Historical / 1939-1945

Best Selling

Language

All

English (33)

French (20)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Category

Delete 1939-1945

 

Publisher

 

Total Loans

All (27)

20 - 40 (16)

40 - 100 (11)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 33 of 33 Sorted by : 

Seas of Crisis: A Novel

by Joe Buff William Morrow (May 17, 2011)

The Allied Powers continue their uncertain and deadly war against the Fascist Berlin–Boer Axis. The Russians remain ostensibly neutral––but their actions hint at something far more dangerous. When the...


Straits of Power

by Joe Buff William Morrow (May 17, 2011)

In his latest mission, Commander Jeffrey Fuller will go head–to–head against his most dangerous adversary yet – his own allies.

Jeffrey Fuller has a new mission – use his cutting–edge submarine Challenger...


Sleep in Peace Tonight

by James MacManus St. Martin's Press (October 07, 2014)

It's January 1941, and the Blitz is devastating England. Food supplies are low, Tube stations in London have become bomb shelters, and U-boats have hampered any hope of easy victory. Though the United States...


The Cherry Harvest

by Lucy Sanna William Morrow (June 02, 2015)

A memorable coming-of-age story and love story, laced with suspense, which explores a hidden side of the home front during World War II, when German POWs were put to work in a Wisconsin farm community . . ....


In My Mother's House

by Margaret McMullan St. Martin's Press (March 18, 2014)

In My Mother's House is a beautiful, haunting, and elegantly crafted novel about a daughter's obsession to understand her mother's staunch commitment to silence about their family's experiences during World...


The Rules of Perspective

by Adam Thorpe Henry Holt and Co. (December 03, 2013)

On April 3, 1945, the advancing American army shells the historic town of Lohenfelde, and the Kaiser-Wilhelm museum. Within the museum's vaults, Heinrich Hoffer is hiding from the bombardment, and trying to...


Tuscan Rose

by Belinda Alexandra Gallery Books (November 19, 2013)

From an international bestselling author comes a richly woven tale of passion, longing, witchcraft, and magic set in Italy during World War II.

A magical, richly woven World War II– era saga filled with passion,...


Jacob's Oath

by Martin Fletcher St. Martin's Press (October 08, 2013)

As World War II winds to a close, Europe's roads are clogged with twenty million exhausted refugees walking home. Among them are Jacob and Sarah, lonely Holocaust survivors who meet in Heidelberg. But Jacob...


Rising Sun, Falling Shadow

Adler Family #2

by Daniel Kalla Tom Doherty Associates (September 24, 2013)

Return to World War II Shanghai in Dan Kalla's thrilling historical novel Rising Sun, Falling Shadow, the sequel to The Far Side of the Sky

It's 1943 and the Japanese juggernaut has swallowed Shanghai and the...


The Keeper of Secrets

by Julie Thomas William Morrow Paperbacks (May 28, 2013)

Beautiful and mysterious, The Keeper of Secrets by Julie Thomas follows a priceless violin across generations—from WWII to Stalinist Russia to the gilded international concert halls of today—and reveals...


The Caine Mutiny: A Novel of World War II

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 1952

by Herman Wouk Little, Brown and Company (January 15, 2013)

The Novel that Inspired the Now-Classic Film The Caine Mutiny and the Hit Broadway Play The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial Herman Wouk's boldly dramatic, brilliantly entertaining novel of life-and mutiny-on a Navy...


The Far Side of the Sky

Adler Family #1

by Daniel Kalla Tom Doherty Associates (June 05, 2012)

November 9, 1938—Kristallnacht—the Nazis unleash a night of terror for Jews all across Germany. Meanwhile, the Japanese Imperial Army rampages through China and tightens its stranglehold on Shanghai, a city...


HHhH

by Laurent Binet & Sam Taylor Farrar, Straus and Giroux (April 24, 2012)

HHhH: "Himmlers Hirn heisst Heydrich", or "Himmler's brain is called Heydrich". The most dangerous man in Hitler's cabinet, Reinhard Heydrich was known as the "Butcher of Prague." He was feared by all and loathed...


The Druggist of Auschwitz

by Dieter Schlesak & John Hargraves Farrar, Straus and Giroux (April 26, 2011)

Dieter Schlesak's haunting novel The Druggist of Auschwitz—beautifully translated from the German by John Hargraves—is a frighteningly vivid portrayal of the Holocaust as seen through the eyes of criminal...


My Shanghai, 1942-1946

by Keiko Itoh Renaissance Books (October 30, 2015)

It is 1942. Shanghai after Pearl Harbor. Newly-arrived Eiko Kishimoto, a twenty-year-old, London-educated Japanese housewife, settles into a privileged existence in the French Concession as a member of the community...


