Arcade / Social science

Best Selling

Language

All

English (34)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (34)

 

Publisher

Delete Arcade

 

Collection

Arcade (34)

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Political science (12)

Sociology (8)

Criminology (5)

Espionage (2)

Feminism & Feminist Theory (2)

Anthropology (2)

Military Science (1)

Transportation (1)

Developing Countries (1)

Disasters & Disaster Relief (1)

Discrimination & Race Relations (1)

Associations (1)

Future Studies (1)

Archaeology (1)

 

Audience

Adult (34)

 

Total Loans

All (34)

20 - 40 (34)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 34 of 34 Sorted by : 

The Molecule Hunt: Archaeology and the Search for Ancient DNA

by Martin Jones Arcade (November 07, 2011)

A revolution is underway in archaeology. Working at the cutting edge of genetic and molecular technologies, researchers have been probing the building blocks of ancient life-DNA, proteins, fats-to rewrite our...


Since My Last Confession

by Scott Pomfret Arcade (January 12, 2012)

Scott Pomfret serves as a lector at St. Anthony Shrine in Boston. He also writes gay porn. His boyfriend is a flaming atheist, and his boyfriend’s Protestant grandmother considers Catholicism a sin worse than...


Green Ribbons and Turbans

by Armin Arefi & Joanna Oseman Arcade (November 01, 2011)

During the last presidential election in Iran, nonviolent protestors defied the mullahs’ power by wearing green ribbons on their wrists. In June of 2009, the inhabitants of Tehran were living underground to...


Capital Punishment

by Jodie Sinclair, Billy Wayne Sinclair & Helen Prejean Arcade (July 01, 2011)

Billy Wayne Sinclair was only twenty-one when sentenced to death. Because of an accidental shooting, he spent the next forty years in prison. When the Supreme Court struck down the death penalty, Billy was re-sentenced...


A Life in the Balance

by Billy Wayne Sinclair & Jodie Sinclair Arcade (March 01, 2012)

Sentenced to death in 1965 at age twenty for an unpremeditated murder during the bungled holdup of a convenience store, Billy Wayne spent his first seven prison years on death row. When the death penalty was...


Spymistress

by William Stevenson Arcade (October 11, 2011)

The New York Times Bestseller by the Author of A Man Called Intrepid

  • Ideal for fans of Nancy Wake, Virginia Hall, The Last Goodnight by Howard Blum, The Woman Who Smashed Codes, The Wolves at the Door by Judith...


Race Manners

by Bruce A. Jacobs Arcade (August 01, 2011)

On a plane, a black passenger nervously scrutinizes an Arab–American passenger. In front of a store, a white woman clutches her purse as a black man walks by. In conversation, the topic of race comes up and...


Future Man

by Tim Samuels Arcade (July 16, 2019)

A sharply intelligent, explosively honest, and laugh-out-loud funny look at the state of masculinity and how to be a man, for fans of Jon Ronson and Matt Haig.

If ever there was an urgent need for a frank understanding...


Buffalo Bill's Life Story

by Buffalo Bill Cody Arcade (April 01, 2010)

Buffalo Bill lives deep in American legend. A Kansas-bred farm boy, he went on to become a renowned trapper and hunter, army scout, Indian fighter, and finally a world showman and celebrity. As a man of the...


Driving the Future

by Margo T. Oge & Fred Krupp Arcade (September 20, 2016)

Now in paperback, with a new foreword by Fred Krupp, an expert's illuminating preview of the cleaner, lighter, smarter cars of the future.

In Driving the Future, Margo T. Oge portrays a future where clean, intelligent...


Patpong Sisters

by Cleo Odzer Arcade (January 23, 2012)

Cleo Odzer, a young American anthropologist, spent three years studying Bangkok’s red-light district, Patpong, an area of a few blocks teeming with bars and explicit sex shows. Patpong is now world famous...


Kingpin

by Richard Stratton Arcade (May 02, 2017)

This fast-paced sequel to Smuggler's Blues is a harrowing and at times comical journey through the criminal justice system at the height of America's War on Plants.

Captured in the lobby of the Sheraton Senator...


Periods Gone Public

by Jennifer Weiss-Wolf Arcade (October 10, 2017)

The first book to explore menstruation in the current cultural and political landscape and to investigate the new wave of period activism taking the world by storm.

After centuries of being shrouded in taboo...


Getting Away With Murder

by Richard D. Mahoney Arcade (September 01, 2011)

Getting Away With Murder is an explosive investigation into the death of an American hero, the strange case of the “American Taliban,” and why we never got the truth about either—until now. When John Walker...


The Blasphemer

by Waleed Al-Husseini Arcade (May 09, 2017)

The Infuriating Tale Of A Young Palestinian Punished For Exercising His Freedom Of Speech.

Like many of his generation, Waleed Al-Husseini began a blog in his twenties. However, unlike many, Waleed also had the...


How to Be a Dictator

by Mikal Hem Arcade (June 06, 2017)

A Tongue-in-Cheek Guide to Becoming a Dictator, Based on the Outrageous, Scandalous, and Excessive Behavior of Dictators Past and Present

Who hasn’t dreamed of one day ruling your own country? Along with great...


