Commonwealth Book Prize

Beginning in 2012 the award was renamed and restructured under the banner of Commonwealth Writers - a world of new fiction, composed of two prizes. The Commonwealth Book Prize is for the best first book, regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £10,000


2013 selection

The Death of Bees

Commonwealth Book Prize 2013

by Lisa O'Donnell Harper (January 02, 2013)

A riveting, brilliantly written debut novel, The Death of Bees is a coming-of-age story in which two young sisters attempt to hold the world at bay after the mysterious death of their parents.

Marnie and Nelly,...