Social science / Political science / Political Freedom & Security / Civil Rights

Best Selling

Language

All

English (18)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (1)

Last 30 days (2)

Current year (18)

 

Category

Delete Civil Rights

 

Audience

Adult (18)

 

Publisher

Blackstone Publishing (10)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (0)

AUDIOBOOK (18)

 

Total Loans

All (19)

20 - 40 (0)

40 - 100 (1)

Over 100 (18)

More options

Results : 1 - 18 of 18 Sorted by : 

Martin Luther King, Jr., the Essential Box Set

by Keith David, Others, Jay Gregory & Clayborne Carson et al. Hachette Book Group (January 01, 2010)

This definitive box set includes all the landmark speeches of the great orator and American leader Martin Luther King Jr., from his inspirational "I Have a Dream" to his fiery "Give Us the Ballot." Comprised...


Dallas 1963

by Bill Minutaglio, Steven L. Davis & Tony Messano Hachette Book Group (December 01, 2013)

In the early 1960s, Dallas was brewing with political passions and full of extreme and unlikely characters, many of them dead set against a Kennedy presidency--rabid politicos like defrocked military general...


The Shadow System

by Sylvia A. Harvey & Janina Edwards Bold Type Books (April 07, 2020)

A searing exposé of the effects of the mass incarceration crisis on families-including the 2.7 million American children who have a parent locked up

In The Shadow System, award-winning journalist Sylvia A. Harvey...


Love Wins

by Debbie Cenziper, Jim Obergefell & George Newbern HarperAudio (June 14, 2016)

The fascinating and very moving story of the lovers, lawyers, judges and activists behind the groundbreaking Supreme Court case that led to one of the most important, national civil rights victories in decades--the...


A Stone of Hope

by Jim St. Germain, Jon Sternfeld & Ron Butler HarperAudio (July 04, 2017)

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause--until he landed in a rehabilitation program...


I Know Who You Are and I Saw What You Did

by Lori Andrews & Bernadette Dunne Blackstone Publishing (March 15, 2012)

Social networks are the defining cultural movement of our time, empowering us in constantly evolving ways. We can all now be reporters, alerting the world to breaking news of a natural disaster; participate...


The Wilmington Ten

by Kenneth Robert Janken & Ron Butler Blackstone Publishing (January 04, 2016)

In February 1971 racial tension surrounding school desegregation in Wilmington, North Carolina, culminated in four days of violence and skirmishes between white vigilantes and black residents. The turmoil resulted...


Tell the Truth & Shame the Devil

by Lezley McSpadden, Lisa Reneé Pitts & Lyah Beth Leflore Blackstone Publishing (June 21, 2016)

This revelatory memoir by the mother of Michael Brown, the African American teenager killed by the police officer Darren Wilson in Ferguson, Missouri, in 2014, sheds light on one of the landmark events in recent...


Hack Attack

by Nick Davies & Steven Crossley Blackstone Publishing (February 03, 2015)

At first, it seemed like a small story. The royaleditor of the News of the World wascaught listening to the voice mail messages of staff at Buckingham Palace. Heand a private investigator were jailed, and the...


Notes of a Native Son

by James Baldwin & Ron Butler Blackstone Publishing (February 03, 2015)

At last, a new audio edition of the book many havecalled James Baldwin's most influential work!

Written during the 1940s and early 1950s, whenBaldwin was only in his twenties, the essays collected in Notes of...


Saving the Bill of Rights

by Frank Miniter & John Pruden Blackstone Publishing (June 28, 2011)

Our Founding Fathers created the Bill of Rights to document our inalienable rights and to strictly limit the government’s power. These ten amendments are the foundation of American Exceptionalism—yet that...


Civil Rights

by Thomas Sowell & James Bundy Blackstone Publishing (June 24, 2005)

Thomas Sowell takes a tough, factual look at whether the Civil Rights movement has lived up to its hopes or its rhetoric. In the decades since the historic Supreme Court decision on desegregation, who has gained...


We Hold These Truths

by Mortimer J. Adler & Jeff Riggenbach Blackstone Publishing (November 26, 2012)

Mortimer Adler devoted a lifetime to studying the great ideas of Western culture and explaining even the most difficult concepts to the average citizen, earning Time magazine's praise as a "philosopher for everyman."...


Malcolm X

by Manning Marable & G. Valmont Thomas Blackstone Publishing (April 04, 2011)

Of the great figures in twentieth-century American history, few are as complex and controversial as Malcolm X. Constantly rewriting his own story, he became a criminal, a minister, a leader, and an icon, all...


How We Fight White Supremacy

by Akiba Solomon, Kenrya Rankin, Janina Edwards & Jonathan Myles et al. Bold Type Books (December 03, 2019)

This celebration of Black resistance, from protests to art to sermons to joy, offers a blueprint for the fight for freedom and justice -- and ideas for how each of us can contribute Many of us are facing unprecedented...


Rise of the Warrior Cop

by Radley Balko & William Hughes Blackstone Publishing (July 09, 2013)

The American approach to law enforcement was forged by theexperience of revolution. Emerging as they did from the shadow of British rule,the country's founders would likely have viewed police as they exist today...


Human Rights and Civil Rights

by John Arthur, Robert Guillaume, John Lachs & Mike Hassell et al. Knowledge Products (January 22, 2006)

Only a few hundred years ago there emerged the ideal of inalienable rights to life, liberty, property, free speech, freedom of conscience and religion, etc. Yet rights now are routinely claimed to include health...


Civil Disobedience and The Liberator

by Wendy McElroy, Craig Deitschmann, George H. Smith & Henry David Thoreau et al. Knowledge Products (May 02, 2006)

Civil Disobedience discusses Thoreau’s arguments for civil disobedience: the deliberate violation of laws for reasons of conscience. Thoreau’s concept is based on the belief that no law should command blind...