Social science

Our Selection

Language

All

English (27)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (1)

Current year (2)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Feminism & Feminist Theory (7)

Political science (6)

Sociology (6)

Agriculture and food (2)

Criminology (2)

Slavery (1)

Discrimination & Race Relations (1)

Regional Studies (1)

Espionage (1)

Future Studies (1)

 

Publisher

Simon & Schuster (8)

 

Total Loans

All (75)

20 - 40 (27)

40 - 100 (48)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 27 of 27 Sorted by : 

Alienated America

by Timothy P. Carney Harper (February 19, 2019)

Respected conservative journalist and commentator Timothy P. Carney continues the conversation begun with Hillbilly Elegy and the classic Bowling Alone in this hard-hitting analysis that identifies the true...


Fascism: A Warning

by Madeleine Albright Harper Perennial (January 29, 2019)

#1 New York Times Bestseller

Best Books of 2018 --The Economist

A personal and urgent examination of Fascism in the twentieth century and how its legacy shapes today’s world, written by one of America’s most...


What Would Cleopatra Do?

by Elizabeth Foley & Beth Coates Scribner (October 23, 2018)

Irreverent, inspirational, and a visual delight, What Would Cleopatra Do? shares the wisdom and advice passed down from Cleopatra, Queen Victoria, Dorothy Parker, and forty-seven other heroines from past eras...


Read & Riot

by Nadya Tolokonnikova HarperOne (October 09, 2018)

"Stylish, striking, and elegantly packaged...as indispensible to confronting, say, your domineering mother-in-law or your local city council as it is to helping foment an ongoing and ever-escalating insurrection...


Barracoon

by Zora Neale Hurston, Deborah G. Plant & Alice Walker Amistad (May 08, 2018)

New York Times Bestseller

Amazon's Best History Book of the Year 2018

TIME Magazine’s Best Nonfiction Book of 2018

New York Public Library’s Best Book of 2018

NPR’s Book Concierge Best Book of 2018

Economist...


Not That Bad

by Roxane Gay Harper Perennial (May 01, 2018)

New York Times Bestseller

Edited and with an introduction by Roxane Gay, the New York Times bestselling and deeply beloved author of Bad Feminist and Hunger, this anthology of first-person essays tackles...


Don't Call Me Princess

by Peggy Orenstein Harper Paperbacks (February 27, 2018)

The New York Times bestselling author of Girls & Sex and Cinderella Ate My Daughter delivers her first ever collection of essays—funny, poignant, deeply personal and sharply observed pieces, drawn from three...


All About Love

by bell hooks William Morrow Paperbacks (January 30, 2018)

THE ACCLAIMED FIRST VOLUME IN HER "LOVE SONG TO THE NATION"

“The word ‘love’ is most often defined as a noun, yet . . . we would all love better if we used it as a verb,” writes bell hooks as she comes...


Enemies Within: Communists, the Cambridge Spies and the Making of Modern Britain

by Richard Davenport-Hines William Collins (January 25, 2018)

What pushed Blunt, Burgess, Cairncross, Maclean and Philby into Soviet hands?

With access to recently released papers and other neglected documents, this sharp analysis of the intelligence world examines how...


Vanishing New York

by Jeremiah Moss Dey Street Books (July 15, 2017)

"ESSENTIAL READING FOR FANS OF JANE JACOBS, JOSEPH MITCHELL, PATTI SMITH, LUC SANTE AND CHEAP PIEROGI."--VANITY FAIR

An unflinching chronicle of gentrification in the twenty-first century and a love letter to...


My Own Words

by Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Mary Hartnett & Wendy W. Williams Simon & Schuster (October 04, 2016)

The first book from Ruth Bader Ginsburg since becoming a Supreme Court Justice in 1993—a witty, engaging, serious, and playful collection of writings and speeches from the woman who has had a powerful and...


How Everything Became War and the Military Became Everything

by Rosa Brooks Simon & Schuster (August 09, 2016)

“A dynamic work of reportage” (The New York Times) written “with clarity and...wit” (The New York Times Book Review) about what happens when the ancient boundary between war and peace is erased.

