Basic Books

Recently Added

Language

All

English (35)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (2)

Last 30 days (11)

Current year (35)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (2)

Current year (18)

 

Publisher

Delete Basic Books

 

Non-Fiction

History (16)

Social science (10)

Science and Technics (9)

Human Science (5)

Biography & autobiography (5)

Business & economics (4)

Health & fitness (3)

Computers (2)

Religion (2)

Education and Study aids (2)

Medical (2)

Nature, recreation and sports (1)

Arts (1)

 

Audience

Adult (35)

 

Format

All

PDF (0)

EPUB (35)

AUDIOBOOK (13)

 

Total Loans

All (35)

20 - 40 (0)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (35)

More options

Results : 1 - 35 of 35 Sorted by : 

Meteorite

by Tim Gregory Basic Books (October 12, 2020)

Explore the universe and immerse yourself in the story of our solar system, planet, and life through meteorites.

Meteorites have long been seen as portents of fate and messages from the gods, their fiery remains...


The Illness Narratives

by Arthur Kleinman Basic Books (October 12, 2020)

From one of America's most celebrated psychiatrists, the book that has taught generations of healers why healing the sick is about more than just diagnosing their illness.

Modern medicine treats sick patients...


The Connected Parent

by John Palfrey & Urs Gasser Basic Books (October 05, 2020)

An essential guide for parents navigating the new frontier of hyper-connected kids.

Today's teenagers spend about nine hours per day online. Parents of this ultra-connected generation struggle with decisions...


A Field Guide to a Happy Life

by Massimo Pigliucci Basic Books (September 14, 2020)

A brilliant philosopher reimagines Stoicism for our modern age in this thought-provoking guide to a better life.

For more than two thousand years, Stoicism has offered a message of resilience in the face of hardship....


Distracted

by James M. Lang Basic Books (October 20, 2020)

Keeping students focused can be difficult in a world filled with distractions -- which is why a renowned educator created a scientific solution to one of every teacher's biggest problems.

Why is it so hard to...


Philip and Alexander

by Adrian Goldsworthy Basic Books (October 12, 2020)

This definitive biography of one of history's most influential father-son duos tells the story of two rulers who gripped the world -- and their rise and fall from power.

Alexander the Great's conquests staggered...


A Place for Everything

by Judith Flanders Basic Books (October 20, 2020)

From a New York Times-bestselling historian comes the story of how the alphabet ordered our world.

A Place for Everything is the first-ever history of alphabetization, from the Library of Alexandria to Wikipedia....


What To Expect When You're Expecting Robots

by Laura Major & Julie Shah Basic Books (October 12, 2020)

The next generation of robots will be truly social, but can we make sure that they play well in the sandbox?

Most robots are just tools. They do limited sets of tasks subject to constant human control. But a...


VRx

by Brennan Spiegel Basic Books (October 05, 2020)

A leading doctor unveils the groundbreaking potential of virtual medicine.

Brennan Spiegel has spent years studying the medical power of the mind, and in VRx he reveals a revolutionary new kind of care: virtual...


Morality

by Jonathan Sacks Basic Books (August 31, 2020)

A distinguished religious leader's stirring case for reconstructing a shared framework of virtues and values.

With liberal democracy embattled, public discourse grown toxic, family life breaking down, and drug...


Worked Over

by Jamie K McCallum Basic Books (September 07, 2020)

An award-winning sociologist reveals the unexpected link between overwork and inequality.

Most Americans work too long and too hard, while others lack consistency in their hours and schedules. Work hours declined...


Venus and Aphrodite

by Bettany Hughes Basic Books (September 21, 2020)

A cultural history of the goddess of love, from a New York Times bestselling and award-winning historian.

Aphrodite was said to have been born from the sea, rising out of a froth of white foam. But long before...


Unique

by David Linden Basic Books (September 28, 2020)

Inspired by the abundance of unique personalities available on dating websites, a renowned neuroscientist examines the science of what makes you, you.

David J. Linden has devoted his career to understanding the...


The Rules of Contagion

by Adam Kucharski Basic Books (July 06, 2020)

From ideas and infections to financial crises and fake news, an "utterly timely" look at why the science of outbreaks is the science of modern life

These days, whenever anything spreads, whether it's a YouTube...


A Traitor to His Species

by Ernest Freeberg Basic Books (September 21, 2020)

From an award-winning historian, the outlandish story of the man who gave rights to animals.

In Gilded Age America, people and animals lived cheek-by-jowl in environments that were dirty and dangerous to man...


Every Life Is on Fire

by Jeremy England Basic Books (September 14, 2020)

A preeminent physicist unveils a field-defining theory of the origins and purpose of life.

Why are we alive? Most things in the universe aren't. And everything that is alive traces back to things that, puzzlingly,...


