Literary essay

Our Selection

Language

All

English (7)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (2)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Category

Delete Literary essay

 

Audience

Adult (7)

 

Publisher

 

Total Loans

All (6)

20 - 40 (6)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 7 of 7 Sorted by : 

Rapture's Roadway

by Virginia Jealous Peter Bishop (February 01, 2019)

After the death of her father, Lonely Planet writer Virginia Jealous travels across the world to document the life of his obsession – the scandalous 20th century poet Laurence Hope – in a unique blend of...


Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know

by Colm Toibin Scribner (October 23, 2018)

From Colm Tóibín, the formidable award-winning author of The Master and Brooklyn, an illuminating, intimate study of Irish culture, history, and literature told through the lives and work of three men—William...


The Genius of Jane Austen

by Paula Byrne Harper Perennial (June 27, 2017)

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne's debut book includes new material that explores the history of Austen stage adaptations, why her books work so well on screen, and what that...


The Year of Reading Dangerously

by Andy Miller Harper Perennial (December 09, 2014)

An editor and writer's vivaciously entertaining, and often moving, chronicle of his year-long adventure with fifty great books (and two not-so-great ones)—a true story about reading that reminds us why we...


So We Read On: How The Great Gatsby Came to Be and Why It Endures

by Maureen Corrigan Little, Brown and Company (September 09, 2014)

The "Fresh Air" book critic investigates the enduring power of The Great Gatsby -- "The Great American Novel we all think we've read, but really haven't."

Conceived nearly a century ago by a man who died believing...


Heroines

by Kate Zambreno Harper Perennial (June 24, 2014)

A manifesto for "toxic girls" that reclaims the wives and mistresses of modernism for literature and feminism.

I am beginning to realize that taking the self out of our essays is a form of repression. Taking...


Reading Like a Writer

by Francine Prose HarperCollins (March 17, 2009)

Long before there were creative-writing workshops and degrees, how did aspiring writers learn to write? By reading the work of their predecessors and contemporaries, says Francine Prose.

In Reading Like a Writer...