Shoes for Anthony

by Emma Kennedy St. Martin's Press (January 31, 2017)

This 1944 World War Two drama tells the story of Anthony, a boy living in a deprived Welsh village, anticipating the arrival of American troops. Suddenly, a German plane crashes into the village mountain. A...


A Midnight Clear: A Novel

by William Wharton Newmarket Press (April 12, 2011)

Set in the Ardennes Forest on Christmas Eve 1944, Sergeant Will Knott and five other GIs are ordered close to the German lines to establish an observation post in an abandoned chateau. Here they play at being...


The Boat Runner

by Devin Murphy Harper Perennial (September 05, 2017)

National Bestseller

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning...


Borders

by Roy Jacobsen Graywolf Press (October 18, 2016)

A sweeping novel of World War II, set in the Ardennes, from the acclaimed author of Child Wonder

The Ardennes, a forested, mountainous borderland that spans France, Germany, Belgium, and Luxembourg, was crucial...


The Baker's Secret

by Stephen P. Kiernan William Morrow (May 02, 2017)

A tale beautifully, wisely, and masterfully told.” — Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife and Circling the Sun

From the multiple-award-winning, critically acclaimed author of The Hummingbird and The Curiosity...


Goodnight from London

by Jennifer Robson William Morrow Paperbacks (May 02, 2017)

From USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Robson—author of Moonlight Over Paris and Somewhere in France—comes a lush historical novel that tells the fascinating story of Ruby Sutton, an ambitious American...


The Good at Heart

by Ursula Werner Touchstone (February 21, 2017)

Based on the author’s discoveries about her great-grandfather, this stunning debut novel that “powerfully portrays the inner struggles of ordinary people moved to do extraordinary things” (Booklist) takes...


Nightfall Over Shanghai

Adler Family #3

by Daniel Kalla Tom Doherty Associates (January 26, 2016)

Passion, espionage, and battlefield drama: the loves and fears of one remarkable family unfold against the Second World War's Pacific theatre in Daniel Kalla's Nightfall Over Shanghai.

It's 1944 and the Japanese...


The Secrets of Flight

by Maggie Leffler William Morrow Paperbacks (May 03, 2016)

This captivating, breakout novel—told in alternating viewpoints—brings readers from the skies of World War II to the present day, where a woman is prepared to tell her secrets at last.

Estranged from her...


And After the Fire

by Lauren Belfer Harper (May 03, 2016)

National Jewish Book Award Winner!

The New York Times-bestselling author of A Fierce Radiance and City of Light returns with a new powerful and passionate novel—inspired by historical events—about two women,...


The King's Rifle

by Biyi Bandele HarperCollins e-books (October 06, 2009)

It's winter 1944 and the Second World War is entering its most crucial state. A few months ago fourteen-year-old Ali Banana was a blacksmith's apprentice in his rural hometown in West Africa; now he's trekking...


The Italian Brothers: A Documentary Novel of World War II

by Paolo Mastrolilli & Robert Miller Enigma Books (June 01, 2010)

A "documentary fiction" novel, closely based on facts and documents about the author's own family.


The Very Thought of You

by Rosie Alison Washington Square Press (July 05, 2011)

Shortlisted for the 2010 Orange Prize

England, 31st August 1939: The world is on the brink of war. As Hitler prepares to invade Poland, thousands of children are evacuated from London to escape the impending...


The Astounding, the Amazing, and the Unknown

by Paul Malmont Simon & Schuster (July 05, 2011)

Based on an incredible true episode of World War II history, Paul Malmont’s new novel is a rollicking blend of fact and fiction about the men and women who were recruited to defeat the Nazis and ended up creating...


The Blue Star: A Novel

by Tony Earley Little, Brown and Company (March 10, 2008)

Seven years ago, readers everywhere fell in love with Jim Glass, the precocious ten-year-old at the heart of Tony Earley's bestseller Jim the Boy. Now a teenager, Jim returns in another tender and wise story...


by George: A Novel

by Wesley Stace Little, Brown and Company (August 22, 2007)

In the illustrious history of the theatrical Fishers, there are two Georges. One is a peculiar but endearing 11-year-old, raised in the seedy world of `70s boarding houses and backstages, now packed off to school...


The Winds of War

by Herman Wouk Back Bay Books (November 15, 2008)

Like no other masterpiece of historical fiction, Herman Wouk's sweeping epic of World War II is the great novel of America's Greatest Generation.

Wouk's spellbinding narrative captures the tide of global events,...


Blood of the Reich: A Novel

by William Dietrich HarperCollins e-books (June 28, 2011)

“WilliamDietrich...should be read by anyone who loves adventure at its grandest!”—James Rollins, author of Alter of Eden

Atthe height of WWII, a quartet of daring American adventurers pits theircunning...