Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Family / Adoption

Best Selling

Language

All

English (31)

French (3)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (3)

 

Category

Delete Adoption

 

Audience

Young adult (1)

Advanced reader (2)

 

Publisher

 

Total Loans

All (24)

20 - 40 (24)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 31 of 31 Sorted by : 

Mean Margaret

by Tor Seidler & Jon Agee Atheneum Books for Young Readers (October 07, 2014)

Unconditional kindness is the key in this National Book Award Finalist from the author of The Wainscott Weasel about nontraditional families, adoption, love—and a little peace and quiet.

Margaret is a mean,...


Lies I Told

by Michelle Zink HarperTeen (April 07, 2015)

Grace Fontaine has everything: beauty, money, confidence, and the perfect family. But it's all a lie.

Grace has been adopted into a family of thieves who con affluent people out of money, jewelry, art, and anything...


Anne of Green Gables

by L. M. Montgomery & Katherine Paterson Aladdin (March 27, 2012)

Anne Shirley is unforgettable, and this beautifully packaged edition of L.M. Montgomery’s classic novel is as memorable as its heroine.

When Anne Shirley arrives at Green Gables, she surprises everyone: first...


Girl in Reverse

by Barbara Stuber Margaret K. McElderry Books (May 13, 2014)

Being adopted isn’t easy—especially when you’re seen as a national enemy. A teen seeks the roots of her identity in this stirring novel from the acclaimed author of Crossing the Tracks.

When Lily was three,...


When the Black Girl Sings

by Bil Wright Simon Pulse (April 07, 2009)

Lahni Schuler is the only black student at her private prep school. She's also the adopted child of two loving, but white, parents who are on the road to divorce. Struggling to comfort her mother and angry with...


The Little Leftover Witch

by Florence Laughlin Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (August 27, 2013)

A little lost witch undergoes a magical transformation when she’s loved by a human family in this heartwarming story.

When Felina, a little witch, breaks her broom on Halloween and can’t fly home, she is...


The Callender Papers

by Cynthia Voigt Atheneum Books for Young Readers (March 26, 2013)

Think carefully. That’s the advice Jean Wainwright always gets from her beloved Aunt Constance, Jean’s guardian and headmistress at the boarding school where she lives. It’s advice that proves valuable...


Where I'd Like To Be

by Frances O'Roark Dowell Atheneum Books for Young Readers (March 26, 2013)

A ghost saved twelve-year-old Maddie’s life when she was an infant, her Granny Lane claims, so Maddie must always remember that she is special. But it’s hard to feel special when you’ve spent your life...


The Secret Room

by Antonia Michaelis Sky Pony (December 18, 2012)

Achim is eleven years old when he moves from the orphanage to the house by the sea. Here everything is strange and new. But one day he discovers an unusual door that leads to a circular room with walls made...


Pepper

by Danielle Inc. Findlay & Sean and Cody Domnizelles Publications Inc. (February 21, 2013)

Mr. and Mrs. Greene get the surprise of a lifetime when they discover a baby girl in their prized pepper patch. Pepper blossoms into a beautiful girl with fiery red hair, emerald eyes and a kind and caring spirit....


The Whale

by Cynthia Rylant & Preston McDaniels Beach Lane Books (July 17, 2012)

Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant brings the peaceful sounds, sights, and characters of the coast vividly to life in the second book of the Lighthouse Family series, in which the family helps reunite a baby beluga...


TWIN TAILS: Song of The Siren

by Cillyart (Cindy M Bowles) & Cillyart (Cindy M Bowles) Cindy M Bowles dba CILLYart4U (October 01, 2017)

Discovering that their allergy to the sea has a mystical link to their past, Marina and Perla have already begun to embrace their uniqueness. However, the shrill wailing coming from the ocean that only they...


White Lies

by Mark O'Sullivan Little Island Books (March 18, 2010)

Nance, a young black girl, is trying to piece together the true story of her adoption, beginning with a newly-discovered photograph of herself as a baby. OD, her boyfriend, is struggling to cope with his crumbling...


TWIN TAILS of Mason Beach

by Cindy M (Cillyart) Bowles Cindy M Bowles dba CILLYart4U (June 01, 2017)

What led Mateo and Marnie Perez to the greatest treasure they could hope for?

Twin baby girls come into their life in the most extraordinary way, but they soon find out that their discovery is even more mystical...