Once,...


The Fire This Time

by Jesmyn Ward Scribner (August 02, 2016)

A surprise New York Times bestseller, these groundbreaking essays and poems about race—collected by National Book Award-winner Jesmyn Ward and written by the most important voices of her generation—are “thoughtful,...


Sex Object

by Jessica Valenti Dey Street Books (June 07, 2016)

New York Times Bestseller

NPR Best Book of 2016

“Sharp and prescient… The appeal of Valenti’s memoir lies in her ability to trace objectification through her own life, and to trace what was for a long time...


This Brave New World: India, China, and the United States

by Anja Manuel Simon & Schuster (May 10, 2016)

“By turns alarming and encouraging…Manuel delineates with clarity [why] the US must attend closely to…harmonious future relations with China and India” (Kirkus Reviews) and why our obsession with China...


The Way of the Gun

by Iain Overton Harper (March 22, 2016)

In this compelling and revelatory book, an investigative journalist explores the lifecycle of the gun—following those who make firearms, sell them, use them, and die by them—with a special emphasis on the...


And Then All Hell Broke Loose

by Richard Engel Simon & Schuster (February 09, 2016)

A major New York Times bestseller by NBC’s Chief Foreign Correspondent Richard Engel—this riveting story of the Middle East revolutions, the Arab Spring, war, and terrorism seen close up “should be required...


The Social Sex

by Marilyn Yalom & Theresa Donovan Brown Harper Perennial (September 22, 2015)

From historian and acclaimed feminist author of How the French Invented Love and A History of the Wife comes this rich, multifaceted history of the evolution of female friendship.

In today’s culture, the bonds...


I Am Not a Slut

by Leora Tanenbaum Harper Perennial (February 03, 2015)

The author of the groundbreaking work Slut! explores the phenomenon of slut-shaming in the age of sexting, tweeting, and “liking.” She shows that the sexual double standard is more dangerous than ever before...


The Chain

by Ted Genoways Harper (October 14, 2014)

A harrowing investigation of the tortuous path our food products take—from slaughter to Spam

On the production line in American packing-houses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Under pressure...


The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Current Interest 2014

by Jeff Hobbs Scribner (September 23, 2014)

An instant New York Times bestseller, named a best book of the year by The New York Times Book Review, Amazon, and Entertainment Weekly, among others, this celebrated account of a young African-American man...


The New Arabs: How the Millennial Generation is Changing the Middle East

by Juan Cole Simon & Schuster (July 01, 2014)

Renowned blogger and Middle East expert Juan Cole takes us “inside the youth movements in Tunisia, Egypt, and Libya, showing us how activists used technology and social media to amplify their message and connect...


Last Night at the Viper Room

by Gavin Edwards It Books (October 22, 2013)

In Last Night at the Viper Room, acclaimed author and journalist Gavin Edwards vividly recounts the life and tragic death of acclaimed actor River Phoenix—a teen idol on the fast track to Hollywood royalty...


Who Owns the Future?

by Jaron Lanier Simon & Schuster (May 07, 2013)

The “brilliant” and “daringly original” (The New York Times) critique of digital networks from the “David Foster Wallace of tech” (London Evening Standard)—asserting that to fix our economy, we...


Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

by Melanie Warner Scribner (February 26, 2013)

In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma comes an “indispensable,” (New York Newsday) fascinating, and cutting-edge look from the author of The Magic Feather Effect at the scary...


Farewell, Fred Voodoo: A Letter from Haiti

National Book Critics Circle Award for Memoir/Autobiography 2013

by Amy Wilentz Simon & Schuster (January 08, 2013)

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Autobiography, this is a brilliant writer’s account of a long, painful, ecstatic—and unreciprocated—affair with a country that has long fascinated the...


The Way the World Works: Essays

by Nicholson Baker Simon & Schuster (August 07, 2012)

Nicholson Baker, who “writes like no one else in America” (Newsweek), here assembles his best short pieces from the last fifteen years.

The Way the World Works, Baker’s second nonfiction collection, ranges...