Medical / History

New Releases

Language

All

English (16)

French (3)

German (0)

Spanish (11)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (1)

Last 30 days (1)

Current year (2)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (3)

Last 30 days (3)

Current year (16)

 

Category

Delete History

 

Audience

Adult (16)

 

Publisher

Blackstone Publishing (5)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (4)

AUDIOBOOK (12)

 

Total Loans

All (9)

20 - 40 (2)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (7)

More options

Results : 1 - 16 of 16 Sorted by : 

Vaccination and Preventive Medicine

by R. M. Pearce & James Walsh Lmp–History and Civilization Coll (April 03, 2020)

This book deals with the Story of Bacteriology and presents a history of Vaccination and Preventive Medicine.

"The story of bacteriology can best be told by recounting the labors of Pasteur, for while bacteria...


The Invention of Surgery

by David Schneider Pegasus Books (March 03, 2020)

Written by an author with plenty of experience holding a scalpel, Dr. David Schneider’s The Invention of Surgery is an in-depth biography of the practice that has leapt forward over the centuries from the...


Radical

by Kate Pickert Little, Brown Spark (October 01, 2019)

In this "powerful and unflinching page-turner" (New York Times), a healthcare journalist examines the science, history, and culture of breast cancer.

As a health-care journalist, Kate Pickert knew the emotional...


Ten Drugs

by Thomas Hager Abrams Press (March 04, 2019)

Behind every landmark drug is a story. It could be an oddball researcher’s genius insight, a catalyzing moment in geopolitical history, a new breakthrough technology, or an unexpected but welcome side effect...


When Death Becomes Life

by Joshua D. Mezrich & Josh Bloomberg HarperAudio (January 15, 2019)

"With When Death Becomes Life, Joshua Mezrich has performed the perfect core biopsy of transplantation--a clear and compelling account of the grueling daily work, the spell-binding history and the unsettling...


Between Hope and Fear

by Michael Kinch Pegasus Books (July 03, 2018)

If you have a child in school, you may have heard stories of long-dormant diseases suddenly reappearing--cases of measles, mumps, rubella, and whooping cough cropping up everywhere from elementary schools to...


The Danger Within Us

by Jeanne Lenzer Little, Brown & Company (December 12, 2017)

"Before you get anything implanted in your body, read this book." - Shannon Brownlee, author of Overtreated

Did you know...

- Medical interventions have become the third leading cause of death in America.

- An...


In Pursuit of Memory

by Joseph Jebelli & Thomas Judd Little, Brown & Company (October 31, 2017)

For readers of Atul Gawande, Siddhartha Mukherjee, and Henry Marsh, a riveting, gorgeously written biography of one of history's most fascinating and confounding diseases--Alzheimer's--from its discovery more...


The Emperor of All Maladies

by Siddhartha Mukherjee & Fred Sanders Simon & Schuster Audio (December 15, 2015)

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, and now a documentary from Ken Burns on PBS, The Emperor of All Maladies is a magnificent, profoundly humane "biography" of cancer--from its first documented appearances thousands...


Jonas Salk

by Charlotte DeCroes Jacobs & Pam Ward Blackstone Publishing (October 06, 2015)

The authoritative account of one of the twentieth century's most important--and controversial--scientists

When a waiting world learned on April 12, 1955, that Jonas Salk had successfully created a vaccine to...


For the Benefit of Those Who See

by Rosemary Mahoney Little, Brown & Company (January 14, 2014)

"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author of...


County

by David A. Ansell, Bronson Pinchot & Quentin Young Blackstone Publishing (October 11, 2011)

The amazing tale of “County” is the story of one of America’s oldest and most unusual urban hospitals. From its inception as a “poor house” dispensing free medical care to indigents, Chicago’s Cook...


The Secret History of the War on Cancer

by Devra Davis & Pam Ward Blackstone Publishing (November 17, 2009)

The war on cancer set out to find, treat, and cure a disease--but it has left untouched many of the things known to cause cancer, including tobacco, the workplace, radiation, and the global environment. Evidence...


Medical Science

by Paul M. Heidger, Richard Eimas, Edwin Newman & Jack Sommer et al. Knowledge Products (January 01, 2007)

Though medical science began with the ancient Greek physician Hippocrates, dissection and the study of the human body was prohibited for religious reasons until the Renaissance. Only in 1628 did William Harvey...


A Story of the Red Cross

by Clara Barton & S. Patricia Bailey Blackstone Publishing (January 01, 2006)

Clara Barton was one of those diminutive New England women of the nineteenth century who was determined to make the world a better place. In 1881, she founded the American Red Cross to help the unfortunate victims...


Scourge

by Jonathan B. Tucker & John Lescault Blackstone Publishing (June 25, 2005)

Smallpox, the only infectious disease to have been eradicated, was one of the most terrifying of human scourges. It covered the skin with hideous, painful boils, killed a third of its victims, and left the survivors...