In Other Words

by Goenawan Mohamad & Jennifer Lindsay Arcade (May 16, 2017)

A wide-ranging and beautiful collection of essays from one of world literature’s most important writers.

Goenawan Mohamad is one of Indonesia’s foremost public intellectuals, and this translated volume of...


Wish Lanterns

by Alec Ash Arcade (March 07, 2017)

“One of the best [books] I’ve read about the individuals who make up a country that is all too often regarded as a monolith.” —Jonathan Fenby, Financial Times

If China will rule the world one day, who will...


Scrolling Forward, Second Edition

by David M. Levy & Ruth Ozeki Arcade (January 05, 2016)

A fascinating, insightful, and wonderfully written exploration of the document.

Like Henry Petroski’s The Pencil, David Levy’s Scrolling Forward takes a common, everyday object, the document, and illuminates...


Riding through Katrina with the Red Baron's Ghost

by J. Malcolm Garcia Arcade (August 21, 2018)

The first book that J. Malcolm Garcia ever bought would impact his life in a way that the then twelve-year-old could have never imagined. The Day the Red Baron Died plunged Garcia into the intrigue and excitement...


The Trigger

by Daniel J. Patinkin Arcade (June 05, 2018)

Six moving profiles reveal the complex realities behind gun violence in the United States. These are the stories of the shooters.

In South Carolina, a young man embarks on a life of crime that culminates in a...


The Wahhabi Code

by Terence Ward Arcade (October 09, 2018)

An Eye-Opening, Concise Look at the Source of the Current Wave of Terrorism, How it Spread, and Why the West Did Nothing

Lifting the mask of international terrorism, Terence Ward reveals a sinister truth. Far...


Einstein's Genius Club

by Burton Feldman & Katherine Williams Arcade (September 01, 2011)

As World War II wound down and it became increasingly clear that the Allies would emerge victorious, Albert Einstein invited three close friends—all titans of contemporary science and philosophy—to his home...


Zigzag

by Nicholas Booth Arcade (September 01, 2011)

The most remarkable double agent of World War II, Eddie Chapman was witty, handsome, and charming. Too bad he was also a con man, womanizer, and safe-cracker. To the British, though, he was known as ZigZag,...


Threading My Prayer Rug

by Sabeeha Rehman Arcade (June 14, 2016)

ONE OF BOOKLIST'S TOP TEN RELIGION AND SPIRITUALITY BOOKS OF 2016

ONE OF BOOKLIST'S TOP TEN DIVERSE NONFICTION BOOKS OF 2017

Honorable Mention in the 2017 San Francisco Book Festival Awards, Spiritual Category...


The Kennedy Brothers

by Richard D. Mahoney & David Talbot Arcade (May 01, 2011)

Eight years apart in age, John F. and Robert F. Kennedy were wildly different in temperament and sensibility. Jack was the leader—charismatic, ironic, capable of extraordinary growth and reach, yet also reckless....


The Freemasons

by Jasper Ridley Arcade (May 15, 2011)

What did Mozart and Bach, Oscar Wilde and Anthony Trollope, George Washington and Frederick the Great, Winston Churchill and Franklin D. Roosevelt have in common? They were all Freemasons, a subject of endless...


Ecotopia 2121

by Alan Marshall Arcade (October 04, 2016)

A 2016 Green Book Festival "Future Forecasts" Winner

A stunningly original, lushly illustrated vision for a Green Utopia, published on the 500th anniversary of the original Big Idea.

Five hundred years ago a powerful...


The Mind of a Terrorist

by Kaare Sørensen & Cory Klingsporn Arcade (June 07, 2016)

With the Pacing of a Thriller, a Veteran Journalist’s Account of the Terrorist behind the Mumbai Attacks and a Planned Attack in Europe

David Headley, the American-Pakistani also known as Daood Gilani, lived...


What You Should Know About Politics . . . But Don't

by Jessamyn Conrad & Naomi Wolf Arcade (May 17, 2016)

“Engaging and inspiring . . . Reading this book should make you want to vote.” —Barack Obama

In a world of sound bites, deliberate misinformation, and a political scene that is colored by the blue versus...


Scrolling Forward

by David M. Levy & Ruth Ozeki Arcade (January 23, 2012)

Like Henry Petroski’s The Pencil, David Levy’s Scrolling Forward takes a common, everyday object, the document, and illuminates what it reveals about us, both in the past and in the digital age.

We are surrounded...


Unbound

by Richard L. Currier & Tom Gjelten Arcade (August 18, 2015)

Like Guns, Germs, and Steel, a work of breathtaking sweep and originality that reinterprets the human story.

Although we usually think of technology as something unique to modern times, our ancestors began to...


Africa Doesn't Matter

by Giles Bolton Arcade (February 01, 2012)

What happens to the billions of aid dollars given yearly? Why do trade rules that fail African countries also cost us at the checkout line? Why don’t the African people matter? In this engaging, jargon-free,...


Driving the Future

by Margo T. Oge Arcade (April 07, 2015)

A distinguished expert offers a dazzling preview of the cars of the future, while exploring the science and politics behind climate change.

As the director of the EPA’s Office of Transportation and Air Quality,...