Social science / Anthropology

Best Selling

Language

All

English (46)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (19)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (1)

Last 30 days (4)

Current year (5)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (14)

Last 30 days (46)

Current year (46)

 

Category

Delete Anthropology

 

Audience

Adult (46)

 

Publisher

Blackstone Publishing (20)

Simon & Schuster Audio (13)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (2)

AUDIOBOOK (44)

 

Total Loans

All (24)

20 - 40 (0)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (24)

More options

Results : 1 - 46 of 46 Sorted by : 

Lucy

The Different Drum

by M. Scott Peck Simon & Schuster Audio (September 01, 1987)

For a World in Conflict...

New Hope for Wholeness in the Modern Age!

  • A society of rugged individualists and economic competitors
  • A world of nuclear politics and uncontrollable forces
  • For many, modern living...


Primates of Park Avenue

The Silo Effect

The Geography of Genius

The Lion in the Living Room

iGen

Bullshit Jobs

More Together Than Alone

Rule Makers, Rule Breakers

Civilized To Death

The Life and Afterlife of Harry Houdini

Wherever You Go

The Will to Change

by bell hooks & Janina Edwards Simon & Schuster Audio (February 11, 2020)

Everyone needs to love and be loved -- even men. But to know love, men must be able to look at the ways that patriarchal culture keeps them from knowing themselves, from being in touch with their feelings, from...


First, They Erased Our Name

The Witch

by Ronald Hutton & Gildart Jackson Blackstone Publishing (September 05, 2017)

Why have societies all across the world feared witchcraft? This book delves deeply into its context, beliefs, and origins in Europe's history.

The witch came to prominence--and often a painful death--in early...


Progress

by Johan Norberg & Derek Perkins Blackstone Publishing (July 01, 2017)

From an examination of official data from such institutions as the United Nations, the World Bank, and the World Health Organization, Cato Institute Senior Fellow Johan Norberg paints a portrait of a better...


Walking with Abel

by Anna Badkhen & Elisabeth Rodgers Blackstone Publishing (August 04, 2015)

The Fulani are the largest surviving group of nomads on the planet. In Walkingwith Abel, Anna Badkhen embedsherself with a family of Fulani cowboys--nomadic herders in Mali's Sahelgrasslands--as they embark...


The First Signs

by Genevieve von Petzinger & Robin Miles Blackstone Publishing (May 31, 2016)

One of the most significant works on our evolutionary ancestry since Richard Leakey's Origins, The First Signs is the first-ever exploration of the geometric images that accompany most cave art around the world--the...


The World of the Ancient Maya, Second Edition

by John S. Henderson & Wanda McCaddon Blackstone Publishing (January 01, 2006)

The ancient Maya were the only fully literate pre-Colombian people in the Americas. Superb scientists, they developed highly sophisticated mathematics and an intricate and accurate calendar system. Theirs was...


Medieval People

by Eileen Power & Roe Kendall Blackstone Publishing (June 16, 2010)

In this classic of social history, the author describes the lives of five lesser-known men and women of the Middle Ages, as well as one famous one. She draws on account books, records, letters, diaries, and...


Hating Whitey and Other Progressive Causes

by David Horowitz & Jeff Riggenbach Blackstone Publishing (April 22, 2009)

The anti-white racism of the political left remains one of the few taboo subjects in America. In this book, David Horowitz, a former confidante of the Black Panthers, lays bare the liberal attack on “whiteness,”...


Black Rednecks and White Liberals

by Thomas Sowell & Hugh Mann Blackstone Publishing (June 27, 2005)

Black Rednecks and White Liberals is the capstone of decades of outstanding research and writing on racial and cultural issues by Thomas Sowell.

This explosive new book challenges many of the long-held assumptions...


Unfinished People

by Ruth Gay & Anna Fields Blackstone Publishing (June 22, 2005)

Nearly three million Jews came to America from Eastern Europe between 1880 and the outbreak of World War I, filled with the hope of life in a new land. Most were young, single, uneducated, and unskilled; many...


The Patterning Instinct

by Jeremy Lent, Derek Perkins & Fritjof Capra Blackstone Publishing (September 19, 2017)

This fresh perspective on crucial questions of history identifies the root metaphors that cultures have used to construct meaning in their world. It offers a glimpse into the minds of a vast range of different...


Slouching towards Gomorrah

by Robert H. Bork & Barrett Whitener Blackstone Publishing (January 26, 2010)

Welcome to America, 1996. The “rough beast” that visionary poet Yeats foresaw in 1919 is now a full-grown monster of decadence several generations deep. As a nation, we are pursuing a path toward Gomorrah,...


Information Doesn't Want to Be Free

by Cory Doctorow, Wil Wheaton, Neil Gaiman & Amanda Palmer Cory Doctorow (December 09, 2014)

In sharply argued, fast-moving chapters, CoryDoctorow's Information Doesn't Want to BeFree takes on the state of copyright and creative success in the digitalage. Can small artists still thrive in the Internet...


People of the World

by K. David Harrison, Catherine Herbert Howell, Pam Ward & Spencer Wells Blackstone Publishing (October 25, 2016)

From the heart of National Geographic comes this expansive guide to the clans, tribes, ethnicities, and peoples of the world.

