Commonwealth Best Book Prize

The Best Book Prize (overall and regional) was awarded from 1987 to 2011


1999 selection


Commonwealth Best Book Prize 1999, Miles Franklin Award 1999

by Murray Bail Farrar, Straus and Giroux (August 21, 2007)

Winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book of the Year

On a property in New South Wales, a widower named Holland lives with his daughter, Ellen. Over the...