Ecco / History

New Releases

Language

All

English (21)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (1)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Publisher

Delete Ecco

 

Category

Delete History

 

In category

History by country (15)

Other (3)

1945-1989 (2)

>1989 (1)

1799-before 1945 (1)

Holocaust (1)

 

Audience

Adult (21)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (21)

AUDIOBOOK (0)

 

Total Loans

All (21)

20 - 40 (21)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 21 of 21 Sorted by : 

Citizen Reporters

by Stephanie Gorton Ecco (February 18, 2020)

A fascinating history of the rise and fall of influential Gilded Age magazine McClure’s and the two unlikely outsiders at its helm—as well as a timely, full-throated defense of investigative journalism in...


We Stand Divided

by Daniel Gordis Ecco (September 10, 2019)

From National Jewish Book Award Winner and author of Israel, a bold reevaluation of the tensions between American and Israeli Jews that reimagines the past, present, and future of Jewish life

Relations between...


Act Natural

by Jennifer Traig Ecco (January 08, 2019)

From a distinctive, inimitable voice, a wickedly funny and fascinating romp through the strange and often contradictory history of Western parenting

Why do we read our kids fairy tales about homicidal stepparents?...


The Impossible State, Updated Edition

by Victor Cha Ecco (October 23, 2018)

In The  Impossible State, seasoned international-policy expert and lauded scholar Victor Cha pulls back the curtain on provocative, isolationist North Korea, providing our best look yet at its history and...


Young Washington

by Peter Stark Ecco (May 01, 2018)

FINALIST FOR THE GEORGE WASHINGTON BOOK PRIZE

A new, brash, and unexpected view of the president we thought we knew, from the bestselling author of Astoria

Two decades before he led America to independence, George...


Chefs, Drugs and Rock & Roll

by Andrew Friedman Ecco (February 27, 2018)

An all-access history of the evolution of the American restaurant chef

Chefs, Drugs and Rock & Roll transports readers back in time to witness the remarkable evolution of the American restaurant chef in the...


When Montezuma Met Cortes

by Matthew Restall Ecco (January 30, 2018)

A dramatic rethinking of the encounter between Montezuma and Hernando Cortés that completely overturns what we know about the Spanish conquest of the Americas

On November 8, 1519, the Spanish conquistador Hernando...


Israel

by Daniel Gordis Ecco (October 18, 2016)

Winner of the Jewish Book of the Year Award

The first comprehensive yet accessible history of the state of Israel from its inception to present day, from Daniel Gordis, "one of the most respected Israel analysts"...


Denial [Movie Tie-in]

by Deborah E. Lipstadt Ecco (September 06, 2016)

In her acclaimed 1993 book Denying the Holocaust, Deborah Lipstadt called David Irving, a prolific writer of books on World War II, “one of the most dangerous spokespersons for Holocaust denial.” The following...


And Still I Rise

by Henry L. Gates & Kevin M. Burke Ecco (October 27, 2015)

The companion book to Henry Louis Gates, Jr.’s PBS series, And Still I Rise—a timeline and chronicle of the past fifty years of black history in the U.S. in more than 350 photos.

Beginning with the assassination...


Circling the Square

by Wendell Steavenson Ecco (July 21, 2015)

What happened to the promise of Tahrir Square and the Arab Spring?

On January 25, 2011, the world was watching Cairo. Egyptians of every stripe came together in Tahrir Square to protest Hosni Mubarak's three...


Smyrna, September 1922

by Lou Ureneck Ecco (May 12, 2015)

The harrowing story of a Methodist Minister and a principled American naval officer who helped rescue more than 250,000 refugees during the genocide of Armenian and Greek Christians—a tale of bravery, morality,...


The Greatest Knight

by Thomas Asbridge Ecco (December 02, 2014)

A renowned scholar brings to life medieval England’s most celebrated knight, William Marshal—providing an unprecedented and intimate view of this age and the legendary warrior class that shaped it.

Caught...


Congo

by David van Reybrouck Ecco (March 25, 2014)

Hailed as "a monumental history . . . more exciting than any novel" (NRC Handelsblad),David van Reybrouck’s rich and gripping epic, in the tradition of Robert Hughes' The Fatal Shore, tells the extraordinary...


Khomeini's Ghost

by Con Coughlin Ecco (March 18, 2014)

From the bestselling author of Saddam comes the definitive biography of Ayatollah Khomeini's Islamic revolution and how his fundamentalist legacy has forever influenced the course of Iran's relationship with...


Astoria

by Peter Stark Ecco (March 04, 2014)

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American...


Mossad

by Michael Bar-Zohar & Nissim Mishal Ecco (November 06, 2012)

For decades, Israel's renowned security arm, the Mossad, has been widely recognized as the best intelligence service in the world. In Mossad, authors Michael Bar-Zohar and Nissim Mishal take us behind the closed...


Up All Night

by Carol Miller Ecco (August 28, 2012)

Carol Miller is indisputably America’s premiere female rock ’n’ roll disc jockey, as her well-deserved induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame proves.

In her illuminating, fascinating, sometimes heartbreaking...


The Impossible State: North Korea, Past and Future

by Victor Cha Ecco (April 03, 2012)

“A meaty, fast-paced portrait of North Korean society, economy, politics and foreign policy.” -Foreign Affairs

The definitive account of North Korea, its veiled past and uncertain future, from the former...


Bobby Fischer Goes to War: How the Soviets Lost the Most Extraordinary Chess Match of All Time

by David Edmonds & John Eidinow Ecco (August 23, 2011)

In the summer of 1972, with a presidential crisis stirring in the United States and the cold war at a pivotal point, two men—the Soviet world chess champion Boris Spassky and his American challenger Bobby...


Hetty

by Charles Slack Ecco (April 05, 2011)

When J. P. Morgan called a meeting of New York's financial leaders after the stock market crash of 1907, Hetty Green was the only woman in the room. The Guinness Book of World Records memorialized her as the...