Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize

The Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize is a British literary prize established in 1963 in tribute to Geoffrey Faber, founder and first Chairman publisher Faber & Faber. It recognises a single volume of poetry or fiction by a Commonwealth author under 40, and is in alternating years awarded to poetry and fiction.


1993 selection

The Quantity Theory of Insanity

Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize 1993

by Will Self Grove Press (October 16, 2012)

What is there is only a limited amount of sanity in the world and the real reason people go mad is because somebody has to? What if a mysterious tribe in the Amazon rainforest turn out to be the most boring...

1967 selection

Remedy is None

Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize 1967

by William McIlvanney Canongate Books (January 02, 2014)

Winner of the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize Charlie Grant, an intense young student at Glasgow University watches his father die. Overwhelmed by the memory of this humble yet dignified death, Charlie is left...