances, and a tiny glow-in-the-dark pink elephant

The most enjoyable novel I’ve read all year’ Elizabeth McKenzie, author of The Portable Veblen...


The Cleaner

by Elisabeth Herrmann Zaffre (May 15, 2018)

An unforgettable heroine hiding an unforgiveable past. An unforgettable thriller from multi-award winning international bestseller Elisabeth Herrmann. Dare you enter the world of . . . The Cleaner?

An unforgettable...


Cut

by Marc Raabe Zaffre (May 15, 2018)

Fast and furious - a stunning debut thriller for fans of Stieg Larsson

Fast and furious - a stunning debut thriller for fans of Stieg Larsson THE SERIAL KILLER THRILLER THAT TOOK EUROPE BY STORM At eleven years...


Dead Calm

by Inge Löhnig Zaffre (May 15, 2018)

Torture, betrayal and cruelty: an unsolved murder with consequences that will expose long-buried secrets and rip a family apart at the seams

A chilling Scandinavian thriller that surprises at every turn, perfect...


Heidelberg Requiem

by Wolfgang Burger Zaffre (May 15, 2018)

A gritty crime thriller from one of Europe's bestselling authors. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon, Andrea Camilleri and Ian Rankin.

FOR FANS OF DONNA LEON AND IAN RANKIN: A GRITTY, PAGE-TURNING CRIME THRILLER...


Field of Girls

by Martin Krist Zaffre (May 15, 2018)

A frightening, gripping and unputdownable thriller

A BESTSELLER IN EUROPE, FIELD OF GIRLS IS A TERRIFYING THRILLER FOR FANS OF JO NESBO AND SHARON BOLTON. She is young. She is beautiful. And no one heard her...


Sacrifice

by Hanna Winter Zaffre (May 29, 2018)

He must hunt her down. Kill her. Destroy her . . .

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER FOR FANS OF NICCI FRENCH, SOPHIE HANNAH AND KARIN SLAUGHTER. He must hunt her down. Kill her. Destroy her . . . In her very first...


The Shock

by Marc Raabe Zaffre (May 15, 2018)

From the international bestselling author of Cut comes a thriller that is guaranteed to keep you up all night . . .

A THRILLER THAT YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO PUT DOWN - FOR FANS OF TANIA CARVER AND M. J. ARLIDGE....


The Wages of Sin

by Inge Löhnig Zaffre (May 15, 2018)

The chilling thriller, full of twists

A woman wants only to forget. A man wants only to feel needed. A child disappears without a trace. A kidnapping, a murder or an accident? Among the villagers, fear spreads....


Daughter of the Dragon Tree

by Susanne Aernecke Inner Traditions/Bear & Company (December 04, 2018)

Two young women, with intertwined fates centuries apart, must protect the secret of the powerful, all-healing mushroom known as amakuna

• The gripping story includes mystical visions, shamanic rituals, past...


The Fate of the Dwarves

Dwarves saga #4

by Markus Heitz ORBIT (August 07, 2012)

The dwarves are going to battle for the last time.

There has been no word from the courageous warrior Tungdil since the bitter struggle at the Black Abyss. Dragons, magicians, and the cruel älfar have advanced...


Insane

by Rainald Goetz & Adrian Nathan West Fitzcarraldo Editions (October 18, 2017)

Translated for the first time into English, cult German author Rainald Goetz’s debut novel Insane draws upon his clinical psychiatric experience to paint a portrait of the asylum as a total institution. We...


The Dance by the Canal

by Kerstin Hensel & Jen Calleja Peirene Press (September 18, 2017)

A tragicomic satire from the heart of East Germany.

Gabriela grows up in the East German town of Leibnitz. Her father is a famous surgeon, her mother a respected society hostess. The girl, however, struggles...


The Last Summer

by Ricarda Huch & Jamie Bulloch Peirene Press (February 24, 2016)

A psychological thriller by the pioneering German writer Ricarda Huch. A novel of letters from the last century - but one with an astonishingly modern feel. Now for the first time in English..

Russia at the beginning...


The Snowman

by Jörg Fauser & Anthea Bell Bitter Lemon Press (February 01, 2005)

Paranoid fast paced thriller, how not to get rid of some Peruvian flake.


