Social science / Anthropology

Best Selling

Language

All

English (24)

French (7)

German (0)

Spanish (4)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (5)

Current year (24)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (1)

Current year (20)

 

Category

Delete Anthropology

 

Audience

Adult (24)

 

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Audio (5)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (12)

AUDIOBOOK (12)

 

Total Loans

All (8)

20 - 40 (0)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (8)

More options

Results : 1 - 24 of 24 Sorted by : 

Hungry

by Eve Turow-Paul & Taylor Meskimen Blackstone Publishing (September 08, 2020)

We wait in lines around the block for scoops of cookie dough. We photograph every meal. We visit selfie performance spaces and leave lucrative jobs to become farmers and craft brewers.

Why? What are we really...


Head, Hand, Heart

by David Goodhart Simon & Schuster Audio (September 08, 2020)

A TIMELY AND PROVOCATIVE ARGUMENT FROM LEADING POLITICAL ANALYST DAVID GOODHART ABOUT THE SEVERELY IMBALANCED DISTRIBUTION OF STATUS AND WORK IN WESTERN SOCIETIES.

The coronavirus pandemic revealed what we ought...


The WEIRDest People in the World

by Joseph Henrich Farrar, Straus and Giroux (September 07, 2020)

A bold, epic account of how the co-evolution of psychology and culture created the peculiar Western mind that has profoundly shaped the modern world.

Perhaps you are WEIRD: raised in a society that is Western,...


Transcendence

by Gaia Vince Basic Books (January 20, 2020)

In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our species

"A wondrous, visionary...


Blood Rites

by Barbara Ehrenreich Twelve (January 06, 2020)

A New York Times Notable BookAn ALA Notable Book

"Original and illuminating." --The Washington Post

What draws our species to war? What makes us see violence as a kind of sacred duty, or a ritual that boys must...


Head, Hand, Heart

by David Goodhart Free Press (September 08, 2020)

A TIMELY AND PROVOCATIVE ARGUMENT FROM LEADING POLITICAL ANALYST DAVID GOODHART ABOUT THE SEVERELY IMBALANCED DISTRIBUTION OF STATUS AND WORK IN WESTERN SOCIETIES.

The coronavirus pandemic revealed what we ought...


Bunker

by Bradley Garrett & Adam Sims Simon & Schuster Audio (August 04, 2020)

A thought-provoking, chilling, and eerily prescient look at “prepper” communities around the world that are building bunkers against a possible apocalypse.

Currently, 3.7 million Americans call themselves...


Bunker

by Bradley Garrett Scribner (August 04, 2020)

A thought-provoking, chilling, and eerily prescient look at “prepper” communities around the world that are building bunkers against a possible apocalypse.

Currently, 3.7 million Americans call themselves...


The Sensitives

by Oliver Broudy & Holter Graham Simon & Schuster Audio (July 14, 2020)

A compelling exploration of the mysteries of environmental toxicity and the community of “sensitives”--people with powerful, puzzling symptoms resulting from exposure to chemicals, fragrances, and cell phone...


Gatecrasher

by Ben Widdicombe & Steve West Simon & Schuster Audio (July 07, 2020)

A smart, gossipy, and very funny examination of celebrity culture from New York’s premiere social columnist.

Ben Widdicombe is the only writer to have worked for Page Six, TMZ, and The New York Times--an unusual...


Gatecrasher

by Ben Widdicombe Simon & Schuster (July 07, 2020)

A smart, gossipy, and very funny examination of celebrity culture from New York’s premiere social columnist.

Ben Widdicombe is the only writer to have worked for Page Six, TMZ, and The New York Times--an unusual...


The Sensitives

by Oliver Broudy Simon & Schuster (July 14, 2020)

A compelling exploration of the mysteries of environmental toxicity and the community of “sensitives”--people with powerful, puzzling symptoms resulting from exposure to chemicals, fragrances, and cell phone...


Buying Buddha, Selling Rumi

by Sophia Rose Arjana Oneworld Academic (August 04, 2020)

From jewellery to meditation pillows to tourist retreats, religious traditions - especially those of the East - are being commodified as never before. Imitated and rebranded as ‘New Age’ or ‘spiritual’,...


China's New Youth

by Alec Ash & Karoline Kan Arcade (June 02, 2020)

“Paints a telling portrait of this most restless generation raised in a system that has provided them with unprecedented personal opportunities while denying them political ones. . . . A gifted observer.”—...


Sovietistan

by Erika Fatland Pegasus Books (January 07, 2020)

Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan became free of the Soviet Union in 1991. But though they are new to modern statehood, this is a region rich in ancient history, culture, and landscapes...


Liar's Circus

by Carl Hoffman & Charles Constant HarperAudio (September 01, 2020)

"A brilliant, riveting, funny, terrifying journey into the beating heart of Trumpland." --Liza Mundy, author of Code Girls

In this daring work of immersive journalism, based on hundreds of hours of reporting,...


Sand Talk

by Tyson Yunkaporta HarperAudio (May 12, 2020)

A paradigm-shifting book in the vein of Sapiens that brings a crucial Indigenous perspective to historical and cultural issues of history, education, money, power, and sustainability--and offers a new template...


Lucy

by Donald C. Johanson & Maitland Edey Early Man Publishing Company (February 18, 2020)

The story of the discovery of "Lucy"--the oldest, best-preserved skeleton of any erect-walking human ancestor ever found.

When Donald Johanson found a partial skeleton, approximately 3.5 million years old, in...


The Will to Change

by bell hooks & Janina Edwards Simon & Schuster Audio (February 11, 2020)

Everyone needs to love and be loved -- even men. But to know love, men must be able to look at the ways that patriarchal culture keeps them from knowing themselves, from being in touch with their feelings, from...


First, They Erased Our Name

Holy Disunity

by Layton E. Williams, Kate Mulligan & Diana Butler Bass Blackstone Publishing (January 07, 2020)

These days, there's no dirtier word than "divisive," especially in religious and political circles. Claiming a controversial opinion, talking about our differences, even sharing our doubts can be seen as threatening...


Human Diversity

by Charles Murray & David Baker Twelve (January 28, 2020)

All people are equal but, as Human Diversity explores, all groups of people are not the same -- a fascinating investigation of the genetics and neuroscience of human differences.

The thesis of Human Diversity...


Human Diversity

by Charles Murray Grand Central Publishing (January 28, 2020)

All people are equal but, as Human Diversity explores, all groups of people are not the same -- a fascinating investigation of the genetics and neuroscience of human differences.

The thesis of Human Diversity...


Blood Rites

by Barbara Ehrenreich Grand Central Publishing (January 14, 2020)

A New York Times Notable BookAn ALA Notable Book

"Original and illuminating." --The Washington Post

What draws our species to war? What makes us see violence as a kind of sacred duty, or a ritual that boys must...