Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Social Situations / Homelessness & Poverty

Best Selling

Language

All

English (19)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (5)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Category

Delete Homelessness & Poverty

 

Audience

Young adult (1)

Teen (1)

 

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (7)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (19)

AUDIOBOOK (0)

 

Total Loans

All (21)

20 - 40 (19)

40 - 100 (1)

Over 100 (1)

More options

Results : 1 - 19 of 19 Sorted by : 

Killing Time in Crystal City

by Chris Lynch Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (January 13, 2015)

A teen runs away from his broken life and invents a new one in this “absorbing and satisfying” (Booklist) adventure from Printz Honor winner and National Book Award finalist Chris Lynch.

Crystal City called...


Cartwheeling in Thunderstorms

by Katherine Rundell & Melissa Castrillón Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (August 26, 2014)

Even a life on the untamed plains of Africa can’t prepare Wilhelmina for the wilds of an English boarding school in this “gripping, magical, and heartwarming tale of resilience, friendship, and hope” (...


No Place

by Todd Strasser Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (January 28, 2014)

When Dan and his family go from middle class to homeless, issues of injustice rise to the forefront in this relatable, timely novel from Todd Strasser that VOYA calls “poignant,” “darkly humorous,” and...


The King of Dragons

by Carol Fenner Margaret K. McElderry Books (January 01, 2002)

Eleven-year-old Ian and his Vietnam veteran father have been homeless for years, but now his father has found a perfect place for them—an abandoned city courthouse with heat, plenty of bathrooms, and lots...


Friday Never Leaving

by Vikki Wakefield Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (September 10, 2013)

In this wrenching, mesmerizing coming-of-age novel that Kirkus Reviews calls “lyrical, suspenseful, and haunting,” Friday discovers what makes a family—and how to define home.

Friday Brown has never had...


A Lion to Guard Us

by Clyde Robert Bulla & Michele Chessare HarperCollins (June 25, 2013)

The inspiring classic that The New Yorker called "an exciting tale [with] top-notch writing," about one girl facing harsh conditions and huge responsibility as she brings her family to the American colonies. ...


Stars and Sparks on Stage

by Sharon M. Draper & Jesse Joshua Watson Aladdin (September 04, 2012)

The Clubhouse kids compete for a big prize—and make some creative moves—in this repackaged and talent-filled tale from bestselling author Sharon Draper.

Ziggy, Jerome, Rashawn, and Rico are sure they’re...


Lizzie Flying Solo

by Nanci Turner Steveson HarperCollins (April 16, 2019)

A lyrical, poignant middle grade novel about embracing change, accepting help from others, and finding a place to call home. Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale.

A Kirkus Best Book of 2019!

Lizzie St. Claire...


Gracie's Girl

by Ellen Wittlinger Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (July 03, 2012)

You never know what, or who, will touch your heart.

Now that Bess Cunningham is in middle school, she's determined to get noticed. With her new glasses, her wild thrift-store clothes, and her job as stage manager...


Winterfolk

by Janel Kolby HarperTeen (February 06, 2018)

This gorgeous and lyrical debut novel is perfect for fans of Nova Ren Suma, Laura Ruby, and Nina LaCour.

Rain doesn’t wish on stars anymore.

For as long as she can remember, her home has been among the Winterfolk,...


The Girl With 500 Middle Names

by Margaret Peterson Haddix & Janet Hamlin Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (February 14, 2012)

JANIE WHO?

It's hard enough being the new kid in school. It's even tougher when all of your new classmates live in big houses and wear expensive clothes, while your parents have little and are risking everything...


Joseph

by Shelia P. Moses Margaret K. McElderry Books (October 28, 2008)

For Joseph Flood, life is tough. Tough because of Mama's addiction to drugs and alcohol. Tough because Daddy is away with the army fighting in Iraq. Tough because it looks like there's no way out once you're...


Ivy

by Julie Hearn Atheneum Books for Young Readers (June 17, 2008)

Ivy is used to being overlooked. The youngest in a family of thieves, scoundrels, and roustabouts, the girl with the flame-colored hair and odd-colored eyes is declared useless by her father from the day she...


Joseph's Grace

by Shelia P. Moses Margaret K. McElderry Books (January 04, 2011)

Joseph’s sophomore year is about to begin, but his new start is a false one. At his father’s request Joseph moved in with Aunt Shirley, Uncle Todd and cousin Jasmine over the summer, to distance himself...


Do Not Pass Go

by Kirkpatrick Hill Margaret K. McElderry Books (June 17, 2008)

Deet's world turns upside down when his father is arrested for drug use. It doesn't seem possible that kind, caring Dad could be a criminal! After all, he only took the pills to stay awake so he could work two...


Can't Get There from Here

by Todd Strasser Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (May 11, 2010)

Her street name is Maybe

She lives with a tribe of homeless teens -- runaways and throwaways, kids who have no place to go other than the cold city streets, and no family except for one another. Abused, abandoned,...


All in Pieces

by Suzanne Young Simon Pulse (November 08, 2016)

From New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Young comes a “tremendously moving” (Booklist) novel about a girl struggling to deal with anger issues while taking care of her younger brother with special...


Homeless Bird

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2000

by Gloria Whelan HarperCollins (October 06, 2009)

The National Book Award-winning novel about one remarkable young woman who dares to defy fate, perfect for readers who enjoyed A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park or Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai....


The Double Life of Zoe Flynn

by Janet Lee Carey Atheneum Books for Young Readers (May 11, 2010)

Zoe Flynn has a secret.

She used to live in California, in a big old house -- the best house in the world really -- at 18 Hawk Road. It rambled and creaked and was full of good hiding places. She used to have...