Historical

Our Selection

Language

All

English (32)

French (15)

German (0)

Spanish (1)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (2)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (2)

XIXth century (2)

Ancient History (1)

Middle Age (1)

XXth century (<1945) (1)

 

Audience

Adult (32)

 

Publisher

Harper (7)

Ecco (6)

Scribner (5)

 

Total Loans

All (57)

20 - 40 (32)

40 - 100 (25)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 32 of 32 Sorted by : 

The Parting Glass

by Gina Marie Guadagnino Atria Books (March 05, 2019)

Devoted maid Mary Ballard’s world is built on secrets, and it’s about to be ripped apart at the seams, in this lush and evocative debut set in 19th century New York, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters’s...


In Another Time

by Jillian Cantor Harper Perennial (March 05, 2019)

A sweeping historical novel that spans Germany, England, and the United States and follows a young couple torn apart by circumstance leading up to World War II—and the family secret that may prove to be the...


Melmoth

by Sarah Perry Custom House (October 16, 2018)

“Masterful…scary and smart, working as a horror story but also a philosophical inquiry into the nature of will and love. Perry did as much in her richly praised novel The Essex Serpent, but this is a deeper,...


Trinity

by Louisa Hall Ecco (October 16, 2018)

From the acclaimed author of Speak comes a kaleidoscopic novel about Robert Oppenheimer—father of the atomic bomb—as told by seven fictional characters

J. Robert Oppenheimer was a brilliant scientist, a...


Unsheltered

by Barbara Kingsolver Harper (October 16, 2018)

New York Times bestseller

An NPR pick for Best Books of 2018

One of Christian Science Monitor's best fiction reads of 2018

One of Newsweek's Best Books of the year

The New York Times bestselling author of Flight...


The Clockmaker's Daughter

by Kate Morton Atria Books (October 09, 2018)

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“An ambitious, compelling historical mystery with a fabulous cast of characters…Kate Morton at her very best.” —Kristin Hannah

An elaborate tapestry…Morton doesn’t...


The Witch Of Willow Hall: A spellbinding historical fiction debut for Halloween 2018 perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches

by Hester Fox HQ (October 02, 2018)

‘This debut recalls Georgette Heyer, with extra spookiness’ The Times ‘Beautifully written… The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader’ Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

The...


The Sea Queen

The Half-Drowned King #2

by Linnea Hartsuyker Harper (August 14, 2018)

An exhilarating Viking saga filled with the rich history, romantic adventure and political intrigue that have made Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander, George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones, as well as Phillippa...


The Summer Wives

by Beatriz Williams William Morrow (July 10, 2018)

The Summer Wives is an exquisitely rendered novel that tackles two of my favorite topics: love and money. The glorious setting and drama are enriched by Williams’s signature vintage touch. It’s at the...


The Less You Know The Sounder You Sleep

by Juliet Butler Fourth Estate (May 01, 2018)

‘Do yourself a favour and read this wonderful book’ Scotsman

Based on the true story of conjoined Russian twins, Masha and Dasha Krivoshlyapova, The Less You Know the Sounder You Sleep is a tale of survival...


West

by Carys Davies Scribner (April 24, 2018)

Named a Best Book of the Year by The Sunday Times (UK) * The Guardian (UK) * The Washington Independent Review of Books * Sydney Morning Herald * The Los Angeles Public Library * The Irish Independent * Real...


Noir

by Christopher Moore William Morrow (April 17, 2018)

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

The absurdly outrageous, sarcastically satiric, and always entertaining New York Times bestselling author Christopher Moore returns in finest madcap form with this zany noir...


Golden Hill

Desmond Elliott Prize 2017, Ondaatje Prize 2017

by Francis Spufford Scribner (June 27, 2017)

A Wall Street Journal Top Ten Fiction Book of 2017 * A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year * A Seattle Times Favorite Book of 2017 * An NPR Best Book of 2017 * A Kirkus Reviews Best Historical Fiction...


The Essex Serpent

by Sarah Perry Custom House (June 06, 2017)

A Kirkus Review Best Book of 2017 and a Washington Post Notable Work of Fiction. Winner of the British Book Awards Fiction Book of the Year and overall Book of the Year, selected as the Waterstones Book of the...


Crooked Heart

by Lissa Evans Harper (July 28, 2015)

Paper Moon meets the Blitz in this original black comedy, set in World War II England, chronicling an unlikely alliance between a small time con artist and a young orphan evacuee.

When Noel Bostock—aged ten,...


