Social science / Political science / Political Freedom & Security / Civil Rights

Best Selling

Language

All

English (29)

French (2)

German (0)

Spanish (8)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Category

Delete Civil Rights

 

Audience

Adult (29)

 

Publisher

Simon & Schuster (6)

Skyhorse (5)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (29)

AUDIOBOOK (0)

 

Total Loans

All (46)

20 - 40 (29)

40 - 100 (4)

Over 100 (13)

More options

Results : 1 - 29 of 29 Sorted by : 

The Power of Indignation

by Stéphane Hessel & E. C. Belli Skyhorse (February 18, 2014)

The astonishing life of the writer named by the New York Times “one of the last living heroes of the darkest era of the twentieth century.”

His brief pamphlet Indignez-vous! (Cry Out!) is an international...


The Black Panther

by David Hilliard Atria Books (June 30, 2008)

"We knew from the beginning how critical it was to have our own publication, to set forth our agenda for freedom...to urge change, to use the pen alongside the sword," writes David Hilliard in the preface to...


Song for My Father

by Stephanie Stokes Oliver Atria Books (July 27, 2004)

On Election Day in 1960, a classmate of Stephanie Stokes Oliver threatened to beat her up. Why? Because in their class's mock presidential election, Stephanie revealed that she would follow her father's lead...


In Defense of Our America

by Anthony D. Romero & Dina Temple-Raston HarperCollins e-books (October 13, 2009)

“A brave, powerful book from one of freedom’s most courageous defenders. These stories remind us how real -- how personal -- the threats to our Constitutional rights really are -- and of the duty that we...


Civil Rights

by Thomas Sowell HarperCollins (October 13, 2009)

It is now more than three decades since the historic Supreme Court decision on desegregation, Brown v. Board of Education. Thomas Sowell takes a tough, factual look at what has actually happened over these decades...


Control: Exposing the Truth About Guns

by Glenn Beck Threshold Editions (April 30, 2013)

#1 bestselling author and popular radio and television host Glenn Beck shines a spotlight on today’s culture of violence and provides practical, timely, and fact-based answers to the most commonly heard gun-control...


What Set Me Free (The Story That Inspired the Major Motion Picture Brian Banks)

by Brian Banks Atria Books (July 02, 2019)

Brian Banks, the major motion picture starring Aldis Hodge, Greg Kinnear, and Sherri Shepherd, winner of the audience award at the 2018 LA Film Festival, opens nationwide in 2019!

Discover the unforgettable...


Confronting Hate

by Deborah Hart Strober & Gerald S. Strober Skyhorse (June 25, 2019)

In this biography, Gerald and Deborah Strober draw from original source materials and numerous interviews to detail the life and career of the esteemed Rabbi Marc Tanenbaum, a seminal 20th century figure in...


The New Debtors' Prison

by Christopher B. Maselli & Paul Lonardo Skyhorse (May 21, 2019)

Debtors’ prisons might sound like something out of a Dickens novel, but what most Americans do not realize is that they are alive and well in a new and startling form. Today more than 20 percent of the prison...


Common Sense and Selected Works of Thomas Paine

by Thomas Paine Canterbury Classics (May 01, 2014)

The pen is mightier than the sword, and this pen helped bring about the American Revolution. 

Thomas Paine is one of history’s most renowned thinkers and was indispensible to both the American and French revolutions....


Love Your Enemies

by Arthur C. Brooks Broadside e-books (March 12, 2019)

NOW A NATIONAL BESTSELLER!

To get ahead today, you have to be a jerk, right?

Divisive politicians. Screaming heads on television. Angry campus activists. Twitter trolls. Today in America, there is an “outrage...


A Stone of Hope

by Jim St. Germain & Jon Sternfeld Harper Paperbacks (July 24, 2018)

In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program...


We Can Do It

by Michael T. Gengler RosettaBooks (August 21, 2018)

This book tells of the challenges faced by white and black school administrators, teachers, parents, and students as Alachua County, Florida, moved from segregated schools to a single, unitary school system....


Time on Two Crosses

by Devon Carbado Cleis Press (December 12, 2014)

In 1956 Bayard Rustin taught Martin Luther King Jr. strategies of nonviolence during the Montgomery Bus Boycott, thereby launching the civil rights movement. Widely acclaimed as a founding father of modern black...


