Scribner

Our Selection

Language

All

English (36)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (1)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (6)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Publisher

Delete Scribner

 

Collection

Scribner (36)

 

Fiction

Literary (14)

Historical (5)

Short Stories (4)

Mystery & Detective (3)

Thrillers (1)

Horror (1)

 

Non-Fiction

Biography & autobiography (4)

Social science (3)

Cooking (1)

History (1)

Medical (1)

Literary collections (1)

 

Total Loans

All (36)

20 - 40 (36)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 36 of 36 Sorted by : 

Pretend I'm Dead

by Jen Beagin Scribner (May 15, 2018)

Shortlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize

Miranda July meets Mary Karr in this brilliant debut novel from Jen Beagin, Whiting Award winner and “one of the freshest voices I've read in years—funny,...


The Mars Room

by Rachel Kushner Scribner (May 01, 2018)

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

LONGLISTED for the MAN BOOKER PRIZE

“Gritty, empathetic, finely rendered, no sugary toppings, and a lot of punches, none of them pulled.” —Margaret Atwood via Twitter

“A page turner…...


In Dust and Ashes

by Anne Holt Scribner (May 01, 2018)

The final nail-biting installment in the ten-part, award-winning Hanne Wilhelmsen series—bestselling in Norway and throughout Europe—from Scandinavia’s most celebrated female crime writer, Anne Holt.

In...


West

by Carys Davies Scribner (April 24, 2018)

“There are many worlds to explore within this deceptively short book, which gallops towards its conclusion with a mythic inevitability. You won’t be able to turn back.”The Guardian

“Slender, stark,...


Up Up, Down Down

by Cheston Knapp Scribner (February 06, 2018)

For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Wells Tower, a “glittering,” (Leslie Jamison), “always smart, often hilarious, and ultimately transcendent” (Anthony Doerr) linked essay collection from the managing...


Where the Line Bleeds

by Jesmyn Ward Scribner (January 16, 2018)

The first novel from National Book Award winner and author of Sing, Unburied, Sing Jesmyn Ward, a timeless Southern fable of brotherly love and familial conflict—“a lyrical yet clear-eyed portrait of a rural...


Manhattan Beach: A Novel

by Jennifer Egan Scribner (October 03, 2017)

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NEW YORK’S “ONE BOOK, ONE NEW YORK” PICK

Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

The daring and magnificent novel from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author....


Sing, Unburied, Sing: A Novel

National Book Award for Fiction 2017

by Jesmyn Ward Scribner (September 05, 2017)

WINNER of the NATIONAL BOOK AWARD and A NEW YORK TIMES TOP 10 BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

A finalist for the Kirkus Prize, Andrew Carnegie Medal, Aspen Words Literary Prize, and a New York Times bestseller, this majestic,...


Mrs. Fletcher: A Novel

by Tom Perrotta Scribner (August 01, 2017)

In this New York Times bestselling novel, Tom Perrotta, whom Time calls “the Steinbeck of suburbia,” delivers a penetrating and hilarious novel about sex, love, and identity on the frontlines of America’s...


Golden Hill

Desmond Elliott Prize 2017, Ondaatje Prize 2017

by Francis Spufford Scribner (June 27, 2017)

A Wall Street Journal Top Ten Fiction Book of 2017 * A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year * A Seattle Times Favorite Book of 2017 * An NPR Best Book of 2017 * A Kirkus Reviews Best Historical Fiction...


House of Names: A Novel

by Colm Toibin Scribner (May 09, 2017)

* A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year

* Named a Best Book of 2017 by NPR, The Guardian, The Boston Globe, St. Louis Dispatch

From the thrilling imagination of bestselling, award-winning Colm Tóibín...


The Fire This Time

by Jesmyn Ward Scribner (August 02, 2016)

A surprise New York Times bestseller, these groundbreaking essays and poems about race—collected by National Book Award-winner Jesmyn Ward and written by the most important voices of her generation—are “thoughtful,...


Ingredienti

by Marcella Hazan & Victor Hazan Scribner (July 12, 2016)

From the inimitable woman who popularized Italian cuisine in America, Marcella Hazan’s simple and elegant manual on how to shop for the best ingredients and prepare the most delicious meals is a must-have...


The State We're In: Maine Stories

by Ann Beattie Scribner (August 11, 2015)

“Ann Beattie at her most magnificent…Her first new collection in ten years...These tales explore the range of emotional states the author is famous for: longing, disaffection, ambivalence, love, regret....


Let Me Explain You: A Novel

by Annie Liontas Scribner (July 14, 2015)

An unforgettable novel about a Greek American family and its enigmatic patriarch from a significant new voice in contemporary literature: “Hilarious yet rich…This debut by Annie Liontas will touch you”...


The Sunken Cathedral: A Novel

by Kate Walbert Scribner (June 09, 2015)

From the highly acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award nominee, a “funny…beautiful…audacious…masterful” (J. Courtney Sullivan, The Boston Globe) novel about the way memory haunts and shapes the...


