Science and Technics / Science / Others

Best Selling

Language

All

English (21)

French (3)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (2)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (1)

Current year (21)

 

Category

Delete Others

 

In category

History (11)

Reference (3)

Philosophy & Social Aspects (3)

Essays (2)

Study & Teaching (1)

Research & Methodology (1)

Experiments & Projects (1)

 

Audience

Adult (21)

 

Publisher

Skyhorse (10)

 

Total Loans

All (15)

20 - 40 (14)

40 - 100 (1)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 21 of 21 Sorted by : 

Biotechnology in Our Lives

by Jeremy Gruber & Sheldon Krimsky Skyhorse (June 01, 2013)

For a quarter of a century, the Council for Responsible Genetics has provided a unique historical lens into the modern history, science, ethics, and politics of genetic technologies. Since 1983 the Council has...


Why Do Cats Like Catnip?

by Matrin M. Goldwyn Skyhorse (August 01, 2012)

Have you ever wondered how the planets came into being? Or what causes some people to have freckles? Ever wanted to know why mosquito bites itch and swell? Over his long career as a high school science teacher,...


Fleet Fire

by L. J. Davis Arcade (February 28, 2012)

The electric revolution, which eclipsed the Industrial Revolution by the end of the 19th century and continues to this day, changed our world forever. FLEET FIRE tells us how it all began. In an engaging and...


The Polio Hole

by Shelley Jd Mickle eBookIt.com (February 21, 2013)

As a five-year-old, Shelley Fraser is known for mischief.

On Halloween in l949, she fancies her brother's devil costume and persuades her mother to hem it up for her. But her plan to scare the total baloney out...


Leaving Truth

by Keith Sewell eBookIt.com (February 27, 2012)

"Leaving Truth" offers a radically new, and potentially conclusive, contribution to our ancient science vs. religion debate. It is a collection of four essays, one main and three subsidiary. The collection addresses...


Losing Earth

by Nathaniel Rich Farrar, Straus and Giroux (April 09, 2019)

By 1979, we knew nearly everything we understand today about climate change—including how to stop it. Over the next decade, a handful of scientists, politicians, and strategists, led by two unlikely heroes,...


The Science of Harry Potter

by Mark Brake & Jon Chase Racehorse (November 14, 2017)

How does magic in J. K. Rowling’s universe work? Finally, the scientific secrets are revealed!

The story of the boy who lived has brought the idea of magic and sorcery into mainstream fruition more than any...


The End of Breast Cancer

by Kathleen T. Ruddy Skyhorse (October 03, 2017)

Can a mouse virus cause breast cancer in women? Answering that question has become Dr. Kathleen Ruddy's life’s work. The End of Breast Cancer is the landmark book that gives an extraordinary glimpse into the...


Chancing It

by Robert Matthews Skyhorse (September 19, 2017)

Make your own luck by understanding probability

Over the years, some very smart people have thought they understood the rules of chance?only to fail dismally. Whether you call it probability, risk, or uncertainty,...


How the ThinkPad Changed the Worldâ€"and Is Shaping the Future

by Arimasa Naitoh & William Holstein Skyhorse (June 13, 2017)

The ThinkPad notebook computer has been at the center of the digital revolution that has transformed millions of lives around the world, allowing users to obtain access to their documents, pictures and other...


How it Feels to Be Attcked by a Shark

by Michelle Hamer Skyhorse (October 17, 2007)

What does it feel like to find yourself in the grip of a 15-foot Great White shark? To be struck not once but twice by lightning? Here are 40 incredible true-life stories of people who lived through the most...


The Anthrax Letters

by Leonard A. Cole Skyhorse (April 01, 2009)

At 2:00am on October 2, 2001, Robert Stevens entered a hospital emergency room. Feverish, nauseated, and barely conscious, no one knew what was making him sick. Three days later he was dead. Stevens was the...


Bringing Columbia Home

by Jonathan H. Ward, Michael D. Leinbach, Robert Crippen & Eileen Collins Arcade (January 23, 2018)

Timed to release for the 15th Anniversary of the Columbia space shuttle disaster, this is the epic true story of one of the most dramatic, unforgettable adventures of our time.

On February 1, 2003, Columbia disintegrated...


Edison vs. Tesla

by Joel Martin Skyhorse (October 03, 2017)

Thomas Edison closely following the alternative physics work of Albert Einstein and Max Planck, convincing him that there was an entire reality unseen by the human eye. This led to the last and least-known of...


Oil, Power, and War

by Matthieu Auzanneau & Richard Heinberg Chelsea Green Publishing (November 06, 2018)

In this sweeping, unabashed history of oil, Matthieu Auzanneau takes a fresh, thought-provoking look at the way oil interests have commandeered politics and economies, changed cultures, disrupted power balances...


Tinkernut Presents Upcycled Technology

by Daniel Davis Mango (March 15, 2019)

Transform old tech into amazing, modern inventions

Fans of Popular Science, Smithsonian’s Maker Lab, and The Big Book of Makerspace Projects will love Upcycled Technology.

DIY science projects using your...


Introduction to the Human Cell

by Danton PhD O'Day eBookIt.com (February 21, 2013)

In this book, we look at the fundamental biology of the human cell from the outside in. While genes and mutations define our cells and how they function, this volume focuses on the biology of the cell rather...


How to Love the Universe

by Stefan Klein The Experiment (November 27, 2018)

An eye-opening celebration of the marvels of space, time, the cosmos, and more

How to Love the Universe is a new kind of science writing by an author truly enamored of the world around him. In ten short chapters...


What are species

by Nature And Human Studies Lm Publishers (October 15, 2018)

What are Species? In its most general acceptation the word "species" signifies a kind or sort of something, which something is the genus to which the species belongs. Thus, a black stone is a species of the...


Accidental Medical Discoveries

by Robert W. Winters Skyhorse (November 22, 2016)

Many of the world’s most important and life-saving devices and techniques were often discovered purely by accident. Serendipity, timing, and luck played a part in the discovery of unintentional cures and breakthroughs:...


Darwin on Evolution

by Charles Darwin Skyhorse (June 02, 2015)

The father of evolution imbibed history with his controversial book On the Origin of Species. As a young scientist studying natural history, Charles Darwin set out on the HMS Beagle for a five-year voyage that...