Occult & Supernatural / Gothic

Best Selling

Language

All

English (27)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (3)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (1)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (1)

Last 30 days (1)

Current year (3)

 

Category

Delete Gothic

 

Audience

Adult (27)

 

Publisher

Open BookShelf (10)

 

Total Loans

All (14)

20 - 40 (8)

40 - 100 (6)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 27 of 27 Sorted by : 

Rebecca

by Daphné Du Maurier Little, Brown and Company (December 17, 2013)

"Rebecca is a work of immense intelligence and wit, elegantly written, thematically solid, suspenseful.." --Washington Post

"Daphne du Maurier created a scale by which modern women can measure their feelings."...


Dark Angel

by TJ Bennett Entangled Publishing, LLC (October 21, 2013)

Dark Angel by TJ Bennett:

When young widow Catherine Briton is washed ashore, the sole survivor of a violent shipwreck, all she wants is to go home to London. But injured as she is, she can't escape when a shadowy...


The Sisters Mortland

by Sally Beauman Grand Central Publishing (July 09, 2013)

A powerful and haunting story of three sisters and the tragedy at the center of their lives from the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Destiny and Rebecca's Tale.

Summer 1967: In the heart of rural...


A Bloodsmoor Romance

by Joyce Carol Oates Ecco (October 22, 2013)

Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century...


The Accursed

by Joyce Carol Oates Ecco (March 05, 2013)

A major historical novel from "one of the great artistic forces of our time" (The Nation)—an eerie, unforgettable story of possession, power, and loss in early-twentieth-century Princeton, a cultural crossroads...


A Quaint and Curious Volume: Tales and Poems of the Gothic

by Sarah Perry William Collins (September 12, 2019)

Introduced by Sarah Perry, the best-selling author of The Essex Serpent.

Uncanny. Mysterious. Eerie. Gothic.

It draws us in with its air of mystery and repels us with its violence and darkness. But who were...


The Lancashire Witches

by Ainsworth, William Harrison, 1805-1882 Open BookShelf (October 15, 2018)

Ainsworth's last masterpiece, The Lancashire Witches proved a best-seller in its day and influenced many contemporary authors. The Lancashire Witches begins in the 16th century, in Lancashire, England. When...


Trilby

by George Du Maurier Open BookShelf (March 25, 2018)

Trilby (1894) is a gothic horror novel by George du Maurier and one of the most popular novels of its time, perhaps the second best selling novel of the Fin de siècle period after Bram Stoker's Dracula. Trilby...


Northanger Abbey

by Jane Austen Open BookShelf (March 25, 2018)

Jane Austen’s first novel, Northanger Abbey—published posthumously in 1818—tells the story of Catherine Morland and her dangerously sweet nature, innocence, and sometime self-delusion. Though Austen’s...


Carmilla

by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu Open BookShelf (March 25, 2018)

"Carmilla" is a Gothic novella by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu. First published in 1872, it tells the story of a young woman's susceptibility to the attentions of a female vampire named Carmilla. "Carmilla" predates...


The Scarlet Letter

by Nathaniel Hawthorne Open BookShelf (March 25, 2018)

The Scarlet Letter, published in 1850, is an American novel written by Nathaniel Hawthorne and is generally considered to be his magnum opus. Set in 17th-century Puritan Boston, it tells the story of Hester...


The House of the Seven Gables

by Nathaniel Hawthorne Open BookShelf (March 25, 2018)

In a sleepy little New England village stands a dark, weather-beaten, many-gabled house. This brooding mansion is haunted by a centuries-old curse that casts the shadow of ancestral sin upon the last four members...


The Man

by Bram Stoker Open BookShelf (March 25, 2018)

In The Man, the renowned author of Dracula delves into lush Gothic romance. This tale brings the mystery and intrigue that still delights readers of Dracula into the realm of romance, and will disappoint neither...


