Literary / Middle Eastern literature

Best Selling

Language

All

English (13)

French (3)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (3)

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

Delete Middle Eastern literature

 

Audience

Adult (13)

 

Origin

Israeli (5)

Turkish (3)

Egyptian (2)

Persian (1)

 

Publisher

 

Total Loans

All (6)

20 - 40 (6)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 13 of 13 Sorted by : 

The Hilltop: A Novel

by Assaf Gavron Scribner (October 07, 2014)

Mordantly funny and deeply moving, this award-winning novel about life in a West Bank settlement has been hailed as “brilliant” (The New York Times Book Review) and “The Great Israeli Novel [in which]...


Lily la Tigresse

by Alona Kimhi & Dalya Bilu Dalkey Archive Press (November 14, 2013)

The hilarious second novel from actress and bestselling novelist Alona Kimhi holds up a comically warped mirror to contemporary Israel, as well as the very notion of “chick lit.”  The hilarious second...


Children of the Jacaranda Tree: A Novel

by Sahar Delijani Atria Books (June 18, 2013)

New York Times bestselling author Khaled Hosseini says, “Set in post-revolutionary Iran, Sahar Delijani’s gripping novel is a blistering indictment of tyranny, a poignant tribute to those who bear the scars...


We Are All Equally Far from Love

by Adania Shibli & Paul Starkey Clockroot Books (November 07, 2012)

A new award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of Touch

A young woman, asked at work to write a letter to an older man, does as she is told. So begins an enigmatic but passionate love affair conducted entirely...


Kin

by Dror Burstein & Dalya Bilu Dalkey Archive Press (November 13, 2012)

Emil, the unwanted child of two young parents, is adopted by Yoel and Leah, a childless couple. Yet, as the years pass, it becomes clear that Emil doesn't bear much resemblance to the parents who've loved and...


The Few

by Hakan GUNDAY & Alexander Dawe Arcade (March 27, 2018)

“I am here. Where are you?” These desperate words link the two protagonists of Hakan Günday’s raw and fearless novel The Few. Derdâ is an eleven-year-old girl pulled out of boarding school by her...


The Time of Mute Swans

by Ece Temelkuran Arcade (November 07, 2017)

Ankara, the capital city in the heart of Turkey at the crossroads of Europe and Asia, East and West, is a hotspot in the Cold War, torn between communism and conservatism, Western freedoms and traditional ways,...


The Pasha of Cuisine

by Saygin Ersin & Mark Wyers Arcade (September 04, 2018)

For readers of Ken Follett's Kingsbridge series and Richard C. Morais's The Hundred-Foot Journey, a sweeping tale of love and the magic of food set during the Ottoman Empire.

A Pasha of Cuisine is a rare talent...


Unholy Land

by Lavie Tidhar Tachyon Publications (November 06, 2018)

The author of the critically acclaimed, Campbell Award-winning Central Station returns with a subversive new novel evoking The Yiddish Policemen's Union and The City and the City.

When pulp-fiction writer Lior...


I Die by This Country

by Fawzia Zouari, Skyler Artes & Susan Ireland University of Virginia Press (April 11, 2018)

The first novel available to English readers by Fawzia Zouari, one of the most important North African authors writing today, begins with an emergency crew’s arrival at a Parisian apartment. Two emaciated...


The Yacoubian Building

by Alaa Al Aswany HarperCollins e-books (March 17, 2009)

August Book Sense Pick

A fading aristocrat and self-proclaimed ‘scientist of women.’ A purring, voluptuous siren. A young shop-girl enduring the clammy touch of her boss and hating herself for accepting the...


Lies, First Person

by Gail Hareven & Dalya Bilu Open Letter (January 19, 2015)

From the Best Translated Book Award–winning author, a novel of revenge, insanity, lies, and Hitler.


Alexandrian Summer

by Yitzhak Gormezano Goren, Yardenne Greenspan & André Aciman New Vessel Press (April 27, 2015)

Love, lust, and the convulsions of history surge through this dazzling novel about the vanished cosmopolitan world of Alexandria.