The Revenant: The bestselling book that inspired the award-winning movie

by Michael Punke The Borough Press (May 07, 2015)

Winner of 3 OSCARS including BEST DIRECTOR and BEST ACTOR

Winner of 5 BAFTAS including Best Actor, Best Director and Best Film

Winner of the 2016 Golden Globes for Best Motion Picture – Drama, Best Actor –...


John the Pupil

by David Flusfeder Harper (March 03, 2015)

“A superbly written and intellectually stimulating novel.”—The Independent (London)

Since he was a young boy, John has studied at the Franciscan monastery outside Oxford, under the tutelage of friar and...


The Boston Girl: A Novel

by Anita Diamant Scribner (December 09, 2014)

New York Times bestseller!

An unforgettable novel about a young Jewish woman growing up in Boston in the early twentieth century, told “with humor and optimism…through the eyes of an irresistible heroine”...


Gutenberg's Apprentice

by Alix Christie Harper (September 23, 2014)

An enthralling literary debut that evokes one of the most momentous events in history, the birth of printing in medieval Germany—a story of invention, intrigue, and betrayal, rich in atmosphere and historical...


The Miniaturist

by Jessie Burton Ecco (August 26, 2014)

Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering...


The Story of Land and Sea

by Katy Simpson Smith Harper (August 26, 2014)

Set in a small coastal town in North Carolina during the waning years of the American Revolution, this incandescent debut novel follows three generations of family—fathers and daughters, mother and son, master...


The Visitors

by Sally Beauman Harper (July 08, 2014)

Based on a true story of discovery, The Visitors is New York Times bestselling author Sally Beauman’s brilliant recreation of the hunt for Tutankhamun’s tomb in Egypt’s Valley of the Kings—a dazzling...


A Burnable Book

John Gower #1

by Bruce Holsinger William Morrow (February 18, 2014)

In Chaucer's London, betrayal, murder, royal intrigue, mystery, and dangerous politics swirl around the existence of a prophetic book that foretells the deaths of England's kings. Bruce Holsinger's A Burnable...


The Valley of Amazement

by Amy Tan Ecco (November 05, 2013)

Amy Tan’s The Valley of Amazement is a sweeping, evocative epic of two women’s intertwined fates and their search for identity, that moves from the lavish parlors of Shanghai courtesans to the fog-shrouded...


Quiet Dell: A Novel

by Jayne Anne Phillips Scribner (October 15, 2013)

A spectacularly riveting novel based on a real life crime by a con man who preyed on widows: “a brilliant fusion of fact and fiction, Jayne Anne Phillips has written the novel of the year” (Stephen King)—“think...


Snow Hunters: A Novel

NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award 2014

by Paul Yoon Simon & Schuster (August 06, 2013)

Winner of the Young Lions Fiction Award, Snow Hunters is “a subtle, elegant, poignant read” (Oprah.com), featuring a Korean War refugee who emigrates to Brazil to become a tailor’s apprentice and confronts...


The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells

by Andrew Sean Greer Ecco (June 25, 2013)

From the critically acclaimed author of the New York Times bestseller The Confessions of Max Tivoli comes The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells, a rapturously romantic story of a woman who finds herself transported...


The Son

by Philipp Meyer Ecco (May 28, 2013)

Soon to be a TV Series on AMC starring Pierce Brosnan and co-written by Philipp Meyer.

Now in paperback, the critically acclaimed, New York Times bestselling epic, a saga of land, blood, and power that follows...


Empire of the Sun

James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction 1984

by J. G. Ballard Simon & Schuster (March 19, 2013)

The classic, award-winning novel, made famous by Steven Spielberg's film, tells of a young boy's struggle to survive World War II in China.

Jim is separated from his parents in a world at war. To survive, he...


The House Girl

by Tara Conklin William Morrow (February 12, 2013)

The House Girl, the historical fiction debut by Tara Conklin, is an unforgettable story of love, history, and a search for justice, set in modern-day New York and 1852 Virginia.

Weaving together the story of...


The Song of Achilles

Women's Prize for Fiction 2012

by Madeline Miller Ecco (March 06, 2012)

“At once a scholar’s homage to The Iliad and startlingly original work of art by an incredibly talented new novelist….A book I could not put down.”

—Ann Patchett

“Mary Renault lives again!” declares...


Darkness at Noon: A Novel

by Arthur Koestler Scribner (November 24, 2009)

Originally published in 1941, Arthur Koestler's modern masterpiece, Darkness At Noon, is a powerful and haunting portrait of a Communist revolutionary caught in the vicious fray of the Moscow show trials of...