Scribner / Non-Fiction

Our Selection

Language

All

English (13)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Publisher

Delete Scribner

 

Collection

Scribner (13)

 

Category

Delete Non-Fiction

 

In category

Biography & autobiography (5)

Social science (4)

Literary collections (2)

History (1)

Cooking (1)

Literary essay (1)

Medical (1)

 

Audience

Adult (13)

 

Total Loans

All (13)

20 - 40 (13)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 13 of 13 Sorted by : 

What Would Cleopatra Do?

by Elizabeth Foley & Beth Coates Scribner (October 23, 2018)

Irreverent, inspirational, and a visual delight, What Would Cleopatra Do? shares the wisdom and advice passed down from Cleopatra, Queen Victoria, Dorothy Parker, and forty-seven other heroines from past eras...


Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know

by Colm Toibin Scribner (October 23, 2018)

From Colm Tóibín, the formidable award-winning author of The Master and Brooklyn, an illuminating, intimate study of Irish culture, history, and literature told through the lives and work of three men—William...


Heavy

by Kiese Laymon Scribner (October 16, 2018)

*Named a Best Book of 2018 by the New York Times, Publishers Weekly, NPR, Broadly, Buzzfeed (Nonfiction), The Undefeated, Library Journal (Biography/Memoirs), The Washington Post (Nonfiction), Southern Living...


The Reckonings

by Lacy M. Johnson Scribner (October 09, 2018)

“Unflinching and honest…both timely and timeless” (Houston Chronicle), this extraordinary collection of essays by the award-winning writer of The Other Side—rooted in her own experience with sexual assault—pursues...


Up Up, Down Down

by Cheston Knapp Scribner (February 06, 2018)

In the tradition of John Jeremiah Sullivan and David Foster Wallace, Cheston Knapp’s Up Up, Down Down “is an always smart, often hilarious, and ultimately transcendent essay collection” (Anthony Doerr,...


The Fire This Time

by Jesmyn Ward Scribner (August 02, 2016)

A surprise New York Times bestseller, these groundbreaking essays and poems about race—collected by National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward and written by the most important voices of her generation—are “thoughtful,...


Ingredienti

by Marcella Hazan & Victor Hazan Scribner (July 12, 2016)

From the inimitable woman who popularized Italian cuisine in America, Marcella Hazan’s simple and elegant manual on how to shop for the best ingredients and prepare the most delicious meals is a must-have...


The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Current Interest 2014

by Jeff Hobbs Scribner (September 23, 2014)

An instant New York Times bestseller, named a best book of the year by The New York Times Book Review, Amazon, and Entertainment Weekly, among others, this celebrated account of a young African-American man...


Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War

by Helen Thorpe Scribner (August 05, 2014)

“A raw, intimate look at the impact of combat and the healing power of friendship” (People): the lives of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and the effect of their military service on their personal...


A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in Ireland, London, and New York

by Anjelica Huston Scribner (November 19, 2013)

Anjelica Huston’s “gorgeously written” (O, The Oprah Magazine) memoir is “an elegant, funny, and frequently haunting reminiscence of the first two decades of her life…A classic” (Vanity Fair).

In...


Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

by Melanie Warner Scribner (February 26, 2013)

In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma comes an “indispensable,” (New York Newsday) fascinating, and cutting-edge look from the author of The Magic Feather Effect at the scary...


Four Sisters of Hofei: A History

by Annping Chin Scribner (February 26, 2013)

Four Sisters of Hofei is an intimate encounter with Chinese history, told through the collective memory and stories of four sisters born between 1908 and 1924, and with the benefit of the extraordinary knowledge...


The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer

Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction 2011, Guardian First Book Award 2011

by Siddhartha Mukherjee Scribner (November 16, 2010)

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, and now a documentary from Ken Burns on PBS, The Emperor of All Maladies is a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer—from its first documented appearances thousands...