Patina

by Jason Reynolds Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books (August 29, 2017)

The sequel to National Book Award Finalist Ghost and a New York Times bestseller

A newbie to the track team, Patina must learn to rely on her teammates as she tries to outrun her personal demons in this follow-up...


The Bodies of the Ancients

by Lydia Millet Big Mouth House (December 19, 2016)

In the third and final installment in the thrilling Dissenters series, the Sykes family are hoping to enjoy a normal Cape Cod summer. But there are strong and surprising forces lined up against them and there...


Anne of Avonlea

by L. M. Montgomery & Jane Leslie Conly Aladdin (March 06, 2012)

L.M. Montgomery published Anne of Green Gables, her first novel about Anne Shirley, in 1908, and went on to write seven more books about the impulsive, romantic dreamer with a redheaded temper. In this second...


The Crying Rocks

by Janet Taylor Lisle Atheneum Books for Young Readers (May 16, 2017)

From Newbery Honor author Janet Taylor Lisle comes a lyrical story about one girl’s discovery of her startling past—and her search to understand her complicated present.

Joelle’s height and dark skin set...


Hattie Peck

by Emma Levey Sky Pony (March 15, 2016)

Poor Hattie Peck simply loves eggs, but she has only ever laid one egg—and it never hatched. Eggs are all she thinks about, all she dreams about. No egg is too big; no egg is too small. So if she can’t lay...


My So-Called Family

by Courtney Sheinmel Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (October 21, 2008)

Leah Hoffman-Ross just moved to New York and she wants her new friends to think she's a typical thirteen-year-old. But Leah has a secret: She doesn't have a father; she has a donor. Before Leah was born, her...


Spelldown

by Karon Luddy Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (June 17, 2008)

Thirteen-year-old Karlene Bridges is the best speller in her family, her hometown, and maybe even all of Shirley County, South Carolina. The trouble is, every time she makes it to the final round of a spelling...


Found

by Margaret Peterson Haddix Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (April 22, 2008)

Thirteen-year-old Jonah has always known that he was adopted, and he's never thought it was any big deal. Then he and a new friend, Chip, who's also adoped, begin receiving mysterious letters. The first one...


The Accidental Orphan

by Constance Horne Dundurn (March 01, 1998)

Ellen, 11, becomes a stowaway aboard a steamship bound for Canada in 1885 an unwilling member of a band of orphans headed for new families on the Prairies.


The Eagle

by Cynthia Rylant & Preston McDaniels Beach Lane Books (March 15, 2016)

Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant brings the peaceful sounds, sights, and characters of the coast vividly to life in the third book of the Lighthouse Family series, in which the family discovers the beauty of...


The Turtle

by Cynthia Rylant & Preston McDaniels Beach Lane Books (March 15, 2016)

Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant brings the peaceful sounds, sights, and characters of the coast vividly to life in the fourth book of the Lighthouse Family series, in which the family rescues a trapped turtle....


The Octopus

by Cynthia Rylant & Preston McDaniels Beach Lane Books (March 15, 2016)

Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant brings the peaceful sounds, sights, and characters of the coast vividly to life in the fifth book of the Lighthouse Family series, in which the family explores the shore with...


The Adventures of Lettie Peppercorn

by Sam Gayton & Poly Bernatene Margaret K. McElderry Books (February 02, 2016)

An alchemist peddles a new magical invention—and the key that could unlock Lettie Peppercorn’s family secrets—in this quirky “tale of self-discovery, family, and friendship” (The Independent).

Lettie...


Riding the Universe

by Gaby Triana HarperTeen (May 05, 2009)

Chloé Rodriguez values three things above all else—her family; her best friend, Rock; and Lolita, her Harley-Davidson 1200 Sportster. With a black body, blue airbrushed flames, and perfect sloping ape hangers,...


Promises I Made

by Michelle Zink HarperTeen (November 24, 2015)

In the thrilling sequel to Lies I Told, Grace learns that the most difficult thing about pulling off the perfect crime is living with the consequences. Fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger...


Between Mom and Jo

by Julie Peters Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (December 17, 2007)

Nick has a three-legged dog named Lucky, some pet fish, and two moms who think he's the greatest kid ever. And he happens to think he has the greatest Moms ever, but everything changes when his birth mom and...


Thunder from the Sea

by Joan Hiatt Harlow Margaret K. McElderry Books (May 11, 2010)

It's 1929 and thirteen-year-old Tom Campbell has always wanted a real family with a real house and a dog of his very own. Since he was three years old, the only home he has ever known has been the Mission orphanage....