Agatha Award for Best First Novel


2002 selection

In the Bleak Midwinter

Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne #1

Barry Best First Novel 2003, Agatha Award for Best First Novel 2002

by Julia Spencer-Fleming St. Martin's Press (April 01, 2007)

It's a cold, snowy December in the upstate New York town of Millers Kill, and newly ordained Clare Fergusson is on thin ice as the first female priest of its small Episcopal church. The ancient regime running...

1999 selection

Murder With Peacocks

Meg Langslow #1

Barry Best First Novel 2000, Agatha Award for Best First Novel 1999

by Donna Andrews St. Martin's Press (February 07, 2006)

Three Weddings...And a Murder

So far Meg Langslow's summer is not going swimmingly. Down in her small Virginia hometown, she's maid of honor at the nuptials of three loved ones--each of whom has dumped the planning...

1998 selection

The Doctor Digs a Grave

Dr. Andrew Fenimore #1

Agatha Award for Best First Novel 1998

by Robin Hathaway St. Martin's Press (April 15, 1999)

Available for house calls-- and homicide...

When cardiologist Dr. Andrew Fenimore isn't mending weak hearts, he's solving crimes in Philadelphia's wealthy Society Hill. But murder is the last thing the good doctor...

1995 selection

Body in the Transept

Agatha Award for Best First Novel 1995

by Jeanne M. Dams Severn House Digital (December 22, 2012)

For Dorothy Martin, a widowed American who's moved to the England she so loves, the Christmas service is painful enough. It is her first holiday without Frank. And stumbling over the body of Canon Billings does...

1990 selection

The Body In The Belfry

Faith Fairchild #1

Agatha Award for Best First Novel 1990

by Katherine Hall Page St. Martin's Press (January 15, 1990)

The Body in the Belfry, the first volume in Katherine Hall Page's cozy mystery series featuring amateur sleuth Faith Fairchild

During her years spent in New York City, Faith Fairchild was convinced she had seen...