Rising Tide

by John M. Barry Simon & Schuster (September 17, 2007)

An American epic of science, politics, race, honor, high society, and the Mississippi River, Rising Tide tells the riveting and nearly forgotten story of the greatest natural disaster this country has ever known...


The Caged Virgin

by Ayaan Hirsi Ali Atria Books (April 25, 2006)

Muslims who explore sources of morality other than Islam are threatened with death, and Muslim women who escape the virgins' cage are branded whores. So asserts Ayaan Hirsi Ali's profound meditation on Islam...


Guantanamo and the Abuse of Presidential Power

by Joseph Margulies Simon & Schuster (June 27, 2006)

In his address to the nation on September 20, 2001, President Bush declared war on terrorism and set in motion a detention policy unlike any we have ever seen. Since then, the United States has seized thousands...


Till Victory Is Won

by Janet Cheatham Bell & Julian Bond Pocket Books (March 07, 2002)

Taking its title from the moving lyrics of the official song of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, "Lift Every Voice and Sing," Till Victory Is Won chronicles significant moments...


Pillar of Fire

by Taylor Branch Simon & Schuster (April 16, 2007)

From Pulitzer Prize-winning author Taylor Branch, the second part of his epic trilogy on the American Civil Rights Movement.

In the second volume of his three-part history, a monumental trilogy that began with...


Parting the Waters

Pulitzer Prize for History 1989, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Current Interest 1989, National Book Critics Circle Award for General Non-fiction 1988

by Taylor Branch Simon & Schuster (April 16, 2007)

In volume one of his America in the King Years, Pulitzer Prize winner Taylor Branch gives a masterly account of the American civil rights movement.

Hailed as the most masterful story ever told of the American...


At Canaan's Edge

by Taylor Branch Simon & Schuster (January 10, 2006)

At Canaan's Edge concludes America in the King Years, a three-volume history that will endure as a masterpiece of storytelling on American race, violence, and democracy. Pulitzer Prize-winner and bestselling...


John Stuart Mill on Tyranny and Liberty

by Joseph B. Healy Skyhorse (February 02, 2016)

The United States was founded on the importance of civil liberties—protections for the individual against the control of others, whether those are other people or the government. Freedom for each person is...


Tell the Truth & Shame the Devil: The Life, Legacy, and Love of My Son Michael Brown

by Lezley McSpadden & Lyah Beth Leflore Regan Arts. (May 10, 2016)

The revelatory memoir of Lezley McSpadden—the mother of Michael Brown, the African-American teenager killed by the police officer Darren Wilson in Ferguson, Missouri on August 9, 2014—sheds light on one...


Democracy Now!

by Amy Goodman, David Goodman & Denis Moynihan Simon & Schuster (April 12, 2016)

A celebration of the revolutionary change Amy and David Goodman have witnessed during the two decades of their acclaimed television and radio news program Democracy Now!—and how small individual acts from...


Love Wins

by Debbie Cenziper & Jim Obergefell William Morrow (June 14, 2016)

The fascinating and very moving story of the lovers, lawyers, judges and activists behind the groundbreaking Supreme Court case that led to one of the most important, national civil rights victories in decades—the...


BEV

by Andrea Williams & Matty Rich Gallery Books/Karen Hunter Publishing (June 14, 2016)

Based on the real life story of a little-known figure in the Civil Rights Movement: a white social worker who left the comforts of her life in New York City to travel to the segregated South, comes BEV, a fictionalized...


Using Terri

by Jon Eisenberg HarperOne (October 13, 2009)

The Terri Schiavo case was a key battle in a larger political struggle over abortion, stem-cell research, physician-assisted suicide, gay rights, and the appointment of federal judges. The religious Right chose...


The Hands of Peace

by Marione Ingram & Thelton Henderson Skyhorse (July 14, 2015)

Born in Hamburg in the 1930s, Marione Ingram fled Nazi Germany, only to find racism as pervasive in the American South as anti-Semitism was in Europe.

Marione moved first to New York and then to Washington, D.C....


Jimmie Lee & James

by Steve Fiffer & Adar Cohen Regan Arts. (May 05, 2015)

In the early months of 1965, the killings of two civil rights activists inspired the Selma-to-Montgomery marches, which became the driving force behind the passage of the Voting Rights Act. This is their story....