Medical / History

New Releases

Language

All

English (12)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (12)

 

Category

Delete History

 

Audience

Adult (12)

 

Publisher

Blackstone Publishing (5)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (110)

AUDIOBOOK (12)

 

Total Loans

All (8)

20 - 40 (1)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (7)

More options

Results : 1 - 12 of 12 Sorted by : 

Radical

by Kate Pickert Little, Brown Spark (October 01, 2019)

In this "powerful and unflinching page-turner" (New York Times), a healthcare journalist examines the science, history, and culture of breast cancer.

As a health-care journalist, Kate Pickert knew the emotional...


When Death Becomes Life

by Joshua D. Mezrich & Josh Bloomberg HarperAudio (January 15, 2019)

"With When Death Becomes Life, Joshua Mezrich has performed the perfect core biopsy of transplantation--a clear and compelling account of the grueling daily work, the spell-binding history and the unsettling...


The Danger Within Us

by Jeanne Lenzer Little, Brown & Company (December 12, 2017)

"Before you get anything implanted in your body, read this book." - Shannon Brownlee, author of Overtreated

Did you know...

- Medical interventions have become the third leading cause of death in America.

- An...


In Pursuit of Memory

by Joseph Jebelli & Thomas Judd Little, Brown & Company (October 31, 2017)

For readers of Atul Gawande, Siddhartha Mukherjee, and Henry Marsh, a riveting, gorgeously written biography of one of history's most fascinating and confounding diseases -- Alzheimer's -- from its discovery...


The Emperor of All Maladies

by Siddhartha Mukherjee & Fred Sanders Simon & Schuster Audio (December 15, 2015)

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, and now a documentary from Ken Burns on PBS, The Emperor of All Maladies is a magnificent, profoundly humane "biography" of cancer--from its first documented appearances thousands...


Jonas Salk

by Charlotte DeCroes Jacobs & Pam Ward Blackstone Publishing (October 06, 2015)

The authoritative account of one of the twentieth century's most important--and controversial--scientists

When a waiting world learned on April 12, 1955, that Jonas Salk had successfully created a vaccine to...


For the Benefit of Those Who See

by Rosemary Mahoney Little, Brown & Company (January 14, 2014)

In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable...


County

by David A. Ansell, Bronson Pinchot & Quentin Young Blackstone Publishing (October 11, 2011)

The amazing tale of “County” is the story of one of America’s oldest and most unusual urban hospitals. From its inception as a “poor house” dispensing free medical care to indigents, Chicago’s Cook...


The Secret History of the War on Cancer

by Devra Davis & Pam Ward Blackstone Publishing (November 17, 2009)

The war on cancer set out to find, treat, and cure a disease--but it has left untouched many of the things known to cause cancer, including tobacco, the workplace, radiation, and the global environment. Evidence...


Medical Science

by Paul M. Heidger, Richard Eimas, Edwin Newman & Jack Sommer et al. Knowledge Products (January 01, 2007)

Though medical science began with the ancient Greek physician Hippocrates, dissection and the study of the human body was prohibited for religious reasons until the Renaissance. Only in 1628 did William Harvey...


A Story of the Red Cross

by Clara Barton & S. Patricia Bailey Blackstone Publishing (January 01, 2006)

Clara Barton was one of those diminutive New England women of the nineteenth century who was determined to make the world a better place. In 1881, she founded the American Red Cross to help the unfortunate victims...


Scourge

by Jonathan B. Tucker & John Lescault Blackstone Publishing (June 25, 2005)

Smallpox, the only infectious disease to have been eradicated, was one of the most terrifying of human scourges. It covered the skin with hideous, painful boils, killed a third of its victims, and left the survivors...