Almost Famous Women: Stories

by Megan Mayhew Bergman Scribner (January 06, 2015)

From a prizewinning, beloved young author, a provocative collection that explores the lives of colorful, intrepid women in history. “These stories linger in one’s memory long after reading them” (Star...


The Boston Girl: A Novel

by Anita Diamant Scribner (December 09, 2014)

New York Times bestseller!

An unforgettable novel about a young Jewish woman growing up in Boston in the early twentieth century, told “with humor and optimism…through the eyes of an irresistible heroine”...


The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Current Interest 2014

by Jeff Hobbs Scribner (September 23, 2014)

An instant New York Times bestseller, named a best book of the year by The New York Times Book Review, Amazon, and Entertainment Weekly, among others, this celebrated account of a young African-American man...


Nora Webster: A Novel

by Colm Toibin Scribner (August 29, 2014)

From one of contemporary literature’s bestselling, critically acclaimed, and beloved authors: a “luminous” novel (Jennifer Egan, The New York Times Book Review) about a fiercely compelling young widow...


Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War

by Helen Thorpe Scribner (August 05, 2014)

“A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship” (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal...


Chance

by Kem Nunn Scribner (February 18, 2014)

The “disturbing and provocative” (Los Angeles Times) novel about a forensic neuropsychiatrist at the end of his rope—now a Hulu series starring Hugh Laurie and Diane Farr—from award-winning author Kem...


A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in Ireland, London, and New York

by Anjelica Huston Scribner (November 19, 2013)

Anjelica Huston’s “gorgeously written” (O, The Oprah Magazine) memoir is “an elegant, funny, and frequently haunting reminiscence of the first two decades of her life…A classic” (Vanity Fair).

In...


Quiet Dell: A Novel

by Jayne Anne Phillips Scribner (October 15, 2013)

A spectacularly riveting novel based on a real life crime by a con man who preyed on widows: “a brilliant fusion of fact and fiction, Jayne Anne Phillips has written the novel of the year” (Stephen King)—“think...


Doctor Sleep: A Novel

The Shining #2

by Stephen King Scribner (September 24, 2013)

Stephen King returns to the character and territory of one of his most popular novels ever, The Shining, in this instantly riveting novel about the now middle-aged Dan Torrance and the very special twelve-year-old...


The Dogs of Winter

by Kem Nunn Scribner (September 17, 2013)

Heart Attacks is California’s last secret spot—the premier mysto surf haunt, the stuff of rumor and legend. The rumors say you must cross Indian land to get there. They tell of hostile locals and shark-infested...


The Flamethrowers: A Novel

by Rachel Kushner Scribner (April 02, 2013)

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW * New York magazine’s #1 Book of the Year * Best Book of 2013 by: The Wall Street Journal; Vogue; O, The Oprah...


Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

by Melanie Warner Scribner (February 26, 2013)

In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma comes an “indispensable,” (New York Newsday) fascinating, and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.

If...


Four Sisters of Hofei: A History

by Annping Chin Scribner (February 26, 2013)

Four Sisters of Hofei is an intimate encounter with Chinese history, told through the collective memory and stories of four sisters born between 1908 and 1924, and with the benefit of the extraordinary knowledge...


The Testament of Mary

by Colm Toibin Scribner (November 13, 2012)

PROVOCATIVE, HAUNTING AND INDELIBLE, Colm Tóibín’s portrait of Mary presents her as a solitary older woman still seeking to understand the events that become the narrative of the New Testament and the foundation...


She Loves Me Not: New and Selected Stories

by Ron Hansen Scribner (November 13, 2012)

“Beautifully crafted stories from one of our most honored authors” (The New York Times), Ron Hansen’s She Loves Me Not is an acclaimed collection of stunning fiction, three decades in the writing.

Ron Hansen...


Alys, Always: A Novel

by Harriet Lane Scribner (June 12, 2012)

From the author of Her, a suspenseful, assured literary debut that explores the dark side of desire and ambition through one woman's unlikely entry into an elite world and a destiny of her own design.

On a bitter...


Stone Arabia: A Novel

by Dana Spiotta Scribner (July 12, 2011)

Stone Arabia, Dana Spiotta’s moving and intrepid third novel, is about family, obsession, memory, and the urge to create—in isolation, at the margins of our winner-take-all culture.

In the sibling relationship,...


The New Yorker Stories

by Ann Beattie Scribner (November 16, 2010)

When Ann Beattie began publishing short stories in The New Yorker in the mid-seventies, she emerged with a voice so original, and so uncannily precise and prescient in its assessment of her characters’ drift...


The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer

Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction 2011, Guardian First Book Award 2011

by Siddhartha Mukherjee Scribner (November 16, 2010)

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, and now a documentary from Ken Burns on PBS, The Emperor of All Maladies is a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer—from its first documented appearances thousands...


Darkness at Noon: A Novel

by Arthur Koestler Scribner (November 24, 2009)

Originally published in 1941, Arthur Koestler's modern masterpiece, Darkness At Noon, is a powerful and haunting portrait of a Communist revolutionary caught in the vicious fray of the Moscow show trials of...