Organized in keeping with our knowledge of the migration of human groups through history,...


Why the Jews?

by Dennis Prager, Joseph Telushkin & Traber Burns Blackstone Publishing (July 19, 2016)

In this seminal work that has spent more than thirty years in print, Dennis Prager and Joseph Telushkin explain the reasons behind anti-Semitism, the world's preoccupation with the Jews and Israel, and why now...


Race Rules

by Michael Eric Dyson Blackstone Publishing (June 07, 2017)

As a former welfare father who is also an ordained Baptist minister and a Princeton Ph.D., Michael Eric Dyson is one of those rare intellectuals who act not only as interpreters between black and white America...


Dancing in the Streets

by Barbara Ehrenreich & Pam Ward Blackstone Publishing (January 01, 2006)

From bestselling social commentator and cultural historian Barbara Ehrenreich comes this fascinating exploration of one of humanity’s oldest traditions: the celebration of communal joy, historically expressed...


Holy Disunity

by Layton E. Williams, Kate Mulligan & Diana Butler Bass Blackstone Publishing (January 07, 2020)

These days, there's no dirtier word than "divisive," especially in religious and political circles. Claiming a controversial opinion, talking about our differences, even sharing our doubts can be seen as threatening...


The Histories

by Caius Cornelius Tacitus, James Adams & W. H. Fyfe Blackstone Publishing (January 24, 2008)

Caius Cornelius Tacitus, a Roman orator and public official, is considered one of the greatest historians as well as one of the greatest prose stylists of the Latin language. In The Histories, he describes and...


Taboo!

by Fouzia Saeed, Ashlyn Kindberg & Made for Success Made for Success (June 15, 2014)

Taboo!: The HiddenCulture of a Red Light Area is a journey of discovery into the infamous red-light district of Lahore, Pakistan, known as the Shahi Mohalla (theRoyal Bazaar) or Heera Mandi (the market of diamonds)....


Everyday Survival

by Laurence Gonzales & Kevin T. Collins Blackstone Publishing (September 01, 2008)

Laurence Gonzales turns his talent for gripping narrative, knowledge of the way our minds and bodies work, and bottomless curiosity about the world to the topic of how we can best use the lessons of our evolutionary...


The Invention of Yesterday

by Tamim Ansary Public Affairs (Perseus imprint) (October 01, 2019)

A sweeping global human history that describes the separate beginnings of the world's major cultural movements - Confuscianism, Islam, Judeo-Christianity and Nomadism - and the dramatic, sometimes ruinous, sometimes...


Waiting for the Weekend

by Witold Rybczynski & Wanda McCaddon Blackstone Publishing (November 15, 2011)

“We work,” Aristotle wrote, “in order to have leisure.” Today, this is still true. But is the leisure that Aristotle spoke of—the freedom to do nothing—the same as the leisure we look forward to...


Origins

by Lewis Dartnell & John Sackville Basic Books (May 14, 2019)

A New York Times-bestselling author explains how the physical world shaped the history of our species

When we talk about human history, we often focus on great leaders, population forces, and decisive wars. But...


Human Diversity

by Charles Murray & David Baker Twelve (January 28, 2020)

All people are equal but, as Human Diversity explores, all groups of people are not the same -- a fascinating investigation of the genetics and neuroscience of human differences.

The thesis of Human Diversity...


Kings of the Yukon

by Adam Weymouth & Charlie Anson Little, Brown & Company (May 15, 2018)

"Kings of the Yukon succeeds as an adventure tale, a natural history and a work of art." -- Wall Street Journal

A thrilling journey by canoe across Alaska, by critically acclaimed writer Adam Weymouth

The Yukon...


Cheaters Always Win

by J. M. Fenster & Abby Craden Twelve (December 03, 2019)

A social history of cheating and how American history -- through real estate, sports, finance, academics, and of course politics -- has had its unfair share of rigged results and widened the margins on its gray...


A Walking Life

by Antonia Malchik & Eliza Foss Da Capo Lifelong Books (May 07, 2019)

For readers of On Trails: an incisive, utterly engaging exploration of walking: how it is fundamental to our being human, how we've designed it out of our lives, and how it is essential that we reembrace it

"I'm...


In Search of the Canary Tree

by Lauren E. Oakes & Ellen Archer Basic Books (November 27, 2018)

The award-winning and surprisingly hopeful story of one woman's search for resiliency in a warming world

Several years ago, ecologist Lauren E. Oakes set out from California for Alaska's old-growth forests to...


Top Dog

by Po Bronson & Ashley Merryman Twelve (February 19, 2013)

New York Times Bestseller

Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman's work changes the national dialogue. Beyond their bestselling books, you know them from commentary and features in the New York Times, CNN, NPR, Time...


The Friendship Cure

by Kate Leaver Abrams Press (October 22, 2018)

Our best friends, Twitter followers, gal-pals, bromances, Facebook friends, and long distance buddies define us in ways we rarely openly acknowledge. But as a society, we are simultaneously terrified of being...


Selfie

by Will Storr Abrams Press (April 01, 2019)

We are living in an age of heightened individualism. Success is a personal responsibility. Our culture tells us that to succeed is to be slim, rich, happy, extroverted, popular—flawless. We have become self-obsessed....