Historical

Recently Added

Language

All

English (31)

French (42)

German (0)

Spanish (2)

Italian (0)

 

Release Date

All

Last 7 days (1)

Last 30 days (2)

Current year (31)

 

Catalog Date

All

Last 7 days (1)

Last 30 days (3)

Current year (31)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XXth century (<1945) (4)

XIXth century (2)

Modern (<1799) (1)

1939-1945 (1)

 

Audience

Adult (31)

 

Publisher

HQ Digital (6)

 

Total Loans

All (31)

20 - 40 (31)

40 - 100 (0)

Over 100 (0)

More options

Results : 1 - 31 of 31 Sorted by : 

Christmas on the Home Front

by Roland Moore One More Chapter (November 14, 2019)

It’s the last Christmas of the war but will things ever be the same again?

Christmas 1944

Despite the food rationing and the bitterly cold weather, the land girls of Pasture Farm, Connie Carter, Joyce Fisher...


The Brothers of Auschwitz

by Malka Adler & Noel Canin One More Chapter (November 07, 2019)

My brother’s tears left a delicate, clean line on his face. I stroked his cheek, whispered, it’s really you…

Dov and Yitzhak live in a small village in the mountains of Hungary, isolated both from the...


The Christmas Wedding

by Dilly Court HarperCollins (October 17, 2019)

Don’t miss this festive treat – the first book in the dramatic new saga from the Sunday Times bestselling author

Holding the letter in trembling hands, Daisy’s future crumbled before her – the words...


Beyond the Storm

by Diana Finley HQ Digital (October 14, 2019)

‘Phenomenal… Beautifully written and emotionally charged. I cried… Outstanding.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars An epic tale of love, war, and the secrets we keep…

Anna Feldman is born in Vienna just...


The Last Letter from Juliet

by Melanie Hudson One More Chapter (August 23, 2019)

The USA TODAY bestseller! For fans of Soraya M. Lane, Heather Morris, Fiona Valpy and Pam Jenoff.

Inspired by the brave women of WWII, this is a moving and powerful novel of friendship, love and resilience....


The Forgotten Wife

by Lorna Cook Avon (April 30, 2019)

A timeless story of love and sacrifice, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly, Pam Jenoff and Gill Paul.

“An intriguing mystery that will keep you wanting to read more.’— Gill Paul, author of The Lost...


The Belfast Girl on Galway Bay

by Anne Doughty HQ Digital (May 03, 2019)

‘An immensely readable, summer holiday of a book’ Belfast Telegraph

When Elizabeth Stewart, the only daughter of Protestant parents, announced that she wants to leave Belfast for the west coast of Ireland,...


The Huntress

by Kate Quinn HarperCollins (April 18, 2019)

‘If you enjoyed The Tattooist of Auschwitz, read The Huntress by Kate Quinn’ The Washington Post ‘Fascinating, brilliantly written, enthralling – just phenomenal’ Jill Mansell

*From the bestselling...


A Forbidden Love

by Kerry Postle HQ Digital (April 02, 2019)

An extraordinary story against all the odds…

He vowed in his letter to one day meet her again, once the war was over. But it was a letter Maria couldn’t bring herself to read…

Growing up in the humble...


Wartime for the District Nurses (The District Nurse, Book 2)

by Annie Groves HarperCollins (April 04, 2019)

The compelling new bestseller from the author of The Mersey Daughter and Winter on the Mersey.

Alice Lake and her friend Edith have had everything thrown at them in their first year as district nurses in London’s...


The Forgotten Village

by Lorna Cook Avon (April 04, 2019)

Don’t miss Lorna Cook’s stunning new book, The Forbidden Promise, available to pre-order now…

_________ THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER WITH OVER 150,000 COPIES SOLD

1943: The world is at war, and the villagers...


The Lost Letter

by Adrienne Chinn One More Chapter (March 07, 2019)

The Lost Letter from Morocco has great authenticity, immediacy and is an emotive and engaging read.’ Rosanna Ley

A forbidden love affair. A long-buried secret. A journey that will change everything.

Morocco,...


The Girl from Galloway: A stunning historical novel of love, family and overcoming the odds

by Anne Doughty HQ Digital (March 01, 2019)

The hardest times can build the strongest friendships

County Donegal, Ireland, April 1845.

Since following her heart and moving from her comfortable home in Scotland to the harsh mountainside of Ardtur, County...


The Forgotten Secret

by Kathleen McGurl HQ Digital (March 01, 2019)

A USA Today bestseller! Can she unlock the mysteries of the past?

