Juvenile / History / United States / 20th Century

Best Selling

Language

All

English (26)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (5)

 

Category

Delete 20th Century

 

Audience

Adult (26)

 

Publisher

HarperCollins (5)

Aladdin (5)

 

Total Loans

All (21)

20 - 40 (21)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 26 of 26 Sorted by : 

Cesar Chavez

by Gary Soto & Lori Lohstoeter Aladdin (June 25, 2008)

¡Viva la causa!

¡Viva César Chávez!

Up and down the San Joaquin Valley of California, and across the country, people chanted these words. Cesar Chavez, a migrant worker himself, was helping Mexican Americans...


Meet Me in St. Louis: The 1904 St. Louis World's Fair

by Robert Jackson HarperCollins (November 30, 2010)

You are holding a ticket to one of the largest and most magnificent celebrations of all time -- the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair!

For seven months nearly twenty million visitors from around the globe flooded the...


Six Days in October: The Stock Market Crash of 1929; A Wall Street Jour

by Karen Blumenthal Atheneum Books for Young Readers (February 12, 2013)

Over six terrifying, desperate days in October 1929, the fabulous fortune that Americans had built in stocks plunged with a fervor never seen before. At first, the drop seemed like a mistake, a mere glitch in...


They Had a Dream

by Jules Archer Sky Pony (January 26, 2016)

The majority of the civil rights movement in the United States occurred in three stages. The first stage began with the slaves in America fighting for their freedom. Frederick Douglass was a key player from...


Three Days at the Brink: Young Readers' Edition

by Bret Baier & Catherine Whitney HarperCollins (October 22, 2019)

This young readers’ edition from New York Times bestselling author and Fox News anchor Bret Baier dives into the first of the secret World War II meetings between President Franklin Roosevelt, Winston Churchill,...


Lizzie Borden

by Michael Burgan Aladdin (October 02, 2018)

Get a behind-the-scenes glimpse of what it takes to be considered one of the worst figures in history, with this fourth book in a nonfiction series that focuses on the most nefarious historical figures.

Lizzie...


Code Girls

by Liza Mundy Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (October 09, 2018)

In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II.

More than...


Three Days in Moscow Young Readers' Edition

by Bret Baier & Catherine Whitney HarperCollins (May 15, 2018)

A gripping historical account of President Ronald Reagan’s battle to end the Cold War, adapted for young readers from the book by #1 bestselling author and Fox News Channel anchor Bret Baier

On May 31, 1988,...


Unraveling Freedom: The Battle for Democracy on the Homefront During World War I (History (US))

by Ann Bausum & National Geographic Kids National Geographic Kids (September 06, 2017)

In 1915, the United States experienced the 9/11 of its time. A German torpedo sank the Lusitania killing nearly 2,000 innocent passengers. The ensuing hysteria helped draw the United States into World War I—the...


Superman versus the Ku Klux Klan: The True Story of How the Iconic Superhero Battled the Men of Hate (History (US))

by Rick Bowers & National Geographic Kids National Geographic Kids (September 06, 2017)

This book tells a group of intertwining stories that culminate in the historic 1947 collision of the Superman Radio Show and the Ku Klux Klan. It is the story of the two Cleveland teenagers who invented Superman...


Marching to the Mountaintop: How Poverty, Labor Fights and Civil Rights Set the Stage for Martin Luther King Jr's Final Hours (History (US))

by Ann Bausum, National Geographic Kids & Jim Lawson National Geographic Kids (September 06, 2017)

In early 1968 the grisly on-the-job deaths of two African-American sanitation workers in Memphis, Tennessee, prompted an extended strike by that city's segregated force of trash collectors.

Workers sought union...


Bonnie and Clyde

by James Buckley Aladdin (April 03, 2018)

Get a behind-the-scenes glimpse of what it takes to be considered two of the worst figures in history, with the third book in this nonfiction series that focuses on the most despicable historical figures.

Bonnie...