The Marble Faun

by Nathaniel Hawthorne Open BookShelf (March 25, 2018)

The Marble Faun is Hawthorne's most unusual romance, and possibly one of the strangest major works of American fiction. Writing on the eve of the American Civil War, Hawthorne set his story in a fantastical...


The Lifted Veil

by George Eliot Open BookShelf (March 25, 2018)

The Lifted Veil is a novella by George Eliot, first published in 1859. Quite unlike the realistic fiction for which Eliot is best known, The Lifted Veil explores themes of extrasensory perception, the essence...


Wieland: or, The Transformation

by Charles Brockden Brown Open BookShelf (March 25, 2018)

Wieland: or, The Transformation: An American Tale is a Gothic novel by Charles Brockden Brown, first published in 1798. It recounts the terrifying story of how Theodore Wieland is driven to madness and murder...


Go to My Grave

by Catriona McPherson St. Martin's Press (October 23, 2018)

From Catriona McPherson, the Agatha-Award winning author of Quiet Neighbors, comes a clever, spine-tingling standalone Gothic thriller.

Go to My Grave is both a classic ‘country house mystery’ and a thriller....


The Woman In The Mirror: A haunting gothic story of obsession, tinged with suspense

by Rebecca James HQ (June 14, 2018)

‘A dark treat’ Kate Riordan, author of The Stranger

Haunting and moving, The Woman in the Mirror is a tale of obsession tinged with suspense, perfect for fans of Tracy Rees and Lulu Taylor.

‘You’ll...


The Savage

by Frank Bill Farrar, Straus and Giroux (November 14, 2017)

In the raucous and action-packed follow-up to Donnybrook, mayhem is still the order of the day-only more so

Frank Bill's America has always been stark and violent. In his new novel, he takes things one step further:...


Son of the Morning

by Joyce Carol Oates Ecco (July 03, 2018)

The latest Ecco reissue of Joyce Carol Oates’ early classics: a fiery gothic tale of doomed fates and demons of biblical proportions in rural New York state

 Nathan Vickery came into the world amid unfortunate...


Mormama

by Kit Reed Tom Doherty Associates (May 30, 2017)

MORMAMA is a riveting supernatural, southern gothic tale from Kit Reed, the author of Where.

*2018 LOCUS AWARD FINALIST FOR BEST HORROR*

*Locus 2017 Recommended Reading List*

One of io9's 20 Amazing New Scifi...


Shattered Memories

by V.C. Andrews Pocket Books (October 31, 2017)

In this finale of the darkly gothic Mirror Sisters trilogy, one twin fears her reunion with sister dearest—from the legendary New York Times bestselling author of Flowers in the Attic and My Sweet Audrina...


Lives of the Monster Dogs

by Kirsten Bakis & Jeff Vandermeer Farrar, Straus and Giroux (May 09, 2017)

The twentieth anniversary of a postmodern classic, blending the gothic novel with bleeding-edge science fiction

After a century of cruel experimentation, a haunted race of genetically and biomechanically uplifted...


The Clairvoyants

by Karen Brown Henry Holt and Co. (February 07, 2017)

"A deliciously modern classic ghost story" Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

The Clairvoyants is Karen Brown’s most hypnotic novel to date--gothic-inflected psychological...


Fireside Gothic

by Andrew Taylor HarperCollins (November 03, 2016)

From the No.1 bestselling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three gothic novellas – Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch – perfect for fans of The Loney...


Little Sister Death

by William Gay Dzanc Books (September 07, 2015)

David Binder is a young, successful writer living in Chicago and suffering from writer’s block. He stares at the blank page, and the blank page stares back harder. So when his agent suggests maybe a lighter...


The Witches of New York

by Ami McKay Harper Perennial (July 11, 2017)

A Buzzfeed Best Gift Book of the Year

“A dark, atmospheric, and feminist story of three women in New York City's Gilded Age, each determined to thrive in a society hell-bent on keeping them down, and using...