Social science / Agriculture and food

Recently Added

Language

All

English (23)

French (59)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (0)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (0)

Last 30 days (0)

Current year (5)

 

Category

Delete Agriculture and food

 

Audience

Adult (23)

 

Publisher

Skyhorse (5)

 

Total Loans

All (23)

20 - 40 (23)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 23 of 23 Sorted by : 

Obroni and the Chocolate Factory

by Steven Wallace Skyhorse (November 21, 2017)

What country makes the best chocolate? Most people would answer "Switzerland," or, if they're discerning, "Belgium" or "France." But, how many cocoa trees grow in Zurich? Lyon? Antwerp? Shouldn't the country...


Siesta Lane

by Amy Minato Skyhorse (January 24, 2009)

A poet at heart, Amy Minato rejects her life of consumption in Chicago to go back to nature—specifically, to a commune in Oregon, where she rediscovers herself.


Food Tyrants

by Nicole Faires Skyhorse (June 01, 2013)

When author and homesteader Nicole Faires decided to retrofit an old school bus and tour America’s small farms with her husband and two small children, she expected to learn a lot, be inspired, and have some...


Food Confidential

by Nicole Faires Skyhorse (July 14, 2015)

When author and homesteader Nicole Faires decided to retrofit an old school bus and tour America’s small farms with her husband and two small children, she expected to learn a lot, be inspired, and have some...


Coffee

by H.E. Jacob Skyhorse (March 10, 2015)

“A cup of coffee is a miracle, a wonderful assemblage of relationships”. This classic follows coffee's journey around the world, from London to Brazil, telling in fascinating detail and amusing anecdote the...


Coca Wine

by Aymon de Lestrange Inner Traditions/Bear & Company (December 18, 2018)

A lavishly illustrated history of coca wine and the revolutionary advertising methods that made it a world-wide success

• Follows 19th-century pharmacist Angelo Mariani’s interest in coca from medical uses...


Food and Feeding

by Charles Grant Allen & William Browning Literature and Knowledge Publishing (April 02, 2018)

When a man and a bear meet together casually in an American forest, it makes a great deal of difference, to the two parties concerned at least, whether the bear eats the man or the man eats the bear. We haven't...


Conscious Food

by Jim PathFinder Ewing Inner Traditions/Bear & Company (September 01, 2012)

When did growing and eating food cease to be considered sacred? How did food lose its connection with health? Why is our food system out of control? What simple steps can we each take to profoundly change our...


Clean Meat: How Growing Meat Without Animals Will Revolutionize Dinner and the World

by Paul Shapiro & Yuval Noah Harari Gallery Books (January 02, 2018)

Paul Shapiro gives you a front-row seat for the wild story of the race to create and commercialize cleaner, safer, sustainable meat—real meat—without the animals. From the entrepreneurial visionaries to...


Napa at Last Light

by James Conaway Simon & Schuster (March 06, 2018)

The New York Times bestselling author of Napa tells the captivating story of how the Napa Valley region transformed into an extraordinary engine of commerce, glamour, and an outsized version of the American...


Kiss the Ground: How the Food You Eat Can Reverse Climate Change, Heal Your Body & Ultimately Save Our World

by Josh Tickell & John Mackey Atria/Enliven Books (November 14, 2017)

From Josh Tickell, one of America’s most celebrated documentary filmmakers, comes a “fascinating, easy-to-follow blueprint for how eating in ways that nourish and regenerate the soil can not only help reverse...


Hippie Food

by Jonathan Kauffman William Morrow (January 23, 2018)

An enlightening narrative history—an entertaining fusion of Tom Wolfe and Michael Pollan—that traces the colorful origins of once unconventional foods and the diverse fringe movements, charismatic gurus,...


Duck Season

by David McAninch Harper (March 07, 2017)

A delicious memoir about the eight months food writer David McAninch spent in Gascony—a deeply rural region of France virtually untouched by mass tourism—meeting extraordinary characters and eating the best...


A Square Meal

by Jane Ziegelman & Andrew Coe Harper (August 16, 2016)

James Beard Foundation Book Award Winner

From the author of the acclaimed 97 Orchard and her husband, a culinary historian, an in-depth exploration of the greatest food crisis the nation has ever faced—the...


Tasty

by John McQuaid Scribner (January 13, 2015)

“A fascinating blend of culinary history and the science of taste” (Publishers Weekly, starred review), from the first bite taken by our ancestors to ongoing scientific advances in taste and today’s “foodie”...


Soil and Sacrament

by Fred Bahnson Simon & Schuster (July 15, 2013)

Part spiritual quest, part agricultural travelogue, this moving and profound exploration of the joy and solace found in returning to the garden is inspiring and beautiful.

A POWERFUL, PERSONAL STORY OF HOW GROWING...


The Meat Racket: The Secret Takeover of America's Food Business

by Christopher Leonard Simon & Schuster (February 18, 2014)

An investigative journalist takes you inside the corporate meat industry—a shocking, in-depth report every American should read.

How much do you know about the meat on your dinner plate? Journalist Christopher...


Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

by Melanie Warner Scribner (February 26, 2013)

In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma comes an “indispensable,” (New York Newsday) fascinating, and cutting-edge look from the author of The Magic Feather Effect at the scary...


Got Milked?

by Alissa Hamilton William Morrow (April 21, 2015)

Refuting the milk industry’s overwhelmingly popular campaign—“Got Milk?”—which has convinced us that milk is essential, this scientifically based expose proves why we don’t need dairy in our daily...


Wine Grapes

by Jancis Robinson, Julia Harding & José Vouillamoz Ecco (September 24, 2013)

An indispensable book for every wine lover, from some of the world's leading wine experts.

Where do wine grapes come from and how are grape varieties related to one another? What is the historical background...


The Chain

by Ted Genoways Harper (October 14, 2014)

A harrowing investigation of the tortuous path our food products take—from slaughter to Spam

On the production line in American packing-houses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Under pressure...


Local

by Douglas Gayeton Harper Design (July 08, 2014)

Combining stunning visuals with insights and a lexicon of more than 200 agricultural terms explained by today’s thought leaders, Local showcases and explores one of the most popular environmental trends: rebuilding...


Foodist

by Darya Pino Rose HarperOne (May 07, 2013)

In Foodist, Darya Pino Rose, a neuroscientist, food writer, and the creator of SummerTomato.com, delivers a savvy, practical guide to ending the diet cycle and discovering lasting weight-loss through the love...