Believer Book Award

Believer Book Award is an American literary award presented yearly by The Believer magazine to novels and story collections the magazine's editors thought were the "strongest and most under-appreciated" of the year. A shortlist and longlist are announced, along with reader's favorites, then a final winner is selected by the magazine's editors. The inaugural award was in 2005 for books published in 2004.


2017 selection

The Others

Believer Book Award 2017

by Matthew Rohrer Wave Books (April 10, 2017)

A gripping, eerie, and hilarious novel-in-verse from poet Matthew Rohrer. In a Russian-doll of fictional episodes, we follow a midlevel publishing assistant over the course of a day as he encounters ghost stories,...

2012 selection


Believer Book Award 2012

by Tamara Faith Berger Coach House Books (September 11, 2012)

"Like Anaïs Nin, Berger pays little attention to what is expected of a woman writing smut." – Globe and Mail

2011 selection

Leaving the Atocha Station

Believer Book Award 2011

by Ben Lerner Coffee House Press (August 23, 2011)

Adam Gordon is a brilliant, if highly unreliable, young American poet on a prestigious fellowship in Madrid, struggling to establish his sense of self and his relationship to art. What is actual when our experiences...

2009 selection

I Am Not Sidney Poitier

Believer Book Award 2009

by Percival Everett Graywolf Press (August 01, 2011)

I Am Not Sidney Poitier is an irresistible comic novel from the master storyteller Percival Everett, and an irreverent take on race, class, and identity in America

I was, in life, to be a gambler, a risk-taker,...

2004 selection

Home Land

Believer Book Award 2004

by Sam Lipsyte Picador (December 31, 2004)

What if somebody finally wrote to his high school alumni bulletin and told...the truth! Here is an update from hell, a brilliant work from novelist Sam Lipsyte, whom Jeffrey Eugenides calls "original, devious,...