Asian literature / Japanese literature

Best Selling

Language

All

English (23)

French (2)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (2)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (2)

 

Origin

Delete Japanese literature

 

Fiction

Mystery & Detective (9)

Literary (8)

Thrillers (2)

Horror (2)

Historical (1)

Short Stories (1)

 

Audience

Adult (23)

 

Publisher

St. Martin's Press (8)

 

Total Loans

All (16)

20 - 40 (0)

40 - 100 (16)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 23 of 23 Sorted by : 

Genocide of One: A Thriller

by Kazuaki Takano & Philip Gabriel Mulholland Books (December 02, 2014)

The internationally bestselling, award-winning Japanese thriller about a child who may be the future of the human race--or the cause of its extinction.

During a briefing in Washington D.C., the President is...


Malice

Kyoichiro Kaga #4

by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith St. Martin's Press (October 07, 2014)

"This smart and original mystery is a true page-turner… will baffle, surprise, and draw out suspicion until the final few pages. With each book, Higashino continues to elevate the modern mystery as an intense...


Confessions

by Kanae Minato & Stephen Snyder Mulholland Books (August 19, 2014)

Her pupils murdered her daughter. Now she will have her revenge.

After calling off her engagement in the wake of a tragic revelation, Yuko Moriguchi had nothing to live for except her only child, four-year-old...


Revenge

by Yoko Ogawa & Stephen Snyder Picador (January 29, 2013)

"It's not just Murakami but also the shadow of Borges that hovers over this mesmerizing book... [and] one may detect a slight bow to the American macabre of E.A. Poe. Ogawa stands on the shoulders of giants,...


Kiku's Prayer: A Novel

by Shusaku Endo & Van C. Gessel Columbia University Press (December 18, 2012)

Endo Shusaku was a renowned twentieth-century Japanese author who wrote from the unusual perspective of being both Japanese and Catholic. His work is often compared to that of Graham Greene, who himself considered...


Salvation of a Saint

Detective Galileo #5

by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith St. Martin's Press (October 02, 2012)

From the author of the internationally bestselling, award-winning The Devotion of Suspect X comes the latest novel featuring "Detective Galileo"

In 2011, The Devotion of Suspect X was a hit with critics and...


The Diving Pool

by Yoko Ogawa & Stephen Snyder Picador (January 22, 2008)

The first major English translation of one of contemporary Japan's bestselling and most celebrated authors

From Akutagawa Award-winning author Yoko Ogawa comes a haunting trio of novellas about love, fertility,...


The Devotion of Suspect X

Detective Galileo #3

by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith St. Martin's Press (February 01, 2011)

This e-book now includes preview chapters from Higashino's newest mystery, SALVATION OF A SAINT.

Yasuko Hanaoka is a divorced, single mother who thought she had finally escaped her abusive ex-husband Togashi....


The Housekeeper and the Professor

by Yoko Ogawa Picador (February 03, 2009)

Yoko Ogawa's The Housekeeper and the Professor is an enchanting story about what it means to live in the present, and about the curious equations that can create a family.

He is a brilliant math Professor with...


Hotel Iris

by Yoko Ogawa Picador (March 30, 2010)

A tale of twisted love from Yoko Ogawa—author of The Diving Pool and The Housekeeper and the Professor.

In a crumbling seaside hotel on the coast of Japan, quiet seventeen-year-old Mari works the front desk...


If Cats Disappeared from the World

by Genki Kawamura & Eric Selland Flatiron Books (March 12, 2019)

The international phenomenon that has sold more than two million copies, If Cats Disappeared from the World is a heartwarming, funny, and profound meditation on the meaning of life.

The young postman’s days...


Territory of Light

by Yuko Tsushima & Geraldine Harcourt Farrar, Straus and Giroux (February 12, 2019)

From one of the most significant contemporary Japanese writers, a haunting, dazzling novel of loss and rebirth

“Yuko Tsushima is one of the most important Japanese writers of her generation.” —Foumiko Kometani,...


Newcomer

Kyoichiro Kaga #8

by Keigo Higashino & Giles Murray St. Martin's Press (November 20, 2018)

* A New York Times Editor's Choice *

"Part Sherlock Holmes, part Harry Bosch, Higashino's hero is a quietly majestic force to be reckoned with." —Kirkus Reviews (starred)

International bestseller Keigo Higashino...


Seventeen

by Hideo Yokoyama & Louise Heal Kawai Farrar, Straus and Giroux (November 13, 2018)

A tense, powerful thriller from the bestselling author of Six Four

1985. Kazumasa Yuuki, a seasoned reporter at the North Kanto Times, runs a daily gauntlet of the power struggles and office politics that plague...


The End of the Moment We Had

by Toshiki Okada & Sam Malissa Pushkin Press (March 29, 2018)

Two brilliant, multi-layered stories from the winner of the Kenzaburo Oe Prize: part of our Japanese novella series, showcasing the best contemporary Japanese writing

In two stunning tales by novelist-playwright...


Soul Cage

by Tetsuya Honda St. Martin's Press (July 18, 2017)

A severed hand, a missing body, and a victim who was living under a false identity all add up to the most complex and challenging case yet for Homicide Detective Reiko Himekawa - in Tetsuya Honda's Soul Cage...


Manazuru

by Hiromi Kawakami & Michael Emmerich Counterpoint (November 01, 2017)

  • Kawakami is an author known and reviewed around the world
  • Manazuru received great praise when Counterpoint released it in 2010; the book already has reviews by Booklist, the Paris Review Daily, the Independent...

  • Strange Weather in Tokyo

    by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Markin Powell Counterpoint (November 01, 2017)

  • This is a reissue of a poetic, compact novel by celebrated Japanese author, Hiromi Kawakami (the original 2012 Counterpoint edition was titled The Briefcase (9781582435992); Strange Weather in Tokyo is the title...

  • Six Four

    by Hideo Yokoyama & Jonathan Lloyd-Davies Farrar, Straus and Giroux (February 07, 2017)

    Named one of the best books of 2017 by The New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, and Literary Hub. Winner of the Best Japanese Crime Fiction of the Year Award. One of Vulture's...


    Under the Midnight Sun

    by Keigo Higashino St. Martin's Press (November 08, 2016)

    From the acclaimed international bestseller Keigo Higashino (The Devotion of Suspect X) comes a sweeping novel in the tradition of Les Miserables and Crime and Punishment. This is the compelling story of a brutal...


    Moshi-Moshi: A Novel

    by Banana Yoshimoto & Asa Yoneda Counterpoint (December 01, 2016)

    In Moshi-Moshi, Yoshie’s much-loved musician father has died in a suicide pact with an unknown woman. It is only when Yoshie and her mother move to Shimo-kitazawa, a traditional Tokyo neighborhood of narrow...


    The Graveyard Apartment

    by Mariko Koike St. Martin's Press (October 11, 2016)

    One of the most popular writers working in Japan today, Mariko Koike is a recognized master of detective fiction and horror writing. Known in particular for her hybrid works that blend these styles with elements...


    A Midsummer's Equation

    Detective Galileo #6

    by Keigo Higashino St. Martin's Press (February 23, 2016)

    Manabu Yukawa, the physicist known as "Detective Galileo," has traveled to Hariguara, a once-popular summer resort town that has fallen on hard times. He is there to speak at a conference on a planned underwater...