Social science

Our Selection

Language

All

English (18)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (102)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Feminism & Feminist Theory (6)

Political science (3)

Anthropology (3)

Sociology (2)

Agriculture and food (1)

Espionage (1)

Slavery (1)

Criminology (1)

 

Audience

Adult (18)

 

Publisher

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (18)

AUDIOBOOK (0)

 

Total Loans

All (18)

20 - 40 (18)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 18 of 18 Sorted by : 

Sea People

by Christina Thompson Harper (March 12, 2019)

A blend of Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs, and Steel and Simon Winchester’s Pacific, a thrilling intellectual detective story that looks deep into the past to uncover who first settled the islands of the remote...


Alienated America

by Timothy P. Carney Harper (February 19, 2019)

Now a Washington Post bestseller.

Respected conservative journalist and commentator Timothy P. Carney continues the conversation begun with Hillbilly Elegy and the classic Bowling Alone in this hard-hitting...


Fascism: A Warning

by Madeleine Albright Harper Perennial (January 29, 2019)

#1 New York Times Bestseller

Best Books of 2018 --The Economist

A personal and urgent examination of Fascism in the twentieth century and how its legacy shapes today’s world, written by one of America’s most...


Read & Riot

by Nadya Tolokonnikova HarperOne (October 09, 2018)

"Stylish, striking, and elegantly packaged...as indispensible to confronting, say, your domineering mother-in-law or your local city council as it is to helping foment an ongoing and ever-escalating insurrection...


Barracoon

by Zora Neale Hurston, Deborah G. Plant & Alice Walker Amistad (May 08, 2018)

New York Times Bestseller •  TIME Magazine’s Best Nonfiction Book of 2018 • New York Public Library’s Best Book of 2018 • NPR’s Book Concierge Best Book of 2018 • Economist Book of the...


Not That Bad

by Roxane Gay Harper Perennial (May 01, 2018)

New York Times Bestseller

Edited and with an introduction by Roxane Gay, the New York Times bestselling and deeply beloved author of Bad Feminist and Hunger, this anthology of first-person essays tackles...


Don't Call Me Princess

by Peggy Orenstein Harper Paperbacks (February 27, 2018)

The New York Times bestselling author of Girls & Sex and Cinderella Ate My Daughter delivers her first ever collection of essays—funny, poignant, deeply personal and sharply observed pieces, drawn from three...


All About Love

by bell hooks William Morrow Paperbacks (January 30, 2018)

The acclaimed first volume in bell hooks' "Love Song to the Nation"

“The word ‘love’ is most often defined as a noun, yet . . . we would all love better if we used it as a verb,” writes bell hooks as...


Enemies Within: Communists, the Cambridge Spies and the Making of Modern Britain

by Richard Davenport-Hines William Collins (January 25, 2018)

What pushed Blunt, Burgess, Cairncross, Maclean and Philby into Soviet hands?

With access to recently released papers and other neglected documents, this sharp analysis of the intelligence world examines how...


Vanishing New York

by Jeremiah Moss Dey Street Books (July 15, 2017)

"ESSENTIAL READING FOR FANS OF JANE JACOBS, JOSEPH MITCHELL, PATTI SMITH, LUC SANTE AND CHEAP PIEROGI."--VANITY FAIR

An unflinching chronicle of gentrification in the twenty-first century and a love letter to...


Sex Object

by Jessica Valenti Dey Street Books (June 07, 2016)

New York Times Bestseller

NPR Best Book of 2016

“Sharp and prescient… The appeal of Valenti’s memoir lies in her ability to trace objectification through her own life, and to trace what was for a long time...


Growing Up in New Guinea

by Margaret Mead William Morrow (May 10, 2016)

Following the sensational success of her first book, Coming of Age in Samoa, Margaret Mead continued her brilliant work in Growing Up in New Guinea, detailing her study of the Manus, a New Guinea people still...


Coming of Age in Samoa

by Margaret Mead William Morrow (May 10, 2016)

Rarely do science and literature come together in the same book.  When they do -- as in Charles Darwin's On the Origin of Species, for example -- they become classics, quoted and studied by scholars and the...


The Way of the Gun

by Iain Overton Harper (March 22, 2016)

In this compelling and revelatory book, an investigative journalist explores the lifecycle of the gun—following those who make firearms, sell them, use them, and die by them—with a special emphasis on the...


The Social Sex

by Marilyn Yalom & Theresa Donovan Brown Harper Perennial (September 22, 2015)

“Fascinating . . . The Social Sex is a paean to companionship. Share it with a bosom friend.” —NPR

From historian and acclaimed feminist author of How the French Invented Love and A History of the Wife...


I Am Not a Slut

by Leora Tanenbaum Harper Perennial (February 03, 2015)

The author of the groundbreaking work Slut! explores the phenomenon of slut-shaming in the age of sexting, tweeting, and “liking.” She shows that the sexual double standard is more dangerous than ever before...


The Chain

by Ted Genoways Harper (October 14, 2014)

A harrowing investigation of the tortuous path our food products take—from slaughter to Spam

On the production line in American packing-houses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Under pressure...


The True Believer: Thoughts on the Nature of Mass Movements

by Eric Hoffer HarperCollins e-books (May 10, 2011)

A part of Harper Perennial’s special “Resistance Library” highlighting classic works that illuminate the “Age of Trump”: A boldly packaged reissue of the classic examination of dangerous nationalist...