Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Family / Alternative Family

Best Selling

Language

All

English (27)

French (3)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (2)

 

Category

Delete Alternative Family

 

Audience

Advanced reader (1)

 

Publisher

 

Total Loans

All (15)

20 - 40 (14)

40 - 100 (1)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 27 of 27 Sorted by : 

Outside Beauty

by Cynthia Kadohata Atheneum Books for Young Readers (December 22, 2009)

"My mother had four daughters by four different men."

There's only one way Shelby and her sisters can describe their mother: She's a sexpot. Helen Kimura collects men (and loans, spending money, and gifts of...


The Fear Trials

by Lindsay Cummings Greenwillow Books (June 03, 2014)

Meadow Woodson has been trained to survive. This is a prequel to The Murder Complex, by Lindsay Cummings, and it is set in a blood-soaked world where the murder rate is higher than the birth rate. For fans of...


The Paradox of Vertical Flight

by Emil Ostrovski Greenwillow Books (September 24, 2013)

Hilarious, deeply moving, mind-bending, original, romantic, and surprising, this debut teen novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Andrew Smith. Gary Shteyngart, author...


Greetings from Nowhere

by Barbara O'Connor Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) (March 18, 2008)

Aggie isn't expecting visitors at the Sleepy Time Motel in the Great Smoky Mountains. Since her husband died, she is all alone with her cat, Ugly, and keeping up with the bills and repairs has become next to...


Eustace & Clyde

by Marina Aizen Sky Pony (June 06, 2017)

Eustace and Clyde couldn’t be more different. Eustace likes to laze around. Clyde likes adventure. But they care about each other deeply. So when their home in the tree becomes too loud and crowded, the koalas...


The Simple Art of Flying

by Cory Leonardo Aladdin (February 12, 2019)

“Delightfully quirky.” —Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this irresistible debut novel combines plucky humor and a whole lot of heart in a story about the true meaning of family....


What About Friends?

by Robin Weaver & Tony Weaver Habitats and Homesteads (February 04, 2018)

“Thinking About Homeschool?” Our book series tells the story during a year of homeschooling. Each book is narrated from a different kid’s point of view. As you get to know the diversity of kids and parents,...


The Magic Misfits: The Second Story

by Neil Patrick Harris Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (September 25, 2018)

From award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris comes the magical second book in the NY Times bestselling series with even more tricks up its sleeve!

Growing up in an orphanage, Leila was bullied for being different....


White Lies

by Mark O'Sullivan Little Island Books (March 18, 2010)

Nance, a young black girl, is trying to piece together the true story of her adoption, beginning with a newly-discovered photograph of herself as a baby. OD, her boyfriend, is struggling to cope with his crumbling...


Taking Flight

by Sheena Wilkinson Little Island Books (September 01, 2010)

‘Beyond the fence everything is dark, but in here is our own lit-up world. Just me and Flight. Our breath snakes into the night like the aftermath of a firework.’ The only riding fifteen-year-old Declan...


Grounded

by Sheena Wilkinson Little Island Books (April 01, 2012)

Declan loves Seaneen, but his ambition to work at a top showjumping yard is stronger than anything he’s ever felt before. So when Declan is offered his dream job in Germany, he should be thrilled. There’s...


Thin Ice

by Mikael Engström Little Island Books (April 01, 2011)

Where would you rather live – in a lonely flat with your drunk father, only bearable when your big brother is home? Or in a small, snowy village with a frozen lake, where your aunt burns books to keep the...


The Inventors at No. 8

by A. M. Morgen Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (May 08, 2018)

Brimming with mystery and treasure, this action-packed tale sends a boy in need of luck and girl in need of a friend on an adventure that will change their lives forever. Meet George, the third Lord of Devonshire...


From the Stars in the Sky to the Fish in the Sea

by Kai Cheng Thom, Kai Yun Ching & Wai-Yant Li Arsenal Pulp Press (October 16, 2017)

A children’s picture book that incorporates lush visual storytelling with poetic language to tell the tale of a magical gender variant child who brings transformation and change to the world around them with...


Hattie Peck: The Journey Home

by Emma Levey Sky Pony (March 07, 2017)

Hattie Peck adores eggs of all kinds. However, she cannot make any of her own. No worries—Hattie has collected eggs from all over the world, hatched them, and raised her blended family of cockatoos, storks,...


The Dragonsitter: Trick or Treat?

The Jungle Book: With Linked Table of Contents

by Rudyard Kipling Dancing Unicorn Books (August 24, 2016)

The tales in the book (and also those in The Second Jungle Book which followed in 1895, and which includes five further stories about Mowgli) are fables, using animals in an anthropomorphic manner to give moral...


Chasing Impossible (Pushing the Limits)

by Katie McGarry MIRA Ink (August 25, 2016)

Available by popular demand, the latest installment of the beloved, award-winning Pushing the Limits series

Tough and independent, seventeen-year-old Abby lets very few people into her inner circle. It's common...


The End of the Wild

by Nicole Helget Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (April 11, 2017)

A modern, beautifully written story set against the backdrop of the controversial issue of fracking that explores the timely themes of poverty, environmental protection, what makes a family, and finding your...


The Many Reflections of Miss Jane Deming

by J. Anderson Coats Atheneum Books for Young Readers (February 28, 2017)

High-spirited young Jane is excited to be part of Mr. Mercer’s plan to bring Civil War widows and orphans to Washington Territory—but life out west isn’t at all what she expects in this novel that’s...


Crossing the Tracks

by Barbara Stuber Margaret K. McElderry Books (July 06, 2010)

At fifteen, Iris is a hobo of sorts—no home, no family, no plan. Her mother died when she was six, and her selfish father hires her out as a companion to a country doctor’s elderly mother. Iris, stuck in...


Swoon

by Nina Malkin Simon Pulse (May 19, 2009)

Torn from her native New York City and dumped in the land of cookie-cutter preps, Candice is resigned to her posh, dull fate. Nothing ever happens in Swoon, Connecticut . . . until Dice’s perfect, privileged...


All the Things You Are

by Courtney Sheinmel Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (June 14, 2011)

A girl’s perfect life falls apart when her mother is arrested for a white collar crime in this novel School Library Journal calls “realistic yet positive.”

Carly Wheeler lives a charmed life. Her mother...


Swear

by Nina Malkin Simon Pulse (October 18, 2011)

A promise broken. A bond betrayed. What do you do when an oath of devotion threatens to destroy the one you love? “The drama is high” (Booklist) in this paranormal sequel to Swoon.

It’s been six months...


Will's Story

by Jaye Robin Brown HarperTeen (April 05, 2016)

Will McKinney is a bad boy. At least, he used to be. After nearly getting arrested for some poor decisions involving prescription drugs, Will has been trying to turn over a new leaf. Well, it’s that or suffer...


Six Impossible Things

by Fiona Wood Poppy (August 11, 2015)

In this charming story of one guy's efforts to get it together when his life is falling apart, award-winning author Fiona Wood introduces an irresistible voice and a delightfully awkward character who is impossible...


Red Butterfly

by A.L. Sonnichsen & Amy June Bates Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (February 03, 2015)

A young orphaned girl in modern-day China discovers the meaning of family in this “heartbreaking, heartwarming, and impressive debut” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) told in verse, in the tradition of...