A country at war

It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first...


The Darkest Hour

by Barbara Erskine HarperCollins (February 21, 2019)

From the Sunday Times bestselling author comes an epic tale of love, passion and heartbreak.

In the summer of 1940, eyes are focussed on the skies above the South of England: the Battle for Britain has just...


A Sister’s Sorrow

by Kitty Neale Avon (February 21, 2019)

It’s Sarah and her brother against the world…

When Sarah Jepson’s mother Annie dies, Sarah is left with her little brother Tommy to care for. Alone in the world, the two of them must make a life for themselves...


The Lost Girls Of Paris

by Pam Jenoff HQ (January 29, 2019)

‘A gripping tale’ MY WEEKLY

‘Thrilling’ WOMAN

‘A truly gripping read of mystery, love and heroism’ FROST MAGAZINE

The Lost Girls of Paris is an emotional story of friendship and betrayal during the...


The Hidden Women: An inspirational novel of sisterhood and strength

by Kerry Barrett HQ Digital (January 14, 2019)

From the bestselling author of The Girl In The Picture comes a beautiful new timeslip novel.

Berkshire, 1944

When Will Bates offers to take ATA pilot Lilian Miles to the dance, he sends her heart into a flutter....


The Doll Factory

by Elizabeth Macneal Atria/Emily Bestler Books (August 13, 2019)

The #1 International Bestseller

New York Times Editor’s Choice

“A lush, evocative Gothic.” —The New York Times Book Review

This terrifically exciting novel will jolt, thrill, and bewitch readers.”...


The Samurai's Daughter

by John J. Healey Arcade (August 27, 2019)

A tale of personal discovery, familial obligations, and competing cultural expectations is at the heart of this exciting sequel to The Samurai of Seville.

Soledad Maria, called Masako by her father, is a child...


Fled

by Meg Keneally Arcade (July 09, 2019)

Based on the life of an incredible historical heroine, a harrowing journey in search of love, justice, and freedom, told by the daughter of best-selling author Thomas Keneally (Schindler's List)

Jenny Gwyn has...


The Tubman Command

by Elizabeth Cobbs Arcade (May 21, 2019)

From the bestselling author of The Hamilton Affair,  a novel based on a thrilling chapter of Civil War history and African American history, how Harriet Tubman lead a Union raid to free 750 slaves.

It’s...


Two Weeks Excerpt

by Karen Kingsbury Howard Books (January 08, 2019)

A Simon & Schuster eBook. Simon & Schuster has a great book for every reader.


The Daughter's Tale

by Armando Lucas Correa Atria Books (May 07, 2019)

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

“[B]reathtakingly threaded together from start to finish with the sound of a beating heart.” —The New York Times

“Searing.” —People

“Immersive, both heartbreaking and redemptive,...


Paris, 7 A.M.

by Liza Wieland Simon & Schuster (June 11, 2019)

The acclaimed, award-winning author of A Watch of Nightingales imagines in a sweeping and stunning novel what happened to the poet Elizabeth Bishop during three life-changing weeks she spent in Paris amidst...


Fatal Inheritance

by Rachel Rhys Washington Square Press (June 11, 2019)

Get swept away to the enchanting South of France with this “exquisite and shimmering” (Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone) suspenseful historical novel, where perilous secrets...


Fractured

by Tamar Ossowski Skyhorse (September 03, 2019)

Form the author of Left (over 25,000 sold), a love story for fans of Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife and Jack Finney’s Time and Again. If you had the chance to go back and fix the past, could...


An Impossible Distance to Fall

by Miriam McNamara Sky Pony (July 02, 2019)

A story about falling—falling from grace, falling in love—as well as soaring to heights you wouldn’t know were possible if you never stepped out into thin air.

A story about falling—falling from grace,...


The Women of the Copper Country

by Mary Doria Russell Atria Books (August 06, 2019)

From the bestselling and award-winning author of The Sparrow comes an inspiring historical novel about “America’s Joan of Arc” Annie Clements—the courageous woman who started a rebellion by leading a...


The Winemaker's Wife

by Kristin Harmel Gallery Books (August 13, 2019)

Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star

“Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past…fantastic!” —Pam Jenoff, New...


Tidelands

by Philippa Gregory Atria Books (August 20, 2019)

The #1 New York Times bestselling author and “one of the great storytellers of our time” (San Francisco Book Review) turns from the glamour of the royal courts to tell the story of an ordinary woman, Alinor,...