Becoming Kareem

by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar & Raymond Obstfeld Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (November 07, 2017)

In his first memoir written especially for young readers, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar will focus on his relationships with several important coaches in his life - including his father, his high-school coach and Coach...


Streetcar to Justice

by Amy Hill Hearth Greenwillow Books (January 02, 2018)

Starred reviews hail Streetcar to Justice as "a book that belongs in any civil rights library collection" (Publishers Weekly) and "completely fascinating and unique” (Kirkus). 

An ALA Notable Book

Bestselling...


The Great Depression: Experience the 1930s from the Dust Bowl to the New Deal

by Marcia Amidon Lusted & Tom Casteel Nomad Press (February 22, 2016)

In The Great Depression: Experience the 1930s From the Dust Bowl to the New Deal, readers ages 12 to 15 investigate the causes, duration, and outcome of the Great Depression, the period of time when more than...


GREAT WORLD WAR II PROJECTS: YOU CAN BUILD YOURSELF

by Sheri Bell-Rehwoldt Nomad Press (July 15, 2006)

From spy maps and victory banners to spotter planes and ration cakes, Great World War II Projects You Can Build Yourself brings one of the most defining periods of American and world history to life through...


The Roaring Twenties: Discover the Era of Prohibition, Flappers, and Jazz

by Marcia Amidon Lusted & Jennifer Keller Nomad Press (July 21, 2014)

The 1920s is one of the most fascinating decades in American history, when the seeds of modern American life were sown. It was a time of prosperity and recovery from war, when women's roles began to change and...


Harry S. Truman

by George E. Stanley & Meryl Henderson Aladdin (May 11, 2010)

One of the most popular series ever published for young Americans, these classics have been praised alike by parents, teachers, and librarians. With these lively, inspiring, fictionalized biographies -- easily...


10,000 Days of Thunder

by Philip Caputo Atheneum Books for Young Readers (November 15, 2011)

It was the war that lasted ten thousand days. The war that inspired scores of songs. The war that sparked dozens of riots. And in this stirring chronicle, Pulitzer Prize- winning journalist Philip Caputo writes...


Hello, America

by Livia Bitton-Jackson Simon Pulse (November 01, 2011)

The year is 1951 and eighteen-year-old Elli and her mother arrive in New York City. Finally they can leave behind bitter Holocaust memories and become real Americans! From office filing all day, to the challenge...


Mr. Rogers

by George E. Stanley & Meryl Henderson Aladdin (May 11, 2010)

One of the most popular series ever published for young Americas, these classics have been praised alike by parents, teachers, and librarians. With these lively, inspiring, fictionalized biographies -- easily...


The Harlem Hellfighters

by Walter Dean Myers & Bill Miles HarperCollins (October 06, 2009)

New York Times bestselling author Walter Dean Myers and renowned filmmaker Bill Miles deftly tell the true story of the unsung American heroes of the 369th Infantry Regiment of World War I in The Harlem Hellfighters:...


The Incredible '60s

by Jules Archer & Todd Gitlin Sky Pony (August 04, 2015)

We often remember the 1960s as a time of peace and love, but it was also a time of assassinations, riots, and an unpopular war. Furthermore, more than three million people took to the streets in violent antiwar...


World War II

by Stuart A.P. Murray Sky Pony (July 07, 2015)

The Fact Atlas series offers an age-appropriate overview of the historic and world-changing events of World War II, covering everything from the rise of Hitler and Nazism to the tragedy of the Holocaust and...


Now Is Your Time!: The African-American Struggle for Freedo

by Walter Dean Myers HarperCollins (October 06, 2009)

History has made me an African American. It is an Africa that I have come from, and an America that I have helped to create.

Since they were first brought as captives to Virginia, the people who would become...


Watergate

by Jules Archer & Roger Stone Sky Pony (June 23, 2015)

With expert storytelling skills, historian Jules Archer recounts the complete story of Watergate, from that first fateful predawn Saturday morning—June 18, 1972—when night watchman Frank Willis discovered...