Displaced

by Stephan Abarbanell Harper (November 07, 2017)

Echoing the fiction of Joseph Kanon, Alan Furst, and Daniel Silva, this deeply intelligent debut literary thriller—set within a world still reeling from World War II—explores how the actions of a few can...


Fear

by Dirk Kurbjuweit Harper (October 03, 2017)

Fear shifts our moral codes. It makes us accessories to murder. A great achievement.” —Herman Koch, author of The Dinner

An acclaimed German writer makes his American debut with this gripping and sophisticated...


The Trick: A Novel

by Emanuel Bergmann Atria Books (September 19, 2017)

Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern-day Los Angeles, “The Trick is a lyrical, uplifting, and funny story that will tug at all of your heartstrings” (Armando Lucas Correa, bestselling author...


The Stronger Sex

by Hans Werner Kettenbach & Anthea Bell Bitter Lemon Press (May 17, 2011)

A young lawyer defends the indefensible: a lying, power obsessed adulterer and ruthless industrialist accused of wrongfully dismissing his mistress.


The Revenge of the Dwarves

Dwarves saga #3

by Markus Heitz ORBIT (November 03, 2011)

Though hailed a hero by his people, the course of life has not run smooth for the battle-weary Tungdil the dwarf. But there is no rest for this warrior yet - as he must now find the strength to face the most...


Black Ice

by Hans Werner Kettenbach & Anthea Bell Bitter Lemon Press (February 01, 2006)

An amateur investigation into Erika's watery death buys our anti-hero a ticket for a vertiginous ride.


David's Revenge

by Hans Werner Kettenbach & Anthea Bell Bitter Lemon Press (October 01, 2009)

A taut psychological thriller about a visitor from war-torn Georgia who brings paranoia to a peaceful family.


Woman of the Dead: A Novel

by Bernhard Aichner Scribner (August 25, 2015)

The #1 international bestseller praised as “one of the most arresting thrillers I’ve read in years” (#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner), Woman of the Dead is the darkly thrilling tale of...


Ice Cold

by Andrea Maria Schenkel Quercus (June 02, 2015)

Andrea Maria Schenkel's second novel Ice Cold recreates Munich, Germany in the 1930s to revisit a terrible crime, and offers thrilling crime fiction that draws on historical events. Ice Cold, like The Murder...


Look Who's Back

by Timur Vermes & Jamie Bulloch MacLehose Press (May 05, 2015)

"What would happen if Adolf Hitler woke up in modern-day Berlin? In a bestselling satirical novel, he'd end up a TV comedy star . . . [Look Who's Back] has unsurprisingly sparked debate in a country that has...


Whispering Shadows: A Novel

by Jan-Philipp Sendker Simon & Schuster (April 14, 2015)

In this first book of the Rising Dragon series, “explore a side of Hong Kong tourists rarely experience” (Kirkus Reviews) as an expat journalist tries to crack a murder case in the “darkly beautiful, heart-wrenching”...


The Swarm

by Frank Schatzing HarperCollins e-books (March 17, 2009)

Whales begin sinking ships. Toxic, eyeless crabs poison Long Island's water supply. The North Sea shelf collapses, killing thousands in Europe. Around the world, countries are beginning to feel the effects of...


The War of the Dwarves

Dwarves saga #2

by Markus Heitz ORBIT (March 23, 2010)

The dwarves have gone to battle and they have been victorious. But outside the realm, dark forces are at work.. .

A secret army of Orcs, made immortal by the hidden powers of the Black Water, now marches towards...


The Dwarves

Dwarves saga #1

by Markus Heitz ORBIT (November 03, 2009)

For countless millennia, the dwarves of the Fifthling Kingdom have defended the stone gateway into Girdlegard. Many and varied foes have hurled themselves against the portal and died attempting to breach it....


Righteous Fury

by Markus Heitz Jo Fletcher Books (February 10, 2015)

From the author of the bestselling fantasy series The Dwarves--which has sold over one million copies--come the dynamic new series The Legends of the Alfar. In Righteous Fury, the elves, dwarves and humans all...