Vanguard

by Martha S. Jones Basic Books (September 07, 2020)

The epic history of African American women's pursuit of political power -- and how it transformed America.

In the standard story, the suffrage crusade began in Seneca Falls in 1848 and ended with the ratification...


Republic of Wrath

by James. A. Morone Basic Books (September 07, 2020)

A prize-winning political scientist untangles the deep roots of tribalism in America.

American politics seems to be in an unprecedented uproar. But in this revelatory work of political history, James A. Morone...


Island Stories

by David Reynolds Basic Books (March 23, 2020)

This history of Britain set in a global context for our times offers a new perspective on how the rise and fall of an empire shaped modern European politics.

When the British voted to leave the European Union...


No Man's Land

by Wendy Moore Basic Books (April 27, 2020)

The "absorbing and powerful" (Wall Street Journal) story of two pioneering suffragette doctors who shattered social expectations and transformed modern medicine during World War I

A month after war broke out...


The Broken Heart of America

by Walter Johnson Basic Books (April 13, 2020)

A searing portrait of the racial dynamics that lie inescapably at the heart of our nation, told through the turbulent history of the city of St. Louis.

From Lewis and Clark's 1804 expedition to the 2014 uprising...


The Betrayal of the Duchess

by Maurice Samuels Basic Books (April 13, 2020)

Fighting to reclaim the French crown for the Bourbons, the duchesse de Berry faces betrayal at the hands of one of her closest advisors in this dramatic history of power and revolution.

The year was 1832, a...


The Sword and the Shield

by Peniel E. Joseph Basic Books (March 30, 2020)

This dual biography of Malcolm X and Martin Luther King upends longstanding preconceptions to transform our understanding of the twentieth century's most iconic African American leaders.

To most Americans, Malcolm...


Fighting Words

by Nancy F. Cott Basic Books (March 16, 2020)

From a Harvard historian, this riveting portrait of four trailblazing American journalists highlights the power of the press in the interwar period.

In the fragile peace following the Great War, a surprising...


Dressed

by Shahidha Bari Basic Books (March 16, 2020)

Perfect for readers of Women in Clothes, this beautifully designed philosophical guide to fashion explores art, literature, and film to uncover the hidden meaning of a well-chosen wardrobe.

We all get dressed....


The Sum of the People

by Andrew Whitby Basic Books (March 30, 2020)

This fascinating three-thousand-year history of the census traces the making of the modern survey and explores its political power in the age of big data and surveillance.

In April 2020, the United States will...


We Know It When We See It

by Richard Masland Basic Books (March 09, 2020)

A Harvard researcher investigates the human eye in this insightful account of what vision reveals about intelligence, learning, and the greatest mysteries of neuroscience.

Spotting a face in a crowd is so easy,...


The Abandonment of the West

by Michael Kimmage Basic Books (April 20, 2020)

This definitive portrait of American diplomacy reveals how the concept of the West drove twentieth-century foreign policy, how it fell from favor, and why it is worth saving.

Throughout the twentieth century,...


Uncrowned Queen

by Nicola Tallis Basic Books (June 01, 2020)

An "impeccably researched and beautifully written" biography of Lady Margaret Beaufort, matriarch of the Tudor dynasty (Tracy Borman, author of The Private Lives of the Tudors and Elizabeth's Women).

In 1485,...


War Fever

by Randy Roberts & Johnny Smith Basic Books (March 23, 2020)

A "marvelous" (Sports Illustrated) portrait of the three men whose lives were forever changed by WWI-era Boston and the Spanish flu: baseball star Babe Ruth, symphony conductor Karl Muck, and Harvard law student...


The Fortress

by Alexander Watson Basic Books (February 24, 2020)

A prizewinning historian tells the dramatic story of the siege that changed the course of the First World War

In September 1914, just a month into World War I, the Russian army laid siege to the fortress city...


A Time to Build

by Yuval Levin Basic Books (January 20, 2020)

A leading conservative intellectual argues that to renew America we must recommit to our institutions

Americans are living through a social crisis. Our politics is polarized and bitterly divided. Culture wars...


American Queenmaker

by Julie Des Jardins Basic Books (January 20, 2020)

The first biography of Missy Meloney, the most important woman you've never heard of

Marie "Missy" Mattingly Meloney was born in 1878, in an America where women couldn't vote. Yet she recognized the power that...


The Dance of Life

by Magdalena Zernicka-Goetz & Roger Highfield Basic Books (February 24, 2020)

A renowned biologist's cutting-edge and unconventional examination of human reproduction and embryo research

Scientists have long struggled to make pregnancy easier, safer, and more successful. In The Dance...


Transcendence

by Gaia Vince Basic Books (January 20, 2020)

In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our species

